Sort:  

I did a lot of Couchsurfing back in 2010 and 2011 ... but like you said, around 2013, they changed to a for-profit organization, added those dumb Google ads all over the site, and just basically went away from their original purpose. Sadly, I actually met the founders and team members on Maui when I was living on that island. They mentioned that this had to be the way ... but as always I disagree ... I miss the original Couchsurfing website. The people that would be on Couchsurfing were truly the CS spirit ... unlike now .. you get SO many people who are free-loaders and just want a free place to stay.

This trip and last year's round the world, I've been staying at Airbnbs and hotels via points.

ever do housesitting? My wife and myself are starting another cycle of Nomad life in 2 months. We'd like to mix it up, stay for 3 -4 weeks at a time which gives time to do some work and travel a bit around Europe. This time I'd like to do it with a car so that gives more flexibility. Not exactly 30 liter/10kg backpack like last time when I was on my own, but one has to make concessions when travelling in a couple... will gradually progress towards ultralight again I hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45