Settle, Pen-y-ghent and The Ribblehead Viaduct

in #travel6 years ago

Having been left at home on Saturday while @bingbabe did her marathon attempt at scaling The Three Peaks, I insisted the next day that I too visit the area without the climbing.

@bingbabe climbed this monster yesterday (below).

IMG_2252.JPG

‘You can’t scale these mountains’, she claims, and she’s right, my back would not take it.

We duly left at 11:30am enjoying the glorious sunshine, the destination ‘Settle’ which is a country market town in North Yorkshire.

IMG_2245.JPG

IMG_2247.JPG

There is a certain Fish and Chip shop which in my personal opinion is in the Top 3 finest in England. If only I had an Android device I could use @eroche’s Let’s Eat app and add it to the database. I will have to pick up a cheap one from somewhere.

After getting our fill, I took a few more snaps of Settle and then we headed for The Ribblehead Viaduct.

IMG_2249.JPG

IMG_2250.JPG

I saw some cyclists heading past the Fish and Chip shop, all wearing head gear and no cycle lanes in sight. In the country, cycling is extremely popular in England but cycle lanes are as rare as hare’s teeth. This one is for you @katharsisdrill

IMG_2251.JPG

After passing Horton-in-Ribblesdale I was awarded with my first sight of Pen-y-ghent which is the first of the Three Peaks. It was some distance away but I figured even from here that I would not be able to scale it.

@bingbabe’s friend Marites kindly allowed me to use these next THREE photographs which shows what it is like climbing this peak, more like mountaineering to me!

mountain0.jpg

mountain1.jpg

mountain2.jpg

Another 6 miles brought us to our destination of the Viaduct. I appreciate these feats of engineering more as I grow older.

IMG_2257.JPG

The canals dominated travel in England from the 1830’s until around 1870 when the railways took over. This particular bridge was built in 1874 and cost many lives to make it happen. What could it be have been like for those people who created this?

IMG_2258.JPG

Its quite a wild and desolate area, but when its weekend and there’s no rain, the people always flock (though you wouldn't think so looking at my snaps)

The weather had deteriorated to the point of me expecting rain, but thankfully it didn’t happen. What we got instead was an overcast view which made the viaduct look quite imposing.

IMG_2277.JPG

IMG_E2265.JPG

I took some black and white shots as well as colour ones to highlight the different look. At one point a train passed the viaduct, a shame it wasn’t a steam engine.

IMG_2282.JPG

Walking to the foot of one of the arches you get to see how enormous these actually are.

IMG_2289.JPG

I took this snap so you can see the size relative to @bingbabe and my daughter. You are looking up over 100 feet to reach the top, it’s quite something.

All photographs were taken by myself or used with permission from the original owner.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Some solid photography of that bridge. I also really like the foggy climbing. I guess I one day have to come to Yorkshire and do some cycling and climbing and beer drinking.

I'll leave the 'foggy climbing' to @bingbabe, thanks! I have a few issues with vertigo and from what she was saying it's not good at all if you suffer from such afflictions.

Na, I could imagine looking at the pictures. (Foggy climbing it would be).

I never suffered from it on behalf of myself, but I hate seeing other people close to the edge.


My eldest dsughter loved this when she was 4-5 years old. "could we see the song with the naughty girls," she asked - she meant the roller-skate girls in the beginning.

This place is so amazing and beautiful and green fields and green mountains are really breathtaking to watch and i want to say that you are blessed to live close this kind of beautiful natural view. Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Wow. I just love architecture and engineering that stands the test of time. It's just amazing to me that trestle has been in service for over 140 years.

And the scenery! That is so incredibly exotic to me. My home is flat and beige.

Thank you!

For a local it seems so ordinary to me, and your desert-scape's are more exotic to me!

We try and go somewhere different every weekend, and now I'm on here I'll be doing more writing about it. Hope you do too.

I love that part of the country and I'm hoping to travel there this year to do some scrambly hillwalks. My mum is from Huddersfield, and when I was a tiny tot, before the M6 was opened, we used to drive down to Yorkshire via Settle. I have vague memories of waking up in my cot on the back seat and seeing Christmas lights in the trees. We sometimes drive that way for old times sake.

I too have childhood memories of Settle, and Fish and Chips, though at a different chippy. The original one still stands but is not so good anymore.

Very cool! The viaduct is really impressive. I don't think I could have made much of a dent in those peaks either. The fish and chips on the other hand look amazing and I think I would have cleaned the plate! Thanks for sharing!

I did clean the plate! I know you don't get Fish and Chips in the US like this. I missed them sorely when I lived there.

The batter reminds me of a fast food chain we have called Long John Silvers which I love, but don't get that often because it isn't really that good for you. I have no doubt, those are far superior to anything from a chain over here though.

I remember Long John Silvers only too well, there was one in Tempe, AZ I tried once.

Trust me, it doesn't even compare. If you ever get to England, you really need to try 'the national dish'.

I will for sure! Thanks!

pretty good photos man, i really enjoyed reading your lines. Hiking there seems to pretty nice. Somehow, after i saw the bridge, i just started thinking about LOTR.

Takes me back that does. Day 2 of the Norway ride. Lovely shots :)

Those shots bought back a lot of happy memories for me @slobberchops, although it's a few years since we spent any time in Yorkshire.

It's nice to be reminded. 😊

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like me, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67614.76
ETH 2610.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73