No Habrá Revolución Sin Canción (There Will Be No Revolution Without Songs): We're Going to Homestead!!!

I Dream of living off the land, living free to do what I want to do, grow my own food and have space to create art, however big I need it to be.

NMLEX Homestead 2.jpg


The story that brought me to homesteading:

In 2008 I took a trip to Chile with 3 friends and embarked on a journey to create a documentary about the revolutionary music of Latin America. Equipped with a camera, home made lights, a DiY crane, a good mike and a van we made "No Habrá Revolución Sin Canción".

Here's the trailer:

It is definitely one of my most cherished adventures. We spent six months going up and down Chile sometimes living in an apartment in Santiago and sometimes living a little converted van (we had beds and a kitchen...what else did you need? It was perfect). What an amazing and beautiful country!

As we interviewed musicians, professors, artists, young people and old people a funny idea started growing inside of me. In the 70's the Chilean people suffered extremely, at first there was Salvador Allende who won the presidency because several musicians translated his agenda into music. The people got up and rallied, and out of poverty came the majority of votes Allende needed to win.

Then shortly after, there was coup d'état, Augusto Pinochet took over as dictators do and started abolishing everything cultural. All the activities we humans can do to open up the mind suddenly became against the law. The only music musicians were allowed to play was classical music, and with classical instruments! Andean musical instruments were destroyed on site.

No theater, no circus, no artists, no troubadours!

This funny idea I was talking about earlier is one of wanting to live free and completely surrounding myself with artists. I was able to pin point where the idea was born a long time ago, and it is finally taking shape into this reality. I am excited but I am scared, as it is a new chapter in the book of my life...


Back in Chile, hanging out, sometime for days, with people of drastically different social classes, I noticed that they all had something in common. They had a hole in their life, from the lack of culture that had been prohibited for nearly 10 years through the dictatorship.

Wherever we went, we would find the local Cultural Center to meet with potential players for the film. It seemed as though Chile was waking up in a really big way. These centers were popping up out the ground like mushrooms... they weren't so many of them but their was a buz about it and people were excited to open up their own or participate in their local Casa Cultural.

I wanted to build a Cultural Center on Wheels

La Caravana Del Pueblo

The People's Caravan, a place that moves like an old time circus or a traveling carnival. We would be a group of artists, musicians and teachers, entertaining to showcase that living free is possible for any willing soul. I wanted us to teach, living off the grid with very little money, herbal medicine, basics to start homesteading, philosophy, and body (Thai Chi to Lucid Dreaming to Capoeira), the list goes on with a stage for music and theater...

And there's where the idea that is now a Multi Family Homestead with an emphasis on Art and Fabrication, was born. I have said before in different publications that dreams and ideas or visions can morph over time and they should be free to evolve, otherwise I believe you end up boxing yourself in and never truly be happy...

After a while I did nothing with this idea and even forgot about it a little. I built a blog but was not very successful at keeping it up to date or promoting it. Eventually I mostly gave up on the idea until a friend took my on a journey into the world of ayahuasca. The next day I decided the time had come for the People's Caravan to make it's appearance again. That next summer we were on the road with an old bus that we were going to convert into our living space/metal shop (I know it's a weird combo... the shop would be outside!), but after too many complications and not being able to insure the vehicle, we gave up and walked back into the jaws of Babylon.

I felt ashamed for not having tried harder.

My shame really became the pivoting point for the People's Caravan. We decided we needed a property to be our homebase to practice all that we wanted to preach. While searching for land, I found the beautiful world of Homesteaders and I am hooked!!! The idea has turned to a less traveled life style but I assure you the Casa Cultural we wanted to build originally is the same.

This June we are moving out of the city and will be living full time on a property we acquired last April. We can finally get our hands dirty, learn from others who have experience living off the land, and we can also make all the mistakes we want to learn all we can!!!!


PS: Thank you @Jackdub you really inspired me today to write this post...I had been feeling a bit down lately thinkiing about everything we haven't prepped for, thanks for the water advice from your Off-Grid: Our First 8 Months of Off-Grid Living part 1 - The Summer Months

steem line.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @MountainJewel
It's not a question of the earth's survival, she is strong AF, but of our own!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

You just planted 0.61 tree(s)!


Thanks to @senorcoconut

We have planted already 4026.95 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20720.35
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You're welcome and thank you for the vote!!! This initiative is amazing, I just found out about it.

Thank you for replanting the planet with trees!

Victor Jara un gran cantautor revolucionario chileno fue uno de los grandes, lastima la forma que lo mataron amigo, buen post¡¡¡

Gracias un monton, @franzo. Nos contaron dos personas quien estaban en el ultimo concierto de Victor Jara... Mucho, mucho pena de escuchar la jente que vivio todo eso. Desculpa me, no escrivo mui bien en espanol...

tranquilo te entiendo perfectamente amigo, saludos¡¡¡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52