My First Time In the U.S. – Part II: Rocky Run, Streets of Philadelphia and Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow steemians,

After surviving a close encounter with Terminator (click on "Terminator" in case you missed Part I), it was time to fulfill more dreams that I had as a kid. It was PHILLY TIME!!!

Philadelphia's Calling

The main reason we were visiting Philly was to take part in Rocky's Run and see the "Italian Stallion's" statue up close. 

There were three choices: the 5k run, the 10 miles run and the Italian Stallion (25k). I would normally run (in a very SLOW tempo) the Italian Stallion, but because of the EXTREMELY COLD (-11) weather and the EXCESSIVE junk food I had consumed during the previous 6-7 days in New York, I decided to go for the 10 miles run. 

I blame my horrible time on the cold weather and all the burgers I devoured at Shake Shack. However, I felt way better for myself when I realized that the VAST majority of the participants were just walking. 

At least I was running dammit! Well, the Italian Stallion in front of me was running too ;)

Soon after we were done running, we got our medals and took some photos of Rocky's trails. 

Yep, that's our flag right there...

Philly's Beautiful Architecture 

Once we were done with the Rocky Run and all its surroundings, we decided to take some breakfast.  I was so tired from semi-running for 10 miles that I wasn't even paying attention where I was lying my head...

After destroying our delicious breakfast though, me and @novanyc were full of energy again and ready to "take to the streets" of Philly and enjoy the city's AMAZING architecture. 

This may sound odd to some, but I prefer Philly to New York. Or to put it nicer, I could live in Philadelphia, but I couldn't stay more than a month in New York.  

The city's downtown is truly GORGEOUS, it is easily "walkable" (did I just invent another word?) and its architecture will DEFINITELY remind you parts of Europe! 

Philly's Famous Cheesesteak Sandwiches

NINE HOURS of running and walking later – our day had started at 6:30 in the morning – we decided to visit all the acclaimed PHILLY CHEESESTEAK places in town! 

To be more specific those included: 

Reading Terminal Market 

Of course Gyro couldn't miss from there...

Pat's King of Steaks

And Geno's Steaks

The "massacre" that followed cannot be described in words...

Liberty Bell and Heading Back to New York 

During the 2-day visit in Philly, I also got a chance to see up close and take photos of  The Liberty Bell, the iconic symbol of American independence, which is located in the town. 

The biggest limo I have ever seen in my life...

Probably the cleanest streets ever...

STUNNING nocturnal architecture....

And probably the coolest parking lot with the coolest graffiti ever...

The only certain thing is that I left a piece of my heart in Philadelphia forever. Hopefully, I return there soon. Maybe for Rocky Run 2018!!!!! 

This was my last view of the city from our hotel's room, moments before we depart for New York. Philly I love you!!!!!!!

As I will be busy with my Wacky Facts from Monday to Friday, Part III will follow next Saturday. Stay tuned to hear all about Statue of Liberty, Wall Street, Katz's Delicatessen Legendary Sandwiches and more!!!

Image 1

Gif 1

Sort:  

I used to shop in that market every Saturday... great city! And thanks for the images that brought back the memories.

You are welcome, mate. I truly LOVED the city of Philly. I was impressed with certain parts of New York (as Brooklyn Bridge and Times Square for example) but I didn't feel the kind of bondage I felt for Philly!

Brother, you know my love for New York, so I won't come to that lol !!!!
But I also like Philadelphia and the state of Pennsylvania in general!

From my point of you, this is your best post! BIG LOVE ❤ ❤ ❤ !!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks sis! New York is fascinating. Philly is more classy though. At least that's my point of view :)

I really liked your post, Philadelphia looks super cool!!!

Thank you mate. Philly is REALLY cool! No exaggeration there at all!

Απίστευτο ταξίδι αγαπητέ Θεόδωρε ! Πραγματικά πολύ όμορφες φωτογραφίες και πολλές...Ένα ταξίδι ζωής, για πολλούς θα έλεγα...!!!
Πολλά συγχαρητήρια και αναμένω το επόμενο post...!!!

Σε ευχαριστω πολυ αδερφε και χαιρομαι που σου αρεσε. Πραγματικα ηταν ενα υπεροχο ταξιδι ζωης...μεχρι το επομενο ;)

I love this kind of travel post, me gusta, Theo!
Enjoy your Sunday :)

Thanks Tammy. Loved your first Dtube video :)

the images really make me think that I was also there. thank you for sharing this images. i wish i could visit their someday too.

New York City is the best sity I love New York City photography and your creative photography really impressed me and also food so nice and tasty Thanks for sharing

Maybe someday! :) nice job

nice adventure , thank you for sharing this with us

That's awesome bruh :)

My voting power just hit red light again lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90