Haworth Forties Weekend

in #travel5 years ago

A couple of weeks ago, @bingbabe dragged me to some Forties street procession in the Yorkshire town of Haworth.

IMG_7311.jpg

I say dragged because I’m hardly a fan of these kinds of things but I suppose it presents some photograph opportunities.

IMG_7348.jpg

The turnout was large, and the main street of Haworth that is generally a ‘no car’ zone, and very steep and narrow was extremely crowded.

IMG_7307.jpg

Parking in this famous town (due to the Bronte Parsonage) is never free, but on this occasion, the main car park was closed and so we had to pay a fiver to park in some enterprising farmer's field.

This pub's car park however was taking the piss, and was not full at all. Greedy bloody arseholes.

IMG_7352.jpg

This is in no way related to the Forties, but I loved this motorcycle. It screams of evilness!

IMG_7310.jpg

BW_IMG_7310.png

I photographed many of these shots in colour but wondered what they would look like in Black & White. Do they look even a little authentic? Perhaps a Sepia filter may work better.

IMG_7317.jpg

There were plenty of old Army vehicles about but the guys guarding them looked more like Dad’s Army than Army.

IMG_7320.jpg

This is the famous Bronte Parsonage Museum. We visited maybe 3 years ago, before my time on STEEM, else I would have written about it.

IMG_7326.jpg

IMG_7306.jpg

Haworth is one of those old-world towns, with a cobbled main street. @bingbabe did claim she was in 1940's garb but I wasn't really convinced.

IMG_7328.jpg

Still, some made more effort than others. I tried to get some photographs with just forties style dress, and this was one of them. Very bright red hair and clothes!

IMG_7331.jpg

IMG_7332.jpg

Every photograph I took, she just had to photobomb… sigh.

IMG_7335.jpg

Does this look like a forties street? Surely they didn’t wear hoodies in those times?

IMG_7336.jpg

Who are you looking at mate?

IMG_7339.jpg

IMG_7342.jpg

Wasn't this supposed to be a ‘British' forties weekend? I saw a lot of US Army vehicles, in fact, they dominated everywhere.

IMG_7345.jpg

I suppose there were a few Union Jacks kicking about.

IMG_7314.jpg

IMG_7347.jpg

We didn’t stick about too long due to @bingbabe not feeling well.

IMG_7329.jpg

IMG_7351.jpg

Yes, it was worth a visit, and we even had some Fish and Chips which I failed to photograph. Eating chips from a box and juggling your iPhone doesn't work too well.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

This looks like some of the events we have around where I live. There is one called river of time that is a much earlier decade than this. It seems like everyone was having a good time though. I would have expected the soldiers to be much younger and much thinner given the time frame :)

Yeah, the young tend to avoid these... I'm getting old.. and it sucks!

Great shot of this event looks like a fun thing to go to, the farmer worked out how to make a quick buck

the Bike may not be 40s related but it is so cool I am glad you got a shot and shared it

There were umpteen car parks all charging varies 'fees' but this was the top price.

That always seems ot happen for places and event slike this

Rat Bike. Or Rat Rod. The basic sentiment is the same, depending on the number of wheels. What ever it's called I like it too. I saw one a couple years ago that had a fire extinguisher as a gas tank...

There certainly were a number of US Military vehicles, except for that single that bingebabe stood beside. A BSA? Matchless? Velocette? Now I've used all my known makers from the war...

How about the music? I'm pretty fond of 'Big Band' music and I know it was also popular in England during the war...

I love the couple with the tram. That is some serious 40s look to me.

Thanks for a wonderful post!

Some really made the effort and were quite happy to pose for photographs. Eliminating what is 2019 was the hard part, to get that authentic look. Some bloke in jeans might walk past or a car might be in the way.

There was some old time music at some places, and a 2nd world war plane flew across at one point.

Wow, it's pretty amazing the sort of effort that goes into some of the costuming! It's funny, but the second last photo (the one with the couple and the pram)... reminds me of a book that I'm reading for my toddler, Peepo! I'm not sure if you know it?

Don't know Peepo.. my 'toddler' is a now a 15 yr old nightmare.. you have all that to come!

Eeeep... I'm going to ignore that and pretend it isn't going to happen!

Amazing how one ultra-cool trike can just totally eclipse the whole event!

You don't see many like that.

The bike was awesome, skulls were dripping off it!

Awesome photos, these events are super fun they have had one in Brighouse this weekend and it even had a Spitfire fly over yesterday!

Parking in a field is ok if it isn’t too muddy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We had a plane fly over too... could have been a spitfire but it was from the old times. Yes the field was dry on this occasion.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 529.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Looks like something like that event is happening around here in two weeks. https://www.colorado.aaa.com/events/11th-annual-1940s-wwii-era-ball

It does look similar, though yours looks larger scale. I remember those Renaissance festivals from the time I lived in Phoenix. Not exactly the same but still themed.

Honestly!!! Don't know what's wrong with you guys!!! Why do you need to be dragged to go to such a lovely event! It look so much fun ^_^

Well I really don't like crowds, and that's part of it. Being a blogger now really helps me with the rope is pulled and yanked toward events like this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05