Windermere, Running & Rants

in #travel5 years ago

Alright, I promise this is the LAST South Lakes post I will be doing as all my content and memories are now on the STEEM blockchain except this one.

IMG_6744.jpg

As some of you may know we visited this area some week back and during the visit, @bingbabe insisted on running the local parkrun. It doesn't really matter where you are now in the UK, as they are hosted in most towns and have even spread to Europe.

Newby Bridge was the closest one and described as a Fell Foot run. What is the difference? We were about to find out.

Getting there before 9 am was the next problem. We were so enthralled with the hotel's gastronomically pleasing breakfast that we didn't leave enough time to arrive. I ended up roaring down side roads like an insane maniac just to get here there in time for the start of the event.

IMG_6745.jpg

With three minutes to spare, I ejected @bingbabe from the car and she raced down to the event. It was just about to start when I arrived and I witnessed the masses take off.

IMG_6747.jpg

I discovered that a Fell Foot is simply more hilly than usual, but even so, she still finished around 26 minutes after ‘taking her time'. One of those marathons she did was just a week later so this ‘terribly slow time' could be justified.

IMG_6750.jpg

I took a few snaps around Newby Bridge while waiting. I seem to have a lot of free time due to her running habit lately.

IMG_6752.jpg

IMG_6768.jpg

Newby Bridge is much quieter than the other tourist traps in the Lake District. When the sun comes out most of the population of Northern England flocks here. It’s like flies to a jam jar and there’s an irresistible attraction

@dismayedworld wanted to go shopping. Shopping in the Lake District? Jeez, give me strength.

IMG_6773.jpg

We negotiated on Windermere, one of the most popular and crowded of the lakeside towns and due to our early arrival even managed to park.

IMG_6777.jpg

IMG_6778.jpg

Despite it still being only 10.30am or so the place was getting busy and people were queuing to get a ride on these old steamers which make regular trips to nearby Ambleside.

IMG_6781.jpg

IMG_6782.jpg

We walked up the old main street passing some dated building before I entered a shop to buy some Kendal Mint Cake. You can buy this unique tasting candy in most northern places but it does originate from the lakes.

IMG_6784.jpg

I noticed an old cinema converted from what was once the public hall. Dated 1845 it’s quite old and only here could a cinema survive and keep trading. Most are complexes like in the US nowadays.

IMG_6785.jpg

Leaving Windermere was quite a challenge as it always is. The queue for the car park was enormous and despite the fact they have made it a one-way system, it was hardly helping.

TVIP1354.jpg

We had to wait in queuing traffic for over 30 minutes just to leave. Such is people's obsession with visiting the lakes' when it's a bank holiday and unseasonably hot and sunny for the time of year.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

We were up in the Lake District a few months back and even then it was packed with tourists (including us)

It is a stunning area and these fell runs are pretty hectic for a flat lands chap like me.

Props to @bingbabe for doing such a good time. Seemed like a good time to me but then what do I know :-)

I would like to try climbing some of those peaks one day, they are not so challenging close to me.

It's one sure way to get a bit of exercise. I've got a scan tomorrow to check on my broken rib but I really do need to get back into training. Fell running from what I've seen is pretty demanding. Remember to bring some water and a cell phone.

That looks like a really beautiful place to visit minus the huge crowds of people. I don't think I would be able to handle that. I can't believe how many people were there for the park run either. That is crazy.

The parkrun people appeared to be mostly non locals. Runners are a crazy lot and need their fill even on holidays.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Crazy runners!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like they had a pretty good turn out for the run, and a beautiful day for it in a nice area,
I think she was sensible to do a conservative pace with a marathon coming up.
Thanks for the shots of the area looks quite charming

That starting mass of people looks like a disaster waiting to happen.... I can't imagine what would happen if someone fell!... but I love the dump the runners off, and then wander around!

It amazingly doesn’t seem to happen, surprising really!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I used to be a regular ParkRunner - and I would have been ecstatic to do it in 26 mins! I think my record for a 5K was 27 mins. My favourite bit was the post-run cafe breakfast. It does look a bit crowded though.

They all seemed to be tourists! I chatted with one bloke while waiting and he was also waiting for his wife to finish. I'm sure some were regulars though.

Fabulous photograph of the lake.
I couldn't do with that queueing, though. It was bad enough at Matlock Bath, at least four cars hustling every space.

That was Easter weekend and the weather was really warm. This means hordes of people

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like a nice area to explore, once you manage to find parking.

Sounds like my idea of hell - crowded tourist trap by 10.30, no chance.

I was looking at property prices up in the Northern Pennines yesterday - man I could be mortgage free if I moved to some of the towns up there, although I get the feeling maybe the whole of that area is where the underclass live, Kendal and the whole of Lake District is for the middle classes.

As I said, my idea of hell.

Although I am partial to a small slab of Kendal Mint Cake. Interesting take on sugar.

Kendal Mint Cake gets down into the Southern reaches of the realm? I have been watching too much Game of Thrones lately. :)

They make it into outdoorsey shops yes!

I've binged from season 4 the last fortnight.

The final season is just shit BTW. Two episodes left, looking forwards to getting it over and done with tonight.

i think I prefer The Last Kingdom overall.

The final season is just shit BTW.

I have seen it already, it was an anti-climax.

i think I prefer The Last Kingdom overall.

Is that the Netflix show? Think I saw it on there

Yup Netflix - it's great stuff!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 481

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 6.28% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36