Travel PH: The Small but Terrible Taal Volcano

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

imageSmall volcano within a lake within a volcano within a lake within a volcano...say whaaaat?!


Taal Volcano is the smallest active volcano in the world and this is located in Luzon, Philippines. It is small but terrible with a history of several deadly eruptions. On top of that, it is a complex volcano being a "volcano within a lake within a volcano within a lake within a volcano". That sounds confusing and I found a free image to show how that works.


imagesource: NASA



It is accessible from Manila and you don't have to pay expensive travel agencies to take you there. I found one that charges Php 10,000 if you're traveling alone! That's too much even if they take you there via a comfortable car. We were 3 in the group and the day trip only costs us approximately Php 1,000+ each.

*1 USD = approx. 51 PHP


How to DIY (Do-It-Yourself) and Save Money

  • From Pasay terminal (Metro Manila), take the bus bound to Tagaytay. You can ask the driver to stop at the terminal to the volcano. (PHP 120+)

  • From the terminal, you can take a traysikel / tricycle (this is the Philippines version of tuk-tuk) going down to the resorts. It is quite a long and steep ride and the tricycle costs Php 300 (Php 100 each)

  • There are several resorts lined up that offer a boat going there. If you can find other people to share the cost of the boat, that's better. The boat plus fees and trek guide were worth a total of Php 2,300 (Php 766 each).


The Trek to the Crater and My Quick Snaps

I was busy playing tour guide to my foreign friends and I wasn't able to take nice photos. I only took quick snaps when I got the chance just so I have some memories to take home with me. I have edited my smartphone photos through Snapseed mobile app. I will also show the before and after photos. I also added a frame on the edited ones because I realized how poor my framing was.


It was a short boat ride from the resort. You can already see the volcanic island from the port.

imageBefore Editing

image After Editing


The view from the banca (traditional wooden boat).

imageBefore Editing

image After Editing


This place is an easy day trip from Manila. We arrived and there were already other tour groups who have started their trek.

image Before Editing

image After Editing


The trek was easy breezy as there was not much ascent. Most of the trail was flat. Some visitors also took a horse ride going there but we decided to just get there on foot as it was only an hour trek.

imageBefore Editing

imageAfter Editing


The trek gets more difficult as you approach the crater

imageBefore Editing

image After Editing


The main crater lake

imageBefore Editing

imageAfter Editing


The trail to the Red Lava Point

imageBefore Editing

imageAfter Editing


The Red Lava Peak. It is called as such due to its color which was enhanced through editing.

imageBefore Editing - I don't know whose leg is that lol

image After Editing - Thanks to Cropping


We stayed there for an hour or so and returned to Tagaytay. You get to see a nice overlooking view from this area as well.

image Before Editing

image After Editing


Lastly, we rewarded ourselves with food! We had Bulalo which is a specialty dish in Tagaytay. The weather in here is cooler and the hot beef bone marrow soup was perfect!

image Before Editing

imageAfter Editing


Reference:

http://factsanddetails.com/southeast-asia/Philippines/sub5_6h/entry-3923.html

Photos hurriedly taken using Sony Xperia Z1 and enhanced through Snapseed


##### About TriPinas

I thought of making a TriPinas series which would have a collection of my trips within the Philippines. Pinas is our nickname for Pilipinas. Thus, TriPinas = trip + Pinas

UPDATE: I don't want to associate my blog to that word which I have deleted because some mean people don't understand coincidence in wordplay and this is just a freaking blog, not a product or service!

The post was previously uneditable after 7 days (previous blockchain limitation) but this is now possible. So I have now fcking edited this to remove that stpid word from the title. This word is all yours, agency-that-must-not-be-named! This agency is so arrogant and threatened to sue me without understanding how blockchain works. I just wish you had some heart to give me closure on this, instead you left me with a threat. You have no idea how much stress and fear you gave me amidst cancer. I could have been a possible customer since I travel a lot. Please do not bully people because you have a company and money to hire lawyers!

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

What a beautiful place .... we need to get to the Philippines asap!!!

Thanks @for91days. Actually, this isn't even among my recommended places. But it's a good choice if you just have a few days in Manila. I promise you that there are more beautiful islands and volcanoes 😊

Yeah, there a just a small amount of islands to choose from .. hehe

Great to see @travelfeed on my post! 😍

haha not an overwhelming amount at all...@travelfeed

good to know! Because I heard traffic is bad in Manila and it can take hours just to get somewhere. I really really hope I can come later this year. Salamat po for the info :) I have to use Taglish lol

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:26:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 29.20/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

just wow 😊

Thanks for reading @gwenbyyy 🙃

I like the name TriPinas !👍Can't wait to read the other parts of this series. It's more fun in the Philippines!

Thanks @wander-full agree more fun in Pinas at
Wow Philippines 😊

Wow, you are creative as always! Just love how you call it TriPinas, so Pinoy!🇵🇭

You now have 2 titles for your travels, Wander Blog and
this one!😃

I checked that there's a travel agency named Tripinas so hope that's not an issue coz I've thought about this even before. They're full name is Tripinas Travel & Tours anyway haha

🇵🇭

Omg, that you will need to check further. 😱
Too bad, although I also hope that wouldn't cause much issue.😅

I have the capital T and P. Will have that trademarked haha 😁

Hahaha push!👊

haha good idea

Hello, this is the admin of TRIPinas Travel and Tour Ventures, a DOT accredited eco-tour company, duly licensed to operate. The name and logo "tripinas" has been registered and trademarked with the Intellectual Property Office. Feel free to verify it with them. Placing uppercases on some letters of the word doesn't make it a different name. We will highly appreciate if you respect our legal rights to our trademarked name and make the necessary changes on this post effective immediately otherwise, we'll be forced to take appropriate legal actions. We shall continue to monitor this site until a change has been made.

I'm sorry about that. I thought of this name even before I checked. And I was just playing with words. I will not use it again. Unfortunately, I could no longer edit the post as it is past pay out and now irreversible on the blockchain.

Unfortunately, an apology won't quite cut it. We'll have our legal team reach out to you and steemit to fix your post. We'd appreciate if you can help as well. Let's take this offline, kindly send us a PM ([email protected]) to solve this.

You may try to have it reversed but technically impossible. With all honesty, I have no power to edit it. That is also my understanding on how the blockchain works. I will edit it if I can. I don't want any legal issues because if you sue me, with all honesty, I have no means to defend myself.

This is an honest mistake and coincidence. I have no intentions to cause harm. I have been working on my original posts and have always cited references because plagiarism of any form is frowned upon here. I am deeply saddened that this mistake would lead to a legal action against me which I never imagined to have to deal with in my entire life. This post only earned an author reward of approx 500 pesos (it will no longer be rewarded after that) and I could not believe this would potentially ruin all the hard work I have put on this platform.

20180303_211944.png

@annpablo I also just found that there's a travel show by Solenn called Tripinas. Do they also get sued? Or do they also sue me or you?

This is just a title for my post and not even my page. How about wanderlass. Im sure someone have used that name already, do I get sued as well? As well as the other people who may have coincidentally used trademarked names. I have thought of Trippines, Triphilippines ETC because i was just trying to be creative for a post title... for a post title. Other people plagiarized here and they don't get this. I have had several sleepless nights for my posts and all activities and this one word will destroy me. You have no idea of the anxiety this has caused me now. I see you even follow @steemph.manila.

FYI, their show is officially called tr!pinas because of copyright issues. You have our email address, we strongly suggest that you discuss this with us PRIVATELY.

Hi,

Your post was featured in SteemPH Manila Daily Featured Posts 19-Feb-2018. You also got 100% upvotes from @steemitph and @steemph.manila.

Thank you for procuding awesome contents. Steem On!

Regards,

Your friends in @steemph.manila

Wow! This made my day (midnight actually haha). I will check out that post too. Maraming salamat po 😍

Wow! I love the bulalo. lol. Nice work lass. Keep it up.

Thanks @itsmechille. Nagcecrave dn ako for Bulalo pero anlayo ng Tagaytay :D

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

that is great photo.love to stay with you

Thank you @steemibu351. It's easy to go to if ever you're here in Manila 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15