🗽The concrete jungle - Why I love New York City

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

22636945_124507868308659_8104307463089553408_n.jpg

This fast-paced jungle of finance, fashion and art is full of people from all over the world. You can be driven from the airport with a Paki Uber driver, served from a French girl in a restaurant and talk to a Croatian owner in the food store.

The diversity gives the Big Apple a special touch and lets everyone grab their piece of the NYC dream.

I visited NYC four times in total and each time had a lot of fun. From shopping, museums, restaurants, there is so much to do. My first visit was in June 2014 and my last one in October 2017.

My first day in New York I actually remember as a very ugly one because I went there to see a guy I was dating and then to continue to Virginia to my J1 student program. The guy was a complete jerk, but anyway I'm not worried that he will see this article because by the time his wacko ass discovers Steemit, it will be year 2034 and I will be sitting on my crypto pile of money.

In New York there is always something going on. Once I was passing by a group of people getting ready to do yoga on Times Square. The next day I saw in the newspapers that it was International yoga day and it was celebrated by 30 000 people doing it on Times Square!

image.png
Source

Feel the vibe!

New York is full of creative energy and has been the plot scene for thousands of movies, books, TV-shows and songs. The city is a great place to meet people from all sorts of branches and even as a foreigner a job can be found pretty easily. Some of my friends just used to walk in restaurants and get hired. My very good friend Suzana sent an e-mail to a PR agency and ended up working for New York Fashion Week a few days later. The city offers freedom and what's most important A CHANCE – which many of us in economically weaker countries don't have.

Long live the Subway

In this post I want to tour you guys around the places I have seen in The Big Apple. Driving with a car to Manhattan is a really dumb idea, because you will be stuck in traffic for at least an hour. The metro is very easy to navigate. It amused me how in such a huge conglomerate you travel so fast. Opened in 1904. the NYC subway is one of the world's oldest public transporation systems. Needles to say, a car is unnecessary.

28159073_217009832371105_4237349661184098304_n.jpg


When I talk about NYC I can't skip the Sex and the City show. You can see Carrie Bradshaw's apartment on 66th Perry Street, Greenwich Village, Downtown Manhattan. Thank me later!

tumblr_o4ocy65sbI1t421s4o1_500.gif


Ok, let's get to the point here. I'm bringing you my very own list.

What to do and see in New York

1. Top of the Rock

The 70th floor of the Rockfeller center offers a breathtaking 360 degree view of the New York skyline. I like more the Rock than the Empire because of the glass windows instead of the metal fence on Empire State Building.

DSC07300.jpg

22639535_1529335080477469_7600940482864087040_n.jpg

2. Visit museums

New York has a great museum list and many combos which you make sure to check before visiting. For example I visited The Museum of Modern Art on a Friday evening for FREE. I wrote about it here Travel diaries: The Museum of Modern Art - New York

Other museums to see are The Guggenheim Museum, American Museum of Natural History,The Brooklyn Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Society of Illustrators and many many more.

3. The 9/11 memorial and World Trade Center

The place that represents the tragedy which occurred in 2001 and killed 2,996 people. The museum is free and open daily from 7:30 AM to 9 PM. Next to the museum are two big holes with victim names and waterfalls, and they represent the places were the Twin Towers were standing. Close is the One World Trade Center which represents the triumph of human will with it's 110 stories.

4. The Brooklyn Bridge

If you want to take nice pictures during night or have a bicycle ride during daytime, this bridge is a must see. Spanning the East River it connects Brooklyn and Manhattan and as a cable suspension bridge also represents an architectural wonder.

5. Chinatown

A neighborhood in Lower Manhattan, right next to Little Italy, which again shows the diversity of New York. In this neighborhood you can eat a pork bun, drink bubble tea or buy Chinese porcelain and silk without having to buy a plane ticket to Beijing.

6. Little Italy

If you want to have a taste of a Robert De Niro movie, welcome to Little Italy – a neighborhood inhabited by Italian and Sicilian immigrants in the 1880s. If you want to grab a Cannoli like the Goodfellas or eat some pasta, this is the right spot.

7. The 5th Avenue

From the biggest Victoras Secret store, to the famous Breakfast at Tiffany's movie location, this historical road offers a lifetime shopping experience. This artery of the New York shopping scene hosts around 80 shops.

1523715587761.jpg

8. Visiting Central Park

One of the most famous parks in the world, it represents a man-made wonder. I did a bicycle ride once through the entire park which took me about an hour and a half. Another time I was about to rent a boat, but came 5 mins before closing of the ticket place, so I ended up having a walk in this green oasis. If you're lucky to visit during the summer, you can watch some Shakespeare in the park.

9. Times Square

Located in Central Manhattan, this main NYC square represents today's capitalism and advertisement industry. Full of flashing lights and 10000 people walking in every direction, might be a pain in the ass sometimes. But still worth visiting.

10. Wall Street

The center of the universe of FIAT money. Sorry if I insulted you crypto-maniacs and decetralisation fighters, but this is quite a historical place worth of visit. Placed in the Financial District of Lower Manhattan, it's the home of the Fearless girl and the Ragging bull. Recently there were some arguments to relocate the Fearless girl statue.


Source


I know this list is short because there are other 101 places to see in this conglomerate and I would be glad if some locals or tourists suggest other cool places in the comments below.

To be fair there are also things in New York that aren't so great, but from my point of view it’s my favorite place.

Have I mentioned that Beyonce and Jay-Z live here?

Sort:  

I also love New York but I've never been there. If I would go one day I would visit good old David Letterman's studio, he is now retired but that place was a center of everything in show business, music and comedy. Museum of natural history would be my number 2, and last but not the least the famous New York club CBGB where so many iconic bands were hanging. Awesome city.

I was at their door but haven't crossed it 😅

I agree with you on the Museum of National History and I want to also see a Yankee game and the UN building. There is just too much stuff there :D

You have to visit, sell some Steem when the price gets high 😉

Oh yeah, I plan to sell some while it's high and then travel places :) But I would still need a guide to show me where to go in New York ;) If I would go alone i have a feeling it would end like Home Alone 2.

We will discuss this when Steem hits 10 again 😅✈️

Great post on the big apple @tammizzle . I grew up in Brooklyn and haven't seen half that you have in NYC.

Thank you! I went as a tourist and had a list of locations to see.

I visited Coney Island in Brooklyn also but the park was closed in October.

Great review. All you need there is $1 million :)

Haha something like that 😂 but if you are smart and prepared you can find good deals. 5$ meals cheap European markets and so on.

Wow! Really cool post! :D

Can't wait to make the trip.

Awesome travel stories like always, really enjoy reading them, as if I was there. Maybe one day :)

Awesome travel stories like always, really enjoy reading them, as if I was there. Maybe one day :)

Thank you so much :))

What I loved about the city was it's motion and the sound. At the same time you could see and hear so many different moving objects ... cars, boats, planes ... awesome!

It isn't called the city that never sleeps for bo reason :)

I have plans to travel to New York at Christmas time, I believe it is Magical:)at this time of year.
Am I right?

Yes....Chrismas and iceskating at the Rockfeller center :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79