Travelers Honeymoon ~ episode 09 ~ Hallucinations From Beyond...

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A Dark Visit From an Elf...


Welcome to another episode of Jessi and Greg's Travelers Honeymoon, we got married once in the desert and once again by the sea. These are the stories of our Eight Months Honeymoon. What better test of compatibility is there than traveling on a shoestring with your partner....India can really make the best and the worst come out of you... sometimes it's Heaven and sometimes it's Hell!

steem line.png

We were approaching our last nights on Havelock and everyone wanted one last tuna fish dinner (the best on the island of course. Big thanks to Andres our friend the Chef from Argentina!). I got ready, than went to lay down for a few minutes... paradise wears on you, sometimes a nap is in order you know! As I laid down, I started feeling very tired and weak. About half an hour later, there came the hot and cold flashes, I knew what was coming…

DSC07851.JPG

DSC07854.JPG

I was going to be on a roller-coaster of Hell with this one, I could feel it!

I did not make it to the restaurant that evening, I was too weak and wanted to stay close to a bathroom. I was fine while Jess went to dinner, but as the night went on… WOW, the force was strong with this one! Never had I felt so strange, so hot and freezing at the same time. It was getting worse by the time Jess came back, the beautiful wife that she is helped me to the bathroom. I was too weak to walk the 50 ft alone. She even caught me as I was blacking out, standing there in front of the toilet at some point, she got me just in time, everything was going black and I was going down hard!!!

DSC07860.JPG

DSC07859.JPG

Back in bed I was in for the ride of my life. Half asleep, half awake, I don’t know if I was dreaming or hallucinating. An elf-like creature came to me several times, to convince me that I should finish my fever in Auroville (The utopian experimental community founded in 1968 by the spiritual leader Mirra Alfassa in southern India)! This little bugger was so insistent but I was able to mostly ignored him until he left, but he kept coming back under a different disguise to lure me back to Auroville with him, over and over again.


Of course as you travel, timing for these stomach bugs, is impeccable. We had a pretty long journey ahead of us over the course of two days. Our visa on the Andaman Islands was running out and we had booked a flight back to the mainland. In the morning, my fever was still very high (though I wasn’t hallucinating anymore and my little elf friend had gone, to someone else I suppose) and our first boat was at 3pm.

The night weakened me so much I couldn't pack, we got a late check out and Jess did all the packing while I had rice for breakfast. My day was spent mostly trying to recuperate as much as I could in a hammock on the beach. I tried to drink a bottle of electrolytes another Israeli friend, Amid, had given me and it made me feel better. Thanks Amid!

IMG_0687.JPG

The worst was over but I was still sick. After a good long rest, keeping an eye on Paradise from a hammock, our rickshaw had come to take us away. The ride was a bit shaky but we made it without any surprises. Our boat to Port Blaire was alright too, we stayed with our friends who were also leaving, on the top deck. We had assigned seats down below in a cramped room with hard wooden seats we both found pretty uncomfortable. The open deck was breezy and I found myself a spot where I could lay down! Fortunately the boat ride wasn't very rocky and we made to dry land, again without surprises!

IMG_0694.JPG

IMG_0699.JPGHere I am looking pretty run down... Thanks for that shot Jess!

IMG_0701.JPGCan you tell which one has just gone to Hell and back?

DSC07887.JPG

DSC07886.JPG

IMG_0704.JPGWhat a relief it was to have space somewhere to lay down!

steem line.png

I was still feeling a bit nauseous and feverish and we had one more rickshaw to the hotel. Being weak and haggling for a decent price is no fun.

Yes! Finally in bed again...

So I had more fever that night, nothing really crazy, no hallucinations, no elven creatures, it was just a little something that kept me warm. The next morning, a couple of our friends weren't feeling so fresh, More had a fever and Bar was starting to look real pale... We all had planes to take that day, but they were just starting their journey onto this mad roller-coaster of a fever and they had a lay-over in Chennai to get to Delhi. Holy crap, hats off, they really needed to be Rock Stars for that journey!

I woke up early and hungry (what a good sign), so I ate the food Jessica had brought me; Lemon Rice again! I was feeling good, almost normal...a bit fragile but I was good!

It was very hard, physically and emotionally, I was drained but felt my energy coming back in!

Apparently the color in my face had come back from the pale green with pink and blue hues (partial residue from Holi Festival). People were smiling again and I didn't get these looks of "don't get to close, he probably has the plague" anymore.

IMG_0708.JPG

We nearly missed our plane. When we tripled check, we had just a little over an hour to get to the airport! Just in time, we could say goodbye to Hadess, More and Bar and went off wishing them good luck, good travels and a great big get better fast and avoid talking to the elves!

Thanks again for reading our adventures..

.


Previous Episodes:


Next Week

IMG_0718 (2).JPGWhere the three seas meet

steem line.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @MountainJewel
It's not a question of the earth's survival, she is strong AF, but of our own!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

You just planted 0.59 tree(s)!


Thanks to @senorcoconut

We have planted already 3986.88 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20726.81
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

interesting read ... 8 months of travel sounds exciting man

Oh yea it sure was interesting!!! Mostly really fun ans a learning experience!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 65 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=senorcoconut
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelers-honeymoon-episode-09-hallucinations-from-beyond


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41