Travel Treasure #2 Basilica Cistern (Yerebatan Sarnıcı) in Istanbul

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One of the magnificent ancient building of İstanbul is the Basilica Cistern located in the southwest of Hagia Sofia. Constructed for Justinianus I; the Byzantium Emperor [527-565], this big underground water reservoir is called as "Yerebatan Cistern" among the public because of the underground marble columns. As there used to be a basilica in the place of the cistern, it is also called "Basilica Cistern".

DSC_0013.JPG

The cistern is 140 meters long and 70 meters wide and covers a rectangular area as a giant structure. Accessible with 52 step staircase, the Cistern shelters 336 columns, each of which is 9 meters high. Erected at 4.80 meters intervals from one another the columns are composed of 12 rows, each has 28 columns. The case-bay of the cistern is conveyed by the columns through arches. Majority of the columns, most of which is understood to have been compiled from the ancient structures and sculpted of various kinds of marbles, is composed of a single part and one of it is composed of two parts. The head of these columns bears different features in parts. 98 of them reflect the Corinthian style and part of them reflect the Dorian style. The cistern has 4.80 meters high brick walls, and the floor is covered by bricks, and plastered by a thick layer of brick dust mortar for water tightness. Covering 9,800 sqm area in total, the cistern has an estimated water storage capacity of 100,000 tons.

Crying Column

DSC_0018.JPG

The column, known as "Tear of Crying Column", has an appearance as if it were crying because it is wet, unlike other columns. This column resembles the columns of the Triumphal Arch of Theodosius I from the 4th century, erected in the "Forum Tauri" Square. It is reported that the Crying Pillar was built the memory of hundreds of slaves who lost their lives during the construction of the Basilica Cistern.

Medusa Heads

DSC_0034.JPG

Except a couple of the edges and grooved columns of the cistern, a majority of them are shaped like a cylinder. Two Medusa heads, which are used as support under the two columns at the northwest edge of the cistern, are the great work of art from the Roman period. What attracts the most attention from the visitors is that the structure from which the Medusa heads have been taken is unknown. The researchers often consider that it has been brought for being used as supports to the column at the time of construction of the cistern. However, this has not prevented myths for the heads of Medusa.

As the legend has it, Medusa is one of the three Gorgons that are female monsters in the underground world in Greek mythology. The snake-head Medusa, one of the three sisters has the power of gorgonizing the ones that happen to look at her. Accordingly, Gorgone paintings and sculptures were being used for protecting big structures and special venues in that time. And putting the head of Medusa in the cistern was for protection purposes. According to another rumor, Medusa was a girl who boasted for her black eyes, long hair and beautiful body. She loved Perseus, the son of Zeus. Athena was also in love with Perseus and this made Medusa jealous. Therefore, Athena converted Medusa's hairs into snakes. Now, everybody that happened to look at Medusa was gorgonized. Afterwards, Perseus headed off Medusa and beat many enemies by using her power.

*** All photos were taken by me. ***

upvote-follow-resteem.gif

Sort:  

Wow so cool! Istanbul is literally the top of my bucketlist of places to see. (I've dreamed of seeing Hagia Sophia since I first saw it in a text book in grade school) Great photos and information! Hopefully I will get to check it out soon. Happy Adventuring! ~Amanda

Thank you @spurnedwanderer. You should definitely visit the Istanbul and spend at least 5 days to 1 week to cover the city. Bear in mind, if you travel to Istanbul, connect with me and I can tell you all the things that you have to be careful before a visit.

This brings back memories :) I was there for a friend's wedding 8 or 9 years ago. Such a cool place, and you captured it well :) is forgotten about the medusa heads. Great post :)

Thank you very much @fiftysixnorth! Appreciate your comment :))

Beautiful! I was going to say I've seen this in the film "Inferno", but I just found this behind the scenes clip and apparently they weren't allowed to film inside so they built a replica set of their own!

Thanks @alevaskye! I had no idea about the movie. I can't believe that they rebuilt it. Really appreciate your sharing.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 20 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Excellent work! I was recently in Europe but hesitated to visit Old Constantinople due to obvious concerns there. I would love to visit when "the situation" improves. Do you live there @uncommondream ? I would like to hear your cautions.

Hii @evernoticethat. Yes I'm living in Constantinople, You should definitely visit the country. I understand your concerns. If you visit the city with guidance and as a group, nothing bad happens like pickpocketing etc. But If you mean terrorist attacks, I can't give you my safety promises, sometimes I also hesitate to go crowded and historical places, but the situation is valid for all around Europe. It happened in England, France, and Spain. By the way nothing bad happened in last year. And hopefully Turkey currently in war with Syria to clean all this mess.

No, my concerns were more about the political "situation" with European's and Americans being arrested etc.

If you are a politician ( I assume you are not ) you can have concerns. This is all about the ridiculous battle among the politicians. As a tourist, you can visit Turkey with no problem.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.75 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.15
Server time: 23:00:11
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 694.28/800.00
Total Photos: 60
Total comments: 113
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

A few photos reminded me of From Russia with love - James Bond. As far as I know, in late antiquity, it was common practice to reuse material from older buildings. Great post by the way the Medusas head reminded me of the St. Donatus church in Zadar, Croatia they used also material from the old Roman forum.

Thank you very much @zija2022. @alevaskye also mentioned James Bond movie you can check his comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60