Amateur Adventures #40: Spending a Perfect Day in Cinque TerresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Cinqe Terre cover.jpg

Hello Steemian Friends.

After reminiscing about our great sailing trip along the Croatian coastline in my last post I started thinking about other coastal trips I've really loved during my travels. The one that came to mind was out perfect day spent in the Cinque Terre in northern Italy

Here are my tips for visiting this stunning part of Italy


Header-large.png


During our stay in Tuscany we decided to do a few day trips. And Scott was keen on testing his driving skills against the locals. Me - not so much but that's a whole other story.

So packing our swimmers, the camera, some snacks and a good pair of walking shoes, we headed north to Cinque Terre. Let me point out here, with the benefit of hindsight. Don't do this as a day trip. It's worth spending at least couple of days there.

Riomaggiore.jpg

Cinque Terre, means five lands -and is named for the five coastal villages in the region of Liguria. As a group they are on the UNESCO World Heritage list. From south to north the towns are Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterosso

Monterosso walkway 2.jpg

Rather than drive between the five towns we decided to park at Riomaggiore early in the morning the ferry all the way up to Monterosso - giving us a coastal view of these beautiful and colourful villages.

Ferry in Cinque Terre.jpg

The plan was to then follow the walking track for part of the way between the villages. A train also runs between each village, which was handy as much of the track was closed due to landslides. The trail between Riomaggiore and Monterosso is the Sentiero Azzuro (Blue Trail) and is five hours total hiking time. I can only hope that at some point the track is restored, as what we did manage to see was spectacular.

Monterosso walkway.jpg

Via dell' Amore (Lover's Lane) was one of the most famous and picturesque part of the walk and runs for about 1km between Riomaggiore and Manarola. About 3 months after our visit a landslide took out a large section of the walk, injuring 4 Australian Tourists and it has been closed since this time. However there are plans to upgrade and reopen the walk, but with Italian red tape and bureaucracy this doesn't look to happen until 2019.

Tunnel on Via D amore.jpg

The Five Villages

Riomaggiore

Riomaggiore.jpg

This beautiful little town is a great place to start your day in Cinque Terre. It has one main street, lined with lovely little cafes and restaurants, that leads down to the harbour where you can catch the ferry to head north to explore the other villages.

Manarola

Manarola.jpg

Another village, built onto the slopes heading right down to the water front. This is where some of the most famous photos of Cinque Terre are taken and tourists and locals alike swim in the small harbour.

Corniglia

Corniglia.jpg

This is the smallest village, built up on the cliffs above the sea and great if you ant to get away from the busier towns that attract the bulk of the tourists.

Vernazza

Vernazza.jpg

Arguable the most beautiful town in Cinque Terre is Vernazza. Like the other towns there is a single main street heading down to the harbour. Along the coastline you can see the remains of the old wall, protecting the town from pirates in years gone by.

Monterosso al Mare

Beach at Monterosso.jpg

The northern most town is the largest in the Cinque Terre and unlike the others driving within the town is permitted, though there are still few cars. It is a flat town competed with the others, has lots of sandy beaches and larger hotels. If you are looking for more of a "resort" town, then this is the one.

Monterosso Waterfront.jpg

Without a doubt Cinque Terre is one of the most famous coastal landscapes in the world with close to 2 and a half million visitors a year.


View of Riomaggiore from the Ferry.jpg

I'm glad we got to go see it, but wish we'd had more time - I really think you need 3 or 4 days to do it justice. Every village has a slightly different feel to it. There are still plenty of walks to do, despite the main coastal walk being mostly closed. We went in early June - just on the shoulder season - not too crowded, and still beautiful warm weather.

Shelly at Monterosso.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this quick look around the Cinque Terre

Until the next adventure

Steem on with love and light!

greenshellysig.gif

You can find this, and other exciting adventures from some great travelling Steemians at Steemit Worldmap

!steemitworldmap 44.1388463 lat 9.7308359 long A Perfect Day in Cinque Terre - D3SCR

Source:

  1. Photos are the work of the author except where credited otherwise
  2. This is original Content and may at some future point also be found at my Travel Blog The Amateur Adventurer
  3. You can check out some of my other posts here:


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Sort:  

My word those were absolutely stunning pictures!!! I have to go there! ..i had no idea? Incredible work Shelly D. I'm very glad I found u :)

Def worth the trip.. I really want to go back one day

I swear you take the best photos and your blog is always such a joy to read - feel like I'm there with you boo, and I often wish I was ❤

Thanks Boo.. I wish I was there with me (again) as well... you knwo waht I mean.. lol miss travelling Glad you liked it.. My photos are a combination of a good camera for dummies, a bit of luck and some improving photoshop skills. Now if my professional photographer sister just gave me some tips we'd be right lol

Great read, and such good photography! Quite amazing how those houses are perched on the edge of those cliffs.

Thanks mate. They have lots of landslides.. so I reckon it would be pretty scary though. But the view would be amazing!

What a beautiful place, I can't believe all the colourful buildings.

The colours over there are simply amazing. The amalfi coast further south is similar as well

Wow. Those are absolutely amazing pictures. The place almost looks fake it is so beautiful and unique. Italy is one of the places my husband and I want to visit although I think he had another place in mind within Italy, so I must show him these pictures as they are just amazing and I feel like i need to see these in person. Thank you so much for sharing and I am glad you enjoyed your trip.

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed the post. Is def worth it.. I wish we had been there at least overnight.

Great blog and love the pics! Will follow. Thanks for sharing your adventures :)

Thanks so glad you enjoyed it!

That's a great post and amazing pics.

thank you!

Beautiful photos and summary of the towns! Cinque Terre looks so enchanting.

Also, you should look into tagging your posts with @steemitworldmap. Read this post to see how. You can edit this post to be included, and you can check out my travel posts as another example.

Thanks for the tip.. I didn't know about the world map.. what a great idea.. Have edited my post to be included

Awesome! Trying to spread the word to other travel peeps.

What an amazingly beautiful area thanks for sharing with us the beautiful photos and interesting info

It is pretty stunning. I'm glad we made it there!

It sure looks it sadly all of Italy I have seen is Rome and the Brindisi area down I the heel of Italy

Wow. What an amazing looking place! 💛

Def one for the bucket list :) When do we get to see your adventures hun?

Once I catch up on team aust posts and motu and doing my tax return, I'll think about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44