Impressions from Tokyo

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_5144.jpg

Dear Steemians! Last year I had the chance to visit Tokyo for a few days only. It is a truely fascinating city. I just want to share a few random pics from there (title pic is from inside the Tokyo International Forum, a convention and art center with a unique architecture).

It started with my hotel room which was awesome, simple in one way but very elegant and aesthetic.
IMG_5115_bearbeitet-1.jpg

In the corridors you have the feeling to be in a spacecraft (see more pics from this hotel in Toranomon here )
IMG_5194.jpg

The view from the room at night (how it looked in daylight I had posted already here)
IMG_5196.jpg

The Asahi Beer Hall building by Philippe Starck
IMG_5268_bearbeitet-1.jpg

In the Ginza district, the perfect place for shopping addicts. If you have enough time, you will find probably anything here.
IMG_5375.jpg

Shopping is not the only addiction in Tokyo. The Japanese version of slot machines is called Pachinko and quite popular. Although gambling is illegal in Tokyo, Pachinko is treated as an exception.
IMG_5382.jpg

Next day I wanted to visit the Emperor´s palace but when I arrived it was closed already. Only chance was to get in and up a nearby hotel to get a glance from above. The quality from the image through glass is bad but the view gives an idea about the size of the site and the how it still is dwarfed by the growing city around it.
IMG_5352.jpg

At Ueno park, I noticed a strange group of people – advertising event for a local club?
IMG_5284.jpg

A 5-storied pagoda, built in 1639, is nowadays located in a zoo at Ueno park.
IMG_5280.jpg

Back from the relative calm of the park and to Takeshita Street: Full of teenagers strolling through fashion and other shops, this street which even has its Wikipedia entry symbolizes best the craziness of the Japanese culture.
IMG_5429.jpg

By the way, in public transport people are lining up orderly like they never would in any other city I have seen.
IMG_5456.jpg

Tired from walking through the city I had to try out Sushi restaurants of course. The ones I tried were all very good and still with acceptable prices.
IMG_5383.jpg

Most impressive to me was the Senso-ji shrine in Asakusa - I will make a separate post on it.

Sort:  

Nice shot! Love how you edited it! Really smooth.

This post has received a 0.66 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @stayoutoftherz. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Hey @stayoutoftherz!
Very interesting and cool post! :)
Really seems like you had a great time there! :D

Thanks, yes I did. Just too short - need to go there again :)

Very nice @stayoutoftherz. Japan is beautiful. I lived in southern Japan in Miyazaki prefecture for two years. I miss it. Big question for a fellow chess player is: did you try Japanese chess (shogi) while you were there?

No, shame on me, I never heard about it. Did you ever play it?

Oh yeah! I was addicted to the game while I was there. Studied it more than I studied the language. It's a beautiful game. Very dynamic, very tactical.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61