Abandoned manganese mine; home to the Wheel of Misfortune

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Join me under the hot Nevada sun to the abandoned pits at Three Kids Mine. I don't know how it's name was given but I do know that this location was operated from 1917-1961 in the production of manganese

I wasn't sure when I'd have an opportunity to share these photos until now. I've been sick these last few days and needed to take a lot of quiet time to myself. I was planning on sharing this yesterday but fell asleep after taking some medicine, oops. 😷

This ones gonna be a long one and I've included several small clips that might need to load!

@kommienezuspadt and I got up early to pick up model Masuimi Max and hair stylist Dottie Vee. Upon arrival to the outskirts of the abandoned mine, Masuimi spotted a carcass of some strange animal wrapped up. When @kommienezuspadt and I had scouted out the location the previous day I pointed out what appeared to be a disturbed burial site with a wooden makeshift cross above it. This critter must've been dug up by some jerks.

You can see the Las Vegas strip in the distance. 

It was a good thing we decided to scout this location the previous day and chose to shoot while the sun was high. You never know where danger could find you. Here's what looks to be an opening into a mining shaft. 

These abandoned pits either had an opening or we'd find stacks of wooden boards that we could use to climb in.

Here's a shot of us climbing into one of the pits.

I've admired Masuimi's work for quite sometime and this was actually my first time meeting her. I was a little nervous at first since I'm shy around strangers. I also didn't want to give the impression that I was tagging along to watch and do nothing. 

I'm usually around to help out with the odd jobs, it varies from shoot to shoot. I'll write more about that in another post. Here I am pulling back a large branch that was in the way. 

Masuimi has snuck her way into my heart and has become one of my favorite people. She's the biggest dork and she's an amazing model to watch. She was cracking jokes the whole time, shifting her body into an awkward position, yelling "I know what you want! I have to be uncomfortable!" @kommienezuspadt is notorious for placing his models into uncomfortable positions.

We have arrived at the Wheel of Misfortune. ✌🏻

There were a few graffiti artists tagging walls in the back. We made sure to let them know that they wouldn't be in any of the shots. 

This is actually higher than it seems and I was constantly reminded to be careful.

The wheel, which is measured to be about 250 feet wide, was created in 2012 by a crew lead by a graffiti artist named Aware. There is no money that can be won from this wheel and the other spaces contain messages that say, "Lose a Job," "Lose a Home," "Bank Owned" and "Lose All Hope."

Wish I would've gotten better shots of the images but I don't have a drone. I'm sure you could do a web search for sky view photos.

Another funny moment was when an unsuspecting graffiti artist exclaimed "Oh, shit!" After turning around to see Masuimi in one of her contorted poses. 

@kommienezuspdat getting Masuimi into another uncomfortable pose. This exchange really happened. 🤣

We were ready to wrap things up after a few hours, saving enough energy to make the hike back to our car. If it weren't for Steemit then I wouldn't have taken so many photos. Before Steemit, I'd keep these trips to myself and would only share stories with close friends. I'm getting better at documenting my adventures. I'd love to continue visiting these off the trail locations and sharing them with all of you.


Thanks for those who stuck around for the end of this post!

Are there any local abandoned areas that you've visited? 🦊

Sort:  

Unusual place -thanks for the post

Hmmm I may have to post some of my abandoned mine pics. I have to say it again youre a great story teller in this format!

I love to visit abandoned areas of the really old kind. I visit lots of the ancient mounds that I dig up from old maps. There are probably some around your area If I remember where you are roughly.

Oh, I'd love to see those pictures and thank you! It feels great to write after a few days off.

You sound like Indiana Jones! I'm always curious about visiting these abandoned locations but sometimes I get really scared. I imagine myself falling into a hole. 😰

"Lift up your chin." Haha!

You should definitely tell more of these stories. Enjoyed a lot! ^^

Yeah, I have a bunch of stories tucked away to share later. I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

Unusual place :) I'm wondering how come it's not been used in movies or tv shows already... Thanks for the tour!

It've read that there are a lot of harmful chemicals in this area so that might be one of the reasons. Thanks for stopping by! :)

This is an amazing place to shoot. What is the monster thing though. Looks like someone tried to make a fake mummified werewolf?

It really was if you can make your way avoiding scorpion/ snake holes. I also I have no idea what that thing is. It was really weird looking. I thought it was a dog at first. Maybe it was a raccoon or some kind of monkey?

It looks like one of those sideshow/carnival monsters made of lots of different animals.

Fascinating photos. Looks like a low-budget post-apocalypse film from the late eighties.

In the surrounding area we'd find random metal barrels and and cement blocks with bullet holes in them. I was super nervous the day we scouted out the area.

Maybe it really was a post-apocalyptic place.

I'm just thankful that we didn't stumble into any strange situations.

I'm thankful too. Be safe :)

Hey, neat stuff. I've never been to Las Vegas, but seems like there are some pretty interesting areas nearby to it. I read another post about the Devil's Watering Hole or something along those lines. It's all so... noir? Grungey? Makes Fear and Loathing feel so much more accurate tone wise

I think I know about that watering hole. It's in the middle of the desert? Yeah, Vegas has its charms but I always leave feeling slightly depressed.

wow, that place is really intrigued! Very interesting to see! Thanks to share the pics , I think abandoned areas are really inspiring, but here we have just few (and not interesting) abandoned area ^_^

They really are inspiring! Maybe it's the evolution and beauty of a slow gradual decay. :)

What a cool location! I love stumbling upon random abandoned places. They have a certain feel to them that just speaks to me.

As long as it doesn't speak to me in a creepy way then I will cautiously enter!

Again a very interesting story. The location seems really special, almost a little spooky to. I love old buildings and particularly abandoned industrial sites. Often discover them when I ride around on my motorcycle and then "of course" never have a camera with me :-/

After I bought the house where I live now, I discovered that there are a huge old cellars underneath, some relatively nice with brick walls and as you get down deeper on stone steps, the look more like caves dug into the ground. The biggest one is some 15 x 30ft and at least 12ft high... would all work well for some horror movie.

Thank you for sharing your adventure!

Oh, no! If that were my home then I'd have terrible dreams after making the discovery. I don't know what's better- filling up a dark empty space or leaving it open so you don't have to worry about the things that could hide in it. >.<

Thanks for checking it out!

not to worry, nothing down there.. at least no rats or anything like that. At first I thought it would all be great for some kind of club or bar, but our town is too small for such an investment to be worth it... still waiting for a good idea, of how I could use it all.

You could rent it out for shoots or maybe for an event. That way it gets some use every now and then.

I have thought about doing photo shootings... would be sort of dungeon style though 😱

Events are next to impossible with the safety regulations in Germany.

Oh, I hadn't even considered that. Now I understand why nothing has been done with it yet. 😕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 62795.13
ETH 3443.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51