Impressions from Tokyo part 2 - The Senso-ji Temple

in #travel7 years ago

Dear Steemians! As promised the 2nd part (first part here) of impressions from my little trip to Tokyo - the oldest Buddhist temple of Tokyo, the Senso-ji temple.
On the approach to the temple there is a street, the Nakamise-dōri with 89 shops. Here (and in the other streets leading to this special place) you will find temple paraphernalia, traditional items, local snacks, all kind of souvenirs but also things I had no clue at all of what they were. All was full of people, mostly Japanese and of course tourists. Very crowded, very busy, but interestingly it had a very positive, cheerful atmosphere. Not sure if the little video in the beginning could capture this feeling, at least when I rewatch it, this remembrance is still strong. It shows the huge bronze incense burner. It is supposed to bring luck if the smoke is inhaled and absorbes into the clothes.

IMG_5220.jpg

IMG_1979.jpg

And I found a shop exclusively with Ninja stuff! I was overwhelmed (I did some Ninjutsu training for a few years). Of course neither the swords not the sais, not even some shuriken would have made it through the controls at the airport, so I walked away just having bought a Ninja-style umbrella (with a Katana-like handle) :)
IMG_5225_bearbeitet-1.jpg

Of course even when worshipping, proper lines are formed!
IMG_5228.jpg

On the wall of this gate through which the pilgrims approach the inner temple you can see two gigantic straw sandals who symbolize the traditional footwear of the buddhistic pilgrims, in the background a five-story pagoda.
IMG_5250.jpg

One of the tourist attractions is to get a ride on board of a trishaw, pulled by some traditional looking guys.
IMG_5248.jpg

Some local seafood was offered (but I was not brave enough to taste it).
IMG_5239.jpg

On the way back to Europe I saw in a shop at the airport those cute Totoros, from the film "My Neighbour Totoro", one of my favorite productions of Studio Ghibli. (You have not seen it so far? Please watch it, it is for all ages and will open your heart.)
IMG_2046.jpg
I definitely should have taken one. Well, one of many reasons to come back soon!

Sort:  

post was resteemedby @awayforhappiness

Tokio is so imposing, so full of culture that it is almost impossible to see all its corners in one trip.
Excellent pictures.

Great points.. thanks for bringing these important points in our view.
also thanks for sharing the video with us.

This post has received a 0.65 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @stayoutoftherz. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Nice post, I am currently doing a similar thing in Hanoi. I live in the South of Vietnam but have come north to Hanoi for a writing trip. Tokyo looks amazing I hope I make it there one day. Upvoted.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.48 % upvote from @bellyrub.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stayoutoftherz to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48