I flew from Amsterdam to Tokyo and all I got was this lousy cookie...a story about airplane food and gas station baloney / Story Cubes entrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Just kidding of course, there was plenty of food during this 11 hour flight. As it should...

What a lousy cookie...

What is shown in this photo is an actual salty cookie, shaped like an airplane. I admit it, it wasn't lousy at all! It was the last thing we received after having had a lot to eat and drink. In fact they were almost continuously walking around to make sure everyone was satisfied. This was on the way back flying with Lufthansa. Since it was a flight from Japan the food was really Japanese oriented with a broad selection to choose from.  

Childhood memories

So there is a gap of a couple of years in between my last long flights from when I was still travelling with my parents and recent years where I have started travelling out of Europe without them. All those years in between have basically been from the Netherlands to anywhere else in Europe and those usually take no longer than 3 hours and you hardly get anything anymore these days. I think that has also got to do with flights getting cheaper and cheaper and some services have to be reduced to still make a profit. 

Now I remember from back in the days, even on shorter flights they would serve food and somehow that has always been something special to me. Yeah I know, it sounds like I have all kinds of weird obsessions. Luckily, that's not the case. I don't have weird obsessions like that...never had...except...

Gas station baloney

Okay this might just be the weirdest little story you have heard all day, but when I was younger we didn't always take the airplane to a destination abroad. We also went by car a lot of times. Now for every not-European resident, it takes about 2 days to drive to the popular beaches in Spain and italy from Amsterdam. That means having to stop a couple of times along the way and get food at gas stations. They always had this magical tasting sausage...and it was like chartering unknown territories for me. Sadly they don't sell it over here so the only place I could get it was at foreign gas stations, hence the name: Gas station baloney. 

How excited could you possibly be about a sausage?

Wait just a second, I'm not talking about some random sausage here... It was one of the best things I've ever tasted and even till this day i would eat it every day. 4 years ago when I traveled to Switzerland, I got the surprise of a lifetime. I found it in the supermarkets! Just there, really giant pieces of it...and I finally, after all those years, found out what it's called. It's called: Lyoner. For those of you who know...you know. This what it looks like:

Now tell me that doesn't tickle your tastebuds already! Source

That's enough baloney for now, back to the airplane cookie...

Sorry, I got a little carried away. So this is another shot of the cookie, you can see it a little better here.

What's your gas station baloney?

I would love to hear your stories about childhood travel food or any other obscure things you loved back in the days and would die for being able to get it again. Also if you want to share anything about your favorite airplane snack or food, that would be awesome too!

The Story Cubes contest

I was inspired to write this post by the Story Cubes contest hosted by @jacobtothe. My entry is inspired by the airplane cube (obviously) and this story came directly to mind when seeing the little airplane. Why don't you take a look and participate? It could sure use some more attention and entries :)

 Follow me for more original content! 

Sort:  

amazing, beautiful picture, @thephotoguide

This post has received a 0.91 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @thephotoguide.


This post got a 1.81 % upvote thanks to @thephotoguide - Hail Eris !

This is a belated response to your request for stories about travel food memories. When I was about 8-12 years old (roughly 50 years ago)my parents took my sister and me on a few road trips. We camped in a tent and ate food cooked on a campfire or a little gas campstove. But that's not the food I really remember. No, it was the A & W rootbeer floats! My parents were not financially well off, and our big treat on these trips was a stop at an A&W for a float and, rarely, burgers. I suppose they tasted better then because they were such a rare treat.

You know I had honestly never heard of A&W and root beer floaters before! I did a little research and I must say those floaters look amazing! Next time Im in the states I will for sure try one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17