I took my kid, my wife and my dog backpacking into the wilderness. Part 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I head off into the sweltering hot wilderness with myself, my wife, my young daughter and our dog.

It's about time I write my first blog post about backpacking and camping. I'm going to break up different trips into multiple parts so the post aren't too long.

At first I was going to write about the preparation that goes into a camping trip but I don't want to lose people to boredom on the first article so I think I'll save that to another day.

It all started when I decided that my family needed to step up our game and go on a real backpacking trip. The destination: Red River Gorge in eastern Kentucky.

The Gorge is a designated special geological area in eastern Kentucky. It's part of the larger Daniel Boone National Forest. The Red River and its tributaries carved deep gorges out of the rock of the Cumberland plateau. This results in step rock walls, caves and cliffs dropping down about 400 feet to the rivers and streams below.

DSC00250.JPG

DSC00249.JPG

The change in altitude and the extra humidity also creates an interesting effect of seeing different kinds of plants flourishing as you hike in and out of the trails.

In July, when we would be there the rhododendron would be in bloom. Now, being from the flattest part of Ohio this whole thing sounded pretty cool to me.

DSC00292.JPG

I spent hours online researching the area. Getting recommendations of campsites, looking at maps and finding out as much as I could about the place. It has a few key things I was looking for:

  1. It was close enough to drive to.
  2. I was able to find extremely detailed maps.
  3. National forests allow you to bring your dog while most national parks do not. (I really wanted the dog with us, bear and people deterrent)

From my younger days I have most of the supplies needed to backpack. One of the new things I now use in any major trip is a Spot gps emergency satellite beacon. They are not very expensive to rent or buy and not only can they save you in an emergency, but it gives your family peace of mind since you can send basic messages and there is an option to let them track you.

So we had our supplies, we had our destination, all that was left was to pick our route.

A very small portion of The Gorge is designated Federal Wilderness Area. That fascinated me because that means that there should be the least amount of impact made by humans as possible.

There are only two trails running through the wilderness in the Gorge. I picked the one with more access to water and more highly recommended. I also picked the most difficult trail in the place; Swift Camp Creek Trail in the Clifty Wilderness.

rrgareamap.jpg
Map courtesy Purdue Outing Club

I wasn't aware how difficult the trail would be. Looking at a map 7 miles doesn't seem like very far. On the flat smooth land around here it isn't. We would soon learn that on that trail, with heavy packs, and with weather attempting to simulate a sauna, things were not going to go as smoothly as we were hoping.
This first trip would turn out to be our most difficult we have ever taken, and our favorite

To be continued in part two:
We start our hike, find our first waterfall, our first cave, and our first thoughts about bears.

DSC00266.JPG
Me, overloaded and blissfully unaware of what to expect.

More info from the Forest Service

https://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/dbnf/specialplaces/?cid=stelprdb5277259

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Waggy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 7.99% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @waggy6. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You got a 9.97% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @waggy6!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

You got a 2.54% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @waggy6!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @waggy6

We have planted already 3362.70 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18648.13
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74