Travel with me #26: My unforgettable night in a mountain village

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Dear Fellow Steemians:




Do you still remember the post where I used fallen leaves to create a Steemit Logo in a secret garden? If you missed my Steemit logo art, you can check it outHERE.
Today, i'm continuing my story about the mountain village and the unforgettable night I spent at the village. Let's go into the village!


On route to the secret garden, we experienced a huge traffic jam. Whilst peering outside at the scenery, I saw a big crane carrying away saplings which have blossomed well. This was the first time I've seen big cranes carrying away trees.

Everywhere I look, the local residents have already started stockpiling firewood for winter.

I have no idea what is on the balcony, if someone knows what it is, please let me know!

On the next part of our journey, we drive through endless S shaped mountain roads, very much like Initial D in real life!

Arriving at the village.

The dragon on the wall, in front of the door is well carved.

The doors are extremely heavy laden with iron bits on them. I used two hands to push them open.

As I venture into the secret garden, I saw this cute sculpture. It made me desire having a pet with me..

When I turned my head, I saw a real dog.

He might look quite fierce but he's actually really handsome!

He’s a German Shephard, also known as a German Police Dog.

Looks very cool in this photo don't you think?

Times goes by quickly and it's time for dinner. We decided to have a barbecue in the garden. Lamb skewers smell SO good.

My friends are more professional than me.

In addition to the barbeque, my friends prepared some home cooked dishes. Let's see what's on the table:
Cold dish:

Cucumber in sauce
凉拌黄瓜

Braised pork with soy sauce
酱肉片

Chilli phoenix
辣椒凤抓

Cold and dressed noodles with sauce
凉拌面条

Green bean in sauce
凉拌豆角

Shredded potatoes
凉拌土豆丝

Potherb in sauce
凉拌野菜

Preserved thousand year old eggs
凉拌皮蛋

Chicken

Hot dishes:

Grilled fish with hot-pepper chilli powder
热菜:烤鱼,辣椒粉,

Fried pig belly with green peppers
辣椒炒肚

Stir fried Cauliflower with bacon
花椰菜炒腊肉

No banquet is without it's alcohol. For this meal, we have the Guizhou Maotai white spirit.
配上白酒

All the food together
合影

What an amazing moment having a table full with delicious food. All of a sudden, Bang! A power cut. We light candles and continue eating. It's a completely different atmosphere under the candle light. I hoped that the lights would come back on, but after waiting a while, it never did. For the rest of the night, we lived under the candle light. After the candles burnt out, it was pitch black. I was in so much fear because I've never truly been anywhere without any light at all. It was hard to sleep that night. All I could hear was the sound of wind and the dogs barking. It was an unforgettable experience for me that made me realise how important it is to care for people who are visually impaired. It must be hard for them to live in darkness.

Thanks for your reading, hope you like my story!


Chinese version

亲爱的Steemit,今天我将继续讲述我在村庄的经历,因为我在村庄的那一夜经历了我让我难忘的事情。现在我们就一起走进大山里,去探索那个神秘的花园吧。 在去往秘密花园的路上,我们经历了人生中最黑暗的,堵车。后来发现原来是大吊车在把培育好的树苗运走。这是我第一次看到大吊车吊树。 看看周边的住户,已经把烧火用的柴火收集在一起,准备过冬了。 这个楼上是什么,我不知道,有人可以告诉我吗? 接下来,我们开始了无限循环的S型山路旅程, 就像真实版本的头文字D。 村庄到了。 门口的看家盘龙雕刻的好漂亮。 大门非常的重,我需要两个手一起才能打开它。 进门看见这个雕塑,我在期待有一只这样的小狗相伴就好了。 结果一转头,还真的有一只狗。 可能你们觉得他看着好凶,但是我觉得他好帅呀。 听说他是德国警犬的品种。 我觉得我拍他拍的好帅阿。 很快,晚饭时间到,我和朋友开始烧烤,烤羊肉串。 还是朋友们烤得专业呢。 正在一桌子说说笑笑享受美食的时候,beng停电了,我们只好点上蜡烛继续吃,并同时等待来电,结果,悲剧发生,这个美丽的花园再也没有来电,好久没有感受过摸黑过夜的经历,这是让我非常难忘的旅游经历,同时我也呼吁我们应该多多帮助那些眼睛看不到,生活在黑暗中的人们,他们的人生非常的不容易。 谢谢你的阅读,希望你们喜欢我的故事。

Sort:  

thanks for sharing your adventure , up-voted and followed

Traveling is something which everyone should adore

Bravo! Excellent post, his work is very good. Your images are beautiful bliss @sweetsssj, for another magnificent post

Thank you for your like jlufer :)
༼✿ @sweetsssj

Looks like nice countryside photos eligible for steemitphotochallenge. ;-)
Of course the food is making me hungry too.

Thanks ace! I'm just a little bit worried about the photos being not good enough for the photo challenge so I didn't enter these. Anyway, food is the main theme for us anyway right?? ^^
༼✿ @sweetsssj

Well, there's always next time and yes, food is good any time. :-)

Great photo! It is a pity that I was not a party!

Thanks igor, hopefully more steemians in the future can come experience the wonders of Chinese food!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

Upvoted and resteemed!

thank you so much , much appreciated!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

Hoped the dog ate a good meal too.

Definitely! The dog has a person especially dedicated to looking after it. It ate loads of meat too!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

The mountains look great for a camping trip and the food looks very delicios! Awesome post.

Yes! The mountains behind me are actually very popular for campers. Usually in the warmer months, there will be many people going on camping trips there!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

I really enjoy all of your pics and words, sweetie...

Thanks steemvest17, I find visiting places like this helpful to rejuvenating the mind as well as body. Putting it down on paper reminds me again of how eerie the whole experience is.
༼✿ @sweetsssj

@sweetsssj I'm hungry now!
all those food - I missed eating the arrowroot - so you guys called it the chili phoenix? And those century eggs, what do they taste like? I wonder. I've seen them in China town but never have tasted. The only thing I could eat here that's on that table are the sugar snaps, all of them look freaking delicious! I'm hungry now :)

Haha, the chilli phoenix is actually chicken feet. The century eggs are actually alkali so they taste a little bit like ammonia, it's actually very tasty (they're not actually a century old). You could try them with porridge in most places in China town!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

@sweetsssj - ah - thanks for clearing that up hahaha indeed,
So the century egg taste like ammonia? No - they are not century old indeed so when I saw that the 1st time I also asked - and wondered how on earth it has managed to survive and how much self control someone has not to eat it. I saw it in China town - I guess they just want to make it look intriguing so they gave it that name and it worked - I have never eaten one and I thought maybe just like the salted egg just glossy and black. Thank you !
By the way, I love chicken feet :)
but I can't find them here :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48