Sjennon sees the World #1 - Just landed in Helsinki, Finland [Waiting 8 hours for my flight to Bangkok]

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This morning, I waved, kissed and hugged my family goodbye as today was the day where I got to take the first steps for my worldtrip.

It was amazing to see all those people who showed up to see me off. Share the love and just take a beautiful look at these wonderful human beings!

No, not the two grey ladies in the front. Effin' photobombers..

Thank you's and I love you's

I would love to thank everybody who contributed to all my gear and stuff - you know who you all are and I love you. Also, a special thanks for my mom who got up early this morning to make me her infamous love sandwiches.

And ofcourse, I can't forget all the Steemians who have been supporting me throughout. I did a big shoutout in my recent post where I gained 1500 followers (and since then I also went 100 followers up!), but without Steemit and my beautiful, loyal followers, my worldtrip also wouldn't be possible. THANK YOU!

Eight hours of waiting, what now?

I briefly walked through the airport, which is absolutely massive. They also have funky portals to a different section where you have to scan your passport and have a picture taken (fancy!). A billion tiny restaurants, kiosks and places to grab some food. Pretty sure there are a lot of places to browse where I can entertain myself - so I am happy the transfer is in Helsinki and not a mini airport like Ibiza.

Why not go outside and explore the city, you say? Because it's minus something degrees outside with snow and I am packed and dressed for 30 degrees. So errr.. A bit cold!

Right now, I found myself in some kind of power booth where they have sockets and usb to get charged up because obviously I somewhat drained my battery during my flight from Amsterdam to Helsinki. If I get bored of this, I know what's next: food!

Did you know there's a one hour time difference? I did not. Hence I was surprised the flight was two hours instead of three.

In total this trip takes me at least 24 hours and some. The biggest gaps are the eight hour layover as I am waiting for my flight to Bangkok, and that flight itself which should take about nine. So, yep, that's a lot of waiting.

The flightplan goes as follows:

  • Amsterdam - Helsinki
  • Helsinki - Bangkok
  • Bangkok - Chiang Mai

SO BRING IT ON, STEEMIT! HELP ME PASS THE TIME :D

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

The world outside is wonderful.

good post friends ,,, I love it. oh yes, if there is time, please visit my blog once friend ya.

also good travel job.
thank you so much.
best of luck!

extraordinary friend, travel amazing, success always friend...
Upvote and resteem

Have a safe flight! And welcome to Thailand in advance whenever you land haha 😉

Thank you! Will be in about 16 hours xd

This is real now ! what do you plan to do in Chiang Mai

Enjoy the food! Just roam around, get my last vaccinations, visit some temples and then off to the jungle!

Cool , have fun ! Looking forward to see more from here !

Thanks, mate! Stay tuned :D

your trip is amazing and you are lucky, but unfortunately it is not there to me

What's the purpose for this trip? I guess I will have to go back to some of your previous posts... maybe you have already told the story! I'm pretty new here and will also be writing mostly about travel... I'm currently in one of my favourite places in the world - Mexico! Anyways, I'll follow you so I can keep up with your story!

Basically just exploring the world, seeing things and growing as a person :D

Sure! Feel free to check out my older posts which you can find under Preparing my Worldtrip or Prepping my Worldtrip.

Ooh, I have never been to Mexico but South America always had me curious!

I keep coming back to Mexico... even though I know there are so many other amazing places in the world to see. I just found out that the next Steemfest is in Lisbon Portugal and I'm dying to go to Portugal! I think it'll be my first overseas destination!

Mexico sounds like a wonderful place then!

And don't worry - there's all the time in the world still!

I don't think the next Steemfest will be in Lisbon, Portugal too, as Steemfest took place there in 2017. Maybe New York? Check out this post from @roelandp!

Ah! I didn't realize the website hadn't been updated from the past Steemfest! I think I found a comment on that post from @roelandp that I interpreted like it probably won't be New York. I really hope it's out of N. America - My vote is Medellin Colombia!

Nothing has been announced yet, so it will be a surprise as always but I am sure it will be glamorous as the previous ones. :D

You got this sis !

Whoop whoop!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85