My interview with Barenaked Ladies frontman, Ed Robertson

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Ed Robertson really enjoys bacon. I learned this a few years ago, when I had the chance to interview him prior to his performance at the Canadian Culinary Championships.

"If you were one of the culinary judges, what would win you over?" I asked him.

It didn't take him long to respond.

"I'm going to say the edge is going to go tonight to whoever deploys the secret weapon of bacon," he said.

"Add bacon to anything—it immediately gets better."

(Photo credit: Doug Farrow - Ed Robertson (left) and I chat about food, prior to his performance at the Canadian Culinary Championships)

2012 was a busy year for the Scarborough, Ontario native. Ed chatted about working on a new record, as well as a Broadway show. His band was also responsible for The Big Bang Theory's catchy theme song.

"I love The Big Bang Theory. I was so thrilled to have written that theme song and I'm so happy for the show's success."

Since my assignment was to write a story about the Canadian Culinary Championships, I didn't have a chance to dive too deep into Robertson's colourful music career with his Grammy-nominated band: Barenaked Ladies.

In the 90s, the band picked up several Juno Awards, including: Pop Album of the Year, Group of the Year and Single of the Year. Their songs Pinch Me and One Week were both nominated for a Grammy Award. In 2000, they picked up "World's Best-Selling Canadian Group" at the World Music Awards.

So, as our conversation focused on gluttony, I asked Robertson if he is a stranger to the kitchen.

"I do like to cook. Unfortunately, true to the stereotype of man, I particularly like to grill and smoke. I hate to be so typical, but I do enjoy barbecue."

#music #life #food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70