Amateur Adventures #46: Exploring Rome Part 1 - The ColosseumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Colo 1 cover.jpg

Hi my Steemian friends,

Today we are continuing our adventures in Italy. I hope you enjoy!


Header-large.png


“As long as the Colosseum stands, Rome shall stand; when the Colosseum falls, Rome shall fall; and when Rome falls, the world will end.” Bede 7th Century AD

Rome - The Eternal City.

In a city full of iconic monuments - none captures the imagination as much as the Colosseum. Since the middle ages it has been regarded as the iconic symbol of Rome.

This was a place I'd heard about so many times, during my ancient history studies in school. A place I thought I'd only ever see pictures of. Standing outside near the Arch of Constantine, I couldn't help but feel the brush of the ghosts of times past - like faint echos all around me.

Colo 2 ghosts.jpg
The Arch of Constantine - outside the Colosseum

To visit is to take a step back into history.

Origins of the Colosseum

The Colosseum - also known as the Flavian Ampitheatre began construction in Ad 72, taking 8 years to complete. Situated just east of the Forum, it is estimated to have held between 50 000 and 80,000 spectators - making it the largest ampitheatre of the ancient world.

Colo 6 wm.jpg
Looking towards Palatine Hill from the Colosseum

Built of concrete and sand it has managed to survive a number of earth quakes, almost two thirds of the original structure has been destroyed.

Entry in to the Colosseum was free, however people were seated in order of social ranking, and more than likely packed in like sardines. The lower your social standing - they higher you were seated.


Colo 4 wm.jpg
A depcition of what the Colosseum would have been like

Awnings could be unfurled on the top story protecting the audience from the sun as they watched shows such as gladiatorial combat, fights with wild animals and reenactments of naval battles (they even flooded the arena).

During the inauguration games which lasted 100 days almost 5000 wild animals were slaughtered. Rhinos, crocodiles, bears, elephants, lions, tigers and giraffes were all victims of the animal hunts that took place in the Colosseum.


Colo 5 wm.jpg
The view of the underground passageways - once covered by a wooden floor

Standing inside the amphitheater you can see the passageways and chambers which lay under the wooden floor of the arena. It's easy to imagine what it might have been like in roman times. The smell, the sounds, blood on the sand covered floors (to soak it up).

You can easily spend a couple of hours, looking through the upper structure, that has been turned into partially into a museum, and there are a few tips of making the most of your visit

Colo 3 wm.jpg
A number of artifacts can be viewed as you walk around the Colosseum

Tips for visiting

This is possibly the biggest tourist attraction in Rome so avoid the peak tmes of 11am to 3pm.

The entry queue can be long so either join a tour or buy a Roma Pass which gives you entry to a number of sites including Palatine Hill and the Forum plus lets you skip the line. You also get free public transport with the pass. We found this to be the best value.

If you are not joining a tour (we didn't) get the audio guide so you can do your own tour (we did) You can pause and spend as much time at each point as you like rather than being hurried on in a big group.


Colo 1 wm.jpg
The Colosseum

I hope you enjoyed this look at one of the most iconic landmarks in the world. Stay tuned next time when I explore more of Rome - the Eternal City.

Shelly logo black.png


You can find this, and other exciting adventures from some great travelling Steemians at Steemit Worldmap

!steemitworldmap 41.8902102 lat 12.4900422 long Exploring the Colosseum - D3SCR

Source:

  1. Photos are the work of the author
  2. This is original Content and may at some future point also be found at my Travel Blog The Amateur Adventurer
  3. You can check out some of my other posts here:

If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Sort:  

Awesome post, I really enjoyed it. I hope you appreciate the vote!

thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed it. I appreciate all my votes .. so thank you for voting

I liked Rome. It's a cool city. I also stayed in the shittiest hostel not far from the main train station, but it was super fun. And I remember buying wine for about $2 at the supermarket.

Yeah i couldn't get over how cheap the wine was but still very drinkable :) love italian wines now

woo :) nice..

Thank you!

It looks so good!!:) I hope you can enjoy your travel:) and I will post for traveller who want to visit Korea, so if you are interested in, come to my blog and follow me please!

Great pictures...only problem is: now I want to go there! I look forward to seeing more of your posts in my feed soon!

Thanks - Glad you enjoyed it! It is worth going for sure :)

Another great post on travel digest. We visited years ago when my daughter, then 14 I think, was studying Greek and Roman history. She and my wife claimed to hear screams - of the crowds or the 'entertainment' I'm not certain. I on the other hand suggested, unwisely, that it was an employee concealed somewhere with a very large sound system playing screams on a loop! They still remember the screams in the Colosseum...

Thanks,

You never know what ghosts might be lurking lol As long as it left some lasting (but not scarring) memories :)

That was just about the best photoblog post I've seen on Steemit. Well done!

Thanks so much!

Exciting city to visit and thanks for a walk down memory lane @shellyduncan

Glad you enjoyed it!

Great and useful post!! I have been five times in Rome it always seems that I miss something!

Every day is a school day I say! always something to learn - that's why I love travelling

Agree with you we never stop to learn during our lives

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48