My First Time In New York City – Part IV: Central Park, Greenwich Village, New York By Night and More...

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow steemians,

Part IV of my American Adventures and I am afraid that the specific blog will end up looking as lengthy as the Rocky film series.

I was quite confident that I wouldn't need more than three posts to say all I have to say about my trip in the US, but here we are with post no4, and I guarantee you right now that there will be part 5 as well!!!

Today I am taking you with me in Central Park, Greenwich Village, Carrie Bradshaw's apartment from Sex and the City, while you will also take a taste of Maison Kayser's praline masterpieces, Ben's cookies and Joe's LEGENDARY pizza.

Central Park

Another COLD but beautiful day was starting for me in New York (my 14th if I am not mistaken) and the plan for that day was to visit Central Park and eat as much as I could, which was the norm for me during my 17-day trip in New York. 

Keep in mind that I left Greece weighing 89kg and 17 days later I weighed 94. Worry NOT, however, as I am back to 87 right now and the plan is to reach 81 by June 1. Back to the main topic, however, the day started with a strong dose of praline from Maison Kayser's that one can find a few meters outside Central Park. 

After that "heart-attack" breakfast, I was ready to explore Central Park; and when I say explore, I mean it as we walked for more than 5 hours inside the iconic park that morning. 

Central Park is an urban park in Manhattan and is the most visited park in the United States, with 40 million visitors each year. It is also one of the most filmed locations in the world.

The park was established in 1857 and was designated a National Historic Landmark by the U.S. Department of the Interior in 1962, which in April 2017 placed it on the tentative list for UNESCO World Heritage sites

Enough with the trivia and information though. Time for me to post some of my best shots:

Also, if you happen to be into rowing, there's a Boathouse there where you can rent a little boat and give your "other half " a romantic boat ride. 

Of course, the "Greek Element" couldn't miss (like I said before, Greeks are everywhere one way or another) so don't be too surprised when you see a sign with Iphigene's Walk...

Greenwich Village 

After way too many hours of walking and natural activities (as hunting and running after squirrels trying to convince them to take a photo with me) we decided to exit the park and visit the nearby Greenwich Village

If you happen to be a fan of Sex and the City, then you have probably seen this  neighborhood multiple times, even if you didn't realize it or knew a thing about it. 

The specific show LOVED Greenwich Village!!! Talking about Sex and the City btw, guess where I took these photos...Could this be Carrie's apartment in the series? Huh? :-)

Often referred to by locals as simply "the Village", is a neighborhood on the west side of Lower Manhattan. It has been known as an artists' haven, the Bohemian capital, the cradle of the modern LGBT movement, and the East Coast birthplace of both the Beat and '60s counterculture movements. 

Two of New York's private colleges, New York University (NYU) and the New School, are also located in Greenwich Village. Also, in this neighborhood one can find one of the coolest parks ever....

Most importantly (if you ask me), however, one will find Joe's Pizza there....Arguably the most famous pizza in all New York....

(Yep....That's the GREAT Steven Tyler from the Aerosmith who's a regular customer at Joe's)

Night Out and Ben's Cookies 

Despite having a really long day (more than 12 hours in the streets of New York), me and @novanyc didn't feel like going back home yet. We wanted to drink and party hard!!! New York by night was calling us and we couldn't resist....

We launched our "bar-tour" with this "guy" right here....I mean, how could one overlook a bar with such an AWESOME NAME?

We had a quick drink there and continued our "booze tour" in other places...

After having more than six or seven cocktails each (at some point no one was sober enough to hold the camera and take steady photos of the drinks LOL) and with WONDERFUL views as this one...

and this one from another bar's window....

We decided to take a taxi to get us back home safely. Well, not before we would visit the world's most famous cookies shop... Ben's Cookies!

The after-midnight "massacre" that followed at home, was one of a kind...

 In case you've missed the first three parts, please find them here:

Part I

Part II 

Part III

FIFTH and (hopefully) last part of my "American Experience" will follow one of these days (Not sure when exactly to be honest). 

Image 1

Sort:  

Ok brother, you know me and my taste, is leaning towards these kinds of travel posts and I have to say that this is one of the best I have seen 😉!!!!

BIG LOVE! !!!!💜💜💜💜

Thank you sis :)))))

I am sure that you must feel so much blessed for all of this experience.Everything looks so good there.My dream is to visit NYC one day and try all of these foods and feel the American vibe that I am sure must be really unique.Thank you for giving us the opportunity to feel (even as little as this) how amazing it must have been to be there!

I truly wish you to visit this AMAZING city my friend. I will visit it soon again. New York is TRULY fantastic. A piece of my heart will always belong to NY&Philly.

I would also love to go and see the NBA finals no matter the city.I am sure THAT would be an experience as well!

What a well documented outing - great pics and article - did you know that there is a hidden code on the lighposts in Central Park that's used for navigation ? Check out this video to find out more

I'll check out the other stuff on your page - I really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing !!

Thank you so much for the nice words and video.

Cheers, mate :)

Are you still in nyc?

No man! I've been back to Greece since the end of November now. I will be back within this year though. Are you in NY? If yes, what area may I ask?

I work in Manhattan!

Oh man!!!!! I envy you right now (I am just like Batman lol)

Xaxaax stamataaa

Who doesn't ?

nice photography bro :). earn travel and repeat this is the best thing in the world .

I just know steemit and learn about steemit, your post is very good and hope to learn from you by following you

god i miss nwe york...

Have to agree with your dear sister Theo, this is one of the best New York travel posts I have ever seen. Awesome job :)

Thanks Petr :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28