Hike # 4: Wycoller Panopticon Trail

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

After yesterdays crappy weather and a hike that was not too pleasant (to be written about later), we decided to head back to the outskirts of Bronte country again for this short hike.

idtndan7hm.jpg

(Cover picture above is Wycollar Hall).

The detailed information can be found in the link below:
https://www.ifootpath.com/display-ifootpath-walk?walkID=4695

dgaj6e3wpy.jpg

iqd8dahii5.jpg

It was a little blustery today but quite sunny as we arrived on the hilltops just north of Colne. This sign had seen better days, and after driving over a very dodgy cattle grid we were in the car park.

irp1axibt4.jpg

The first thing we noticed was this concrete dome named a ‘Panopticon’. This signifies that there is a panoramic view for the eyes to feast on, and there was indeed.

This particular one is named ‘The Atom’ and I struggled to find any good information on the internet about when it was built. ‘Maybe it was dropped from a spaceship’, someone queried in a search I found?

gdtn92hr9k.jpg

8fe80q8oox.jpg

The view presented was a sprawling and vast one over Pendle Hill which is famous for its medieval witches!.

o02nkypxnf.jpg

We made out way down the hillside through kissing gates with fields and sheep, some of which were not so happy to see us. I do find it funny when one stands its ground and does this foot stamping thing. If you return the motion and feign a snarl they always run off.

Today we had a lamb ‘challenge us’; very daring for a ‘lamb chops’ as @bingbabe calls them!

ci2pp8ia1m.jpg

Some of the fields we navigate are hardly trails and have plenty of thistles you can catch yourself on if not careful. I was wearing shorts so it was double bad for me.

The walking posts are the only thing that keeps you on the right road, but you need to keep vigilant.

n61d7ri460.jpg

gpapvk7bwx.jpg

This bridge was a little rickety and I had some lovely nettles to edge past on the far side.

8yharvz7ya.jpg

At this point, we were on a stony road, the sun was out and it was very pleasant. A stream ran down the side of the track and we were partially covered by trees for the next mile or so.

zkp0wd9ijd.jpg

This tree must be ancient, as it has wound its enormous roots around the stone wall that was edging the road.

z7pq2cu4es.jpg

We came to a stone bridge which is named ‘Clam Bridge’ and is reputed to be 10000 years old and of neolithic origin. I don’t know how it holds up personally as only a small corner section of it is being supported on the bank.

hbmpk5e9gp.jpg

@bingbabe strode across it and I swear it was moving as she crossed. I suggested she jumped up and down in the middle, but she didn’t take my advice; probably very wise!

39c501dxuj.jpg

Next to ‘Clam Bridge’ was a road that went right through the river. I wouldn’t like to drive my car though that, I guess it was designed for Horse and Carts.

1mrzy4ql20.jpg

fja8d6uubf.jpg

As we approached Wycollar village we saw signs of civilization in the forms of a tourist path, a horse made out of sticks and an archway made from trees, all very arty and apparently designed and built by local village talent.

1cecox00ee.jpg

Another stone bridge and lovely view brought us to Wycollar Hall which is now sadly a ruin and despite notices stating, ‘No Climbing on the ruins’ there were several children all over it doing just that.

Wycoller Hall dates from 1550 and was home to the Cunliffe family for six generations. In 1818 the hall was dismantled and much of the stone was plundered to support the building of other houses and mills as part of a repayment of debts. Charlotte Bronte is said to have visited Wycoller village on her many walks around the area and Wycoller Hall is thought to be the inspiration for Ferndean Manor in her novel Jane Eyre. The ruin hosts two ghosts, a headless horseman and a lady dressed in black.

dlosoruvxw.jpg

I wonder if anyone will ever refurbish this lovely old building or whether it will just keep crumbling under the feet of visitors and children? We didn’t see any of the ‘ghosts’ that haunt the building, perhaps we should visit around 2am? (Cover picture is also Wycoller Hall).

ljwkun6xu7.jpg

Next to the ruin was once a visitor centre which looked in a sorry state. I had a peek though the cobweb infested window and it looks like it’s just been abandoned.

The visitor information looked to have scattered leaflets and information around the shelves and the floor. Maybe the Hall is not interesting enough to merit it anymore?

pwtw15i7sy.jpg

It seems a lot of Hike’s we do have a huge hill right at the end and this was another! I noticed some very old stonework on the way up while being hassled with a very persistent bug that had been trying to eat me for the last mile or so.

The steep pathway was rather wide and reading about it tells me it was the old coach road that serviced the hall. A carriage would fit on this trail though the ride would be extremely bumpy.

gk0zu9sn9w.jpg

As we approached the car park I spotted this picnic table in a very strange place, I almost missed it perched on top of an embankment and almost out of view.

It had seen better days and probably not been used due to its strange position. What was the local council thinking when they erected this?

Synopsis: A short walk that was very enjoyable and dog friendly. We will be back to do this again someday.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I guess that when the only thing you can be nonchalant about is stone (as you live in the stone age) you just have a tendency to be nonchalant about them, throwing your stone bridge without looking if it is solidly supported.

This post made me so invigorated that I became a googly-eyed, drooling lunatic that dimly pressed the reshare button in the most simpleton fashion.

There was a stile on the far side of the big stone which tells me 'its ok to walk on me'. I checked a little history on 'Clam Bridge' and it was dislodged several years ago with the heavy rains and cracked in two.

In the floods of 1989 and 1990 it was brought crashing down and broken in two places. However, the slab was restored again; you can see where the breaks occured due to the iron clasps on the underside.

Whoever placed it back only settled a single corner on the embankment but it still holds a humans weight.

I didn't fancy my chances venturing over buy my wife weighs very little and so was deemed the 'safer choice'.

I saw a similar stone in Devon and it was also resting on a very small area of another stone. probably from the stone-age too. I will consider your politics about sending out women and children to test the carrying capacity of things. Contra-intuitive, but probably the rational way - just like the air masks in the plane.

Beautiful pictures - It really gets me in the mood for a journey to the UK...

Amazing stuff. Youre really turning into a more interesting sweetssj. 😁

No I'm not.. I'm still a raving manic looking hiker... ;)

Well ill buy you a nice dress and then you can compete with her. 😁

That looks like a fantastic walk! And lovely photos. Some of it looks vaguely familiar, probably because my mum was born and raised in Huddersfield, and we used to go there regularly to visit our grandparents. I once camped near Pendle Hill, years ago!
The Panopticon... how bizarre! I'm guessing 1970s, an era that went wild with concrete. And Clam Bridge looks amazing!

I seem to be going on these 'hikes' everyday. I cant run right now due to my legs and back, but walking gives me no pain. There are more of these 'Panopticon' about, I'll try and lookout for more of them.

Are there more of them? How intriguing!
I started walking and then hillwalking after a thyroid malfunction made it difficult for me to continue running. Maybe you'll end up a crazed Munro bagger like me...

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hike-4-wycoller-panopticon-trail-d8793283e3253est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Pretty cool dome, i I like it. Is that panopticon structure climbable? How tall is it?

Its around 8 feet tall, but due to the smooth surface and slippyness you would likely fall on your arse if you tried!

That looks like a hike well worth having.

The bridge and walkaway made from trees particularly caught our attention. Have bookmarked in case ever in the area. Your missus looks like she had a great time.

Look forward to your next adventure - JP

Looks like it was a great walk! We have lots of walking and hiking trails around here, but most of them are through dense woods. It is always cool to see the photos of your hikes and just how open and panoramic the views are. There is a road with a river running over it near where my sister used to live in Kentucky. It was always a big deal to take people there and drive through the river :)

Some lovely shots there @slobberchops! You certainly have an eye for photography!

It is a shame when old buildings get left to go to ruin. We have a similar site near me and I would love to be able to take it on as a project and renovate it, but alas I haven't won the lotto yet haha

I was a little worried about @bingbabe on that bridge, it didn't look the safest of places! xD

Some really lovely views there, thank you for sharing, I enjoyed the journey with you!

The bridge has been there forever and on the far side was a stile so I guess that says, 'it's OK to use it'. We are finding styles everywhere but with no info on where they go we keep to the guides on iFootpath.

There must be many good walks close to where we live but its finding them. I love that app but we are having to travel further to get to the documented walks.

I didn't make it to my Derbyshire walk yesterday, boo! This stupid virus is hanging around far longer than it aught to :( Ah well. I have a long weekend ahead as my bro gets married on Friday and I am travelling over tomorrow and staying until Saturday so it should be some good family time!

Those stone slabs at the end look very intriguing. Any idea what they are?

I don't know to be honest, they are probably several centuries old. Our land is steeped in history if we look for it.

It looks like it could serve as a wall even. hmm...

They may have been straight once, when the cavemen built em!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42