TRAVELMAN NEPAL: A Handprint in the Stone at the Asura Caves

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

While volunteering at a hospital in Pharping, I took time out to visit the Asura Caves.

65BFF601-9788-4722-9D4D-00D914602416.jpeg

Pharping is a village/town about 16-20 Km southwest of Kathmandu. It’s not much of a tourist destination except for religious pilgrims or curiousity seekers coming to visit the many Tibetan Monasteries. One of these monasteries is built around the Asura Caves.

The picture below is of the steps up to that monastery. Indiana Jones hates snakes; Travelman hates steps. “Steps... I hate steps.”

8AFC500A-7FE0-4711-BEC5-3682D5750CFC.jpeg

The steps up to the monastery were only a five minute walk from the homestay. Beggars sat on the steps waiting for handouts. The beggars were unique in appearance. I shoud’ve given them some money and taken a picture of them in return, but I was too busy complaining to myself about the steps.

Once you get to the monastery, the steps lead around back. That’s where you find the first cave, it’s small. Surrounding the cave, there is a shrine with an area to light a candle....

48257F67-0598-4430-B506-0F7E22BFF0A6.jpeg

The entrance to the cave...

53150DAA-BD1F-4927-8168-AFF07FB14558.jpeg

Another shot of the shrine that is part of the monestary in front of the cave...

8690D9E6-F237-450B-93B1-628D1E00F7B7.jpeg

The cave is important because Guru Rinpoche, A.K.A. Padmasambhava, meditated there. He’s credited with bringing Buddhism to Tibet (according to the websites I visited). The cave is apparently connected to another lower cave, spaces too small for a normal mortal to traverse, but not for Padmasambhava, he could go through solid objects and small spaces. David Blaine eat your heart out.

This is a hand print outside the cave. Depending on who you talk to or the websites you visit, this is either the print of Padmasambhava or that of one of his disciples. Either way, someone meditated so hard that they pressed their hand into the rock. -Work hard, meditate hard...

EBF1F177-E5D6-4ABE-B3E1-0E644F53F0F7.jpeg

Visitors and pilgrims place their hand on the print and rub it back and forth before entering the cave. Kind of like rubbing the Blarney Stone for luck.

The skeptic in me says that a faint shape of a hand was there years ago, people began to rub their hand on it, and wha-la! A handprint! Sabin at the homestay assured me that the print was there clear as day before this became a practice.

The skeptic in me also says that you’d think the handprint maker would’ve done it more at shoulder level, rather than reaching up so high. But who am I to inject reason into religion, maybe he was on a stepladder.

Or maybe he was in a bad relationship and arguing with his crazy girlfriend. Maybe she made him so mad that he slapped the wall in frustration. And she was like, “Dude, You’re crazy, you know that? You just put a friggin’ handprint in the stone! Who does that? Psycho! That’s it. It’s time to separate our spice collection.. I’m moving out.”

And the monk’s like, “Fine, but don’t touch the turmeric! My mother gave that to me. ...And you’re wrong about the end of Inception! Leo was still in a dream!”

And she’s like, “No he wasn’t! It was open ended! We don’t know!”

And he shoots back, “Oh, I know. Believe me, I know! And a guy who meditates hard puts a handprint in a stone! That’s who does that!”

And they may have gone on like this for quite some time. But we’ll move on...

5C96FD4A-1E57-41B0-976E-19B22D5C3B69.jpeg

Inside the cave...

9CF067FE-3BC0-4316-86C1-1CCDF284CB74.jpeg

It’s about the size of a walk-in closet.

It’s an important place. Many people, such as the woman I met at the restaurant I went to every night, think it’s a place that holds great power and energy. She was there to pray in the cave and on the mountain.

The monestary regularly hosts meditation retreats. The woman was from Estonia. We didn’t talk much, she seemed troubled and hurt. She was in search of peace. I sincerely hope she found it there. I’ve met a few people here in Nepal searching for that peace.

5414375A-1EFD-4D3D-956F-77E57065DB95.jpeg

They may be right to come here. Nepal reminds me of Hawaii in the way that it feels like someone giving you a comforting hug. Trash may be burning nearby, and dust may be swirling in the air, but something stronger lifts you up. Then again, maybe it’s the altitude.

I’m only half joking when I say that about the altitude. Natalie, another volunteer who’d gone on the Annapurna Circuit Trek, told me that she and other trekkers with whom she spoke had vivid, deeply meaningful dreams while in the upper heights of the circuit. Disturbed sleep is a symptom of altitude sickness. The Asura Caves, relatively, aren’t very high in the sky.

Still, I felt like someone plugged me into a low power battery charger while standing in the cave. Maybe there is something to it.

Here is view of Pharping from the top of the monestary. A sign said do not enter. I entered for fourteen seconds to take this shot. I probably blew half of my positive karma cache for the pic, so enjoy...

083309FB-334F-412E-96FF-57164169F773.jpeg

Here’s another pic at sunset from a terrace I was allowed to inhabit...

CB04B35F-5CE3-4329-8B39-75125C12F33A.jpeg

And a giant prayer wheel...

97D84BA9-E944-4DDA-844C-4DBD726E38C6.jpeg

Inside the giant prayer wheel room...

F8E91470-C561-40DA-B80B-D439000ED570.jpeg

A line of smaller prayer wheels...

A9A6F3D5-16DE-48D5-BFE1-F21EF986EA5D.jpeg

And a pretty pic...

4BC2660A-FF87-4E75-9270-8C7779A92F71.jpeg

Travelman log, day 193. Figuring out how to get to India. Looks like I’ll have to fly because of the visa. !steemitworldmap 27.6131 lat 85.2603 long A Handprint in Stone at The Asura Caves-Pharping, Nepal, d3scr 323 Followers and counting, 955.1 steem earned. Rep 59.1 Travelman out.

Sort:  

This post was particularly interesting, maybe because, as you said, it's "not much of a tourist destination." Maybe because it's a place that people go to when they are in search of peace.

Re such a search, in the past I used to wonder if I'd come across "peace" in my travels, and sometimes even expected that I'd find it in certain locales. Never did find it there.

Eventually, I found peace (or at least a certain degree of peace), but I found it within.

Of course, I still travel, and I still strive for peace.

Peace ...

I think finding it within is the real way. So many people go places to find something like peace, or to find themelves, or to run from themself. But you're always wherever you go. We have to look within, I think. Maybe treveling offers us new stimuli to unlock places within ourselves and find what we seek?

Yes, well put. That's most likely a major part of it. If we get out of our comfy home environment and go exploring, we might find parts or aspects of ourselves that we were looking for, and maybe even aspects that we didn't even know existed.

These holy places are always up high, I wonder if it is to be on a 'higher' level or back in the day the land was cheaper, because nobody wanted to walk up there and it's harder to build on. Nice views and an interesting story, I am also a sceptic when it comes to these kinds of matters and would be wondering where the donations from that box go.

Donations go to the monestary. You have to be careful interacting with the monks up there because as Sabin warned me, they'll hit ylu up for money... help a brother out!

amazing story and amazing photos...resteemed..

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-nepal-a-handprint-in-the-stone-at-the-asura-caves


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Lol. Your logic regarding the handprints is sound.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Keep up your witty writing style, I really really enjoy it, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66