In Images: The Bluest Lake in the World

in #travel7 years ago

I could not believe the vast expanse of blue that I saw in front of me. In a fleeting moment of lucid imagination, it felt as if the sky was moving sideways. It took a good couple of minutes for me to come to terms with the realization that this was really a lake, and it was as blue as the great sky above me.

I was at Pangong Tso, the enchanted blue lake, high up in the cold desert of the Changthang region of the Himalayas. As far as I can see, the blue lake stretches, disappearing into the distance. For once, I feel like I am a few feet away from the sky. At 14,720 feet, it certainly cannot be much further, can it?

Here are a few more glimpses of the heavenly lake. I shot these pictures when I was on my solo roadtrip around the Ladakh region way back in 2013, when I was younger and weirdly crazy. Not to say I am any different now, except that I am older, a little wiser, and more thoughtful.

IMG_0968.jpg

IMG_0941.jpg

IMG_0958.jpg

Nearly 60% of the lake is in China-Occupied-Kashmir, known as the Aksi-Chin region. Only 40% of the lake is on the Indian side. The line of actual control between India and China passes through the Pangong Tso. To arrive here, you have to cross the second highest mountain pass in the world, the Chang La (17,590 feet). An inner line permit is needed for most travelers. Foreign travelers need the aid of a tour guide to get here. It is impossible for them travel on their own.

IMG_0961.JPG

IMG_0968.jpg

Needless to say, camping for the night on the shores of the Pangong Tso was an experience I will always look back with great satisfaction.

IMG_0972.JPG

IMG_0923.jpg

Travelling around India on a motorcycle is one thing. To be able to stand on the shores of the Pangong Tso, 3800km away from home was a feeling that I will never forget.

IMG_0925.JPG

Pangong Tso is a work of art by Nature. I take one last picture for what it is worth and I hit the road, and start to count kilometres.

IMG_0932.JPG

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you liked the images, and if you want to know more about the adventure, please check my other two posts:

https://steemit.com/travel/@thebatmanbiker/i-got-bored-and-went-around-india-on-a-motorcycle-part-1

https://steemit.com/travel/@thebatmanbiker/i-got-bored-and-went-around-india-on-a-motorcycle-part-2

Please don't forget to upvote and resteem if you liked the post(s). Thanks!!

Sort:  

this is outstanding...love it

Thank you @travelnepal! Have you been here?

Great post. Its great having people like you on steemit. Upvoted, mind checking my profile too and feel free to upvote and follow back..

Thank you @talalofficial! I will check out your profile! Cheers! :)

WOW. Amazing picture

you are welcome.

The only place in the world which has not been polluted by humans...

@ethanthefighter, I would want to tell you to go there before that happens! Thankfully, the latest news is that tourism to this place is going to be regulated and a lot of cafes and restaurants are going to be closed to reduce the human footprint on this fragile ecosystem.

Beautiful

Thanks mate! :)

That sure is a lot of blue. But none, that isn't serenely gorgeous. Keep up the good work.

Oh, you have to check out the lake Tso-Morriri as well! :)

The pangong tso is truly magical :)

Good to meet you !

@sunil.gupta

Indeed, it is truly magical. I hope it remains that way forever!

Upvoted and followed & resteemed. Love the story. Please check out my profile, quite a bit of travel stuff if you are interested and im off to the Himalaya in October.

Nice man! Travel stuff is one of my great interests! Where are you off to in the Himalayas! Feel free to get in touch if you need any info about places and sights :)

we are doing an 18 day hike to Everest base camp :)

Wow ! fantastic photography awesome combination of blue sky & blue lake,Thanks for sharing

Glad you enjoyed them! :)

That is mesmerizingly blue water. It must have been amazing to stand in front of it in real life.

It was truly one of the best feelings i've ever had. The solitude and the serenity, they are omnipresent here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44