Bold Venture Park and Darwen Tower

in #travel6 years ago

After my recent failure to conquer Pen-y-ghent, I sought out something a little easier to climb this weekend and also a little closer to home.

IMG_2403.JPG

Darwen is closer and the tower an easier climb for sure. The weather was also lovely and sunny unlike last weeks’ gloomfest.

This tower is quite prominent from anywhere around the region and is not so far from civilisation to make it inaccessible for the casual walker. It is around 1.5 miles to get to the top from a parking spot.

IMG_2419.JPG

IMG_2389.JPG

The walk started via Bold Venture Park and ascends into rugged moorland. I visited this tower around a year ago but it was blowing a gale and at that time, I daren’t climb to the top part in fear of being blown over.

IMG_2391.JPG

The walk starts quite gradual with lots of trees and greenery but thins out as parkland turns to moorland and a barren heath.

IMG_2390.JPG

We came across a stone marker that has seen better times. Considering the tower that it is referring to is over 100 years old, the marker is likely to be of the same age.

IMG_2394.JPG

IMG_2395.JPG

IMG_2393.JPG

As we ascended I took a few photographs of Darwen and the surrounding areas. A little digging on the tower, reveals:

It was built in 1898 to commemorate Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee and also to celebrate the victory of the local people for the right to access the moor.

It seems the top dome has been blown off several times over the years, the last time being in 2010. I can believe this after experiencing the hurricane weather that I witnessed last time I ventured up this hill.

IMG_2401.JPG

On approaching the tower I tried to entice my Golden Retriever ‘Shadow’ up the stairs with me. He tried 5 or 6 steps but wimped out and retreated back to the base. The winding staircase was easy enough to climb but quite dark in parts. The top section was metal, tightly spiralled and well used.

IMG_2404.JPG

IMG_2413.JPG

You always seem to get graffiti, vandalism and people scrawling their names in these places wherever you go.

This time there was little wind and besides experiencing my familiar vertigo on the top section it was uneventful, and I gained more landscape photographs of the moors and surrounding areas.

IMG_2406.JPG

IMG_2408.JPG

IMG_2409.JPG

IMG_2412.JPG

IMG_2405.JPG

I was hoping to be able to see the west coast of England from the top section, and although I thought I could see it, I couldn’t spot Blackpool Tower.

Hopefully these walks I’m doing will strengthen my legs a little so that I can start running again. I felt that familiar strain on my calf while descending but it didn’t ‘snap’ in the same way I get when running.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Great adventure! Thanks for sharing. I had to go back and look at your older post - glad that you still salvaged a nice set of pictures on that walk. I really miss the canals! I lived along the Kennet-and-Avon canal for a couple of years - it seemed you could not see a canal boat without a dog in it (occasionally a cat.) If I had to do it again, I would live on a canal boat! (But might give Devizes a miss - at least after the first time.)
(I came in from the Asapers magazine.)

I live close to the Leeds/Liverpool canal, and would love to rent one of those barges. They look like great fun!

Congratulations @slobberchops, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 71

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. I would love to do this hike, looks like a good walk and nice views. @insideoutlet

That looks to be a nice track and landscape!

It was much easier than that mountain that I tried to climb the week before! I'll be doing more of these in the next few weeks. Hopefully the running will start again soon.

That would be great!

What a lovely place to take a walk!
Your photos are fantastic too! :D

I dont get it why they cant build all landmarks on level ground. That way id visit them all since i wouldnt have to climb. :P

Beautiful tower. I love these buildings that are unnecessarily beautiful for their function. :D

All the interesting stuff is on top of mountains it seems here! They make you for work for it.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 183 (7/02/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Great travel blog & accompanying photography =)

That is a really cool old tower, how far was the coast of England from there that you thought you could see? Did you try using binoculars or the zoom lens on your camera? I would be curious to know the distance.
Looks like some neat country side to explore.

Its around 30 miles to the coast, I thought I could see the sea as it was a clear day. I don't own any binoculars these days though.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bold-venture-park-and-darwen-tower


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44