Van Nomadism: The Easiest, Most Affordable Path to Freedom

in #travel6 years ago

For those who follow The Vonu Podcast on Facebook or Twitter, you may have noticed in the past few days that EVERYTHING I've shared/discussed was in relation to van nomadism. Here is a short note I posted on Facistbook for our readers there; I thought I would post it here as well for any freedom pioneers who may be following me. Enjoy.

So, I've been diving into the Van Life community via their blogs, some documentaries, interviews with nomads, and also talking with folks in related Facistbook groups.


New to Vonu? Start Here!


I think things have improved since Rayo was around...these people have been so kind and actually helped me overcome two of my last remaining concerns, one of them being affording diabetes supplies without health insurance.

From the documentaries, I can tell that a lot of these people truly ARE vonuans and understand EXACTLY why they are pursuing the lifestyle they choose to live.

Sure, some of them and I would have economic disagreements, but I'd much rather hang out with a peaceful leftist who actually took the steps to achieve their freedom versus a pure-philosophizing anarcho-capitalist. Hands down.

So, what's stopping me from being a van nomad tomorrow?

  • I need to have some passive income streams setup before I hit the road. I want to make $1,000/month from these and my non-passive income streams (excluding my 9-5) for peace of mind (if it wasn't for the diabetes, this would be lower).
  • I have to raise the initial capital investment for the van and the conversion, as well as a nest egg for the sure-to-come breakdowns. With crypto-currency investing, intensive saving from my 9-5, and self-control to reach my goals, this shouldn't be difficult.

It's worth noting a few final things:

  1. Most every individual I've studied who is doing what I would do lives on around $500/month, and comfortably.
  2. Even if your end goal is, say, minimalist sailboating, don't wait around for the stars to align to begin your journey as a vonuan. Living in the van will teach you a lot of valuable skills for living aboard a boat and you can get it going much easier, in my opinion. Why wait when freedom is right within reach?
  3. You don't have to do this alone; there are couples who do it, some folks bring their dog or cat, and as I can already tell how tight-knit of a community this is, you likely won't have a problem meeting up with fellow like-minded folks.

Minimalist sailboating is still attractive, but every single day in the statist-servile society is a day that I lose being free. Van nomadism is the answer.


Support my efforts for both Liberty Under Attack and The Vonu Podcast by up-voting, re-steeming, and sharing! You can also directly financially contribute by visiting http://www.libertyunderattack.com/support-us. I appreciate it all! Thank you.


Shane is the founder of Liberty Under Attack and host of LUA Radio, a once-weekly podcast released every Sunday; he also does The Vonu Podcast, which is released every Tuesday. He is a free market anarchist committed to providing solutions to his listeners and readers, so that they can create the freedom they desire in their own lives, RIGHT NOW, despite the State.

Sort:  

I like it!
I travel on my little sailboat now, but some day I'd like to explore in a small van or car.
There is alot of similarities.

That's extremely exciting too! The van nomadism is a step towards the sailing for me. I'm 25 -- as long as I'm free, I don't mind taking my time and enjoying the scenery. There really are a lot of similarities. Thanks for stopping by, it was a pleasure making your acquaintance!

Nice to meet you to.
Looking forward to more of your posts.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Hey! I'm B² and you have been chosen by my automated assistant (B²Bot) to receive my announcement about a new challenge I'm hosting!
I just introduced "FIVE WORD STORIES" challenge in my Introduction post. You can read about the challenge HERE and participate by submitting your story in the comments section of the challenge entries which you can find HERE. You will have the chance to win SBD in this challenge.

I'd be happy to see you around my friend!
NOTE: Your participation is through commenting on the challenge photos I post, not posting photos
Happy Steeming!
5WS_icon copy.png

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60