Travelers Honeymoon ~ episode 07 ~ Delhi Belly in Port Blair...

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

So Grateful For Running Water And Clean Toilets...

Animal Feed.jpg

I thought this photo would be funny for this episode, and you will see why later


Welcome to another episode of Jessi and Greg's Travelers Honeymoon, we got married once in the desert and once again by the sea. These are the stories of our Eight Months Honeymoon. What better test of compatibility is there than traveling on a shoestring with your partner....India can really make the best and the worst come out of you... sometimes it's Heaven and sometimes it's Hell!

steem line.png

Port Blaire the big city of the Andaman Islands, once here we went straight to the little Guest-House right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle, we had stayed in before! No waiting around for taxis and rickshaws to lead us into the hands of their various employers...

No thank you, we have baksheesh but it is for those who actually deserve it, sorry!

Traveler Tip: Keep calm and don't take it personally when everyone wants to help you find a hotel.

We took our time settling into Azad Lodge, which by the way was right in the center of it all, clean, cheap and very friendly. For dinner, we went to our favorite Bengali restaurant near the Gandhi statue. This place was not much to talk about on the aesthetics side of things and I couldn't tell you the name of it, but I'm pretty sure that if you took me to Port Blaire I would remember where it was... Come to think of it, this could even be the best Indian food I've ever had!

While eating dinner that evening, I felt something was off with my body. I wasn't feeling right and started to have hot flashes, so we ended our dinner early and hurried back to the hotel. I must of caught some nasty bug at lunch... That night was a rough one, I tossed and turned all night and had to go to the bathroom several times. I woke up very early the next morning with a bad fever and had to stay in bed all day, I had no energy, I was drained and the nausea was kicking my ass...

Never had I been so grateful for a clean bathroom to lay around in so I could purge everything I had in me!

Sorry for the graphics, no worries I will spare you any photos... Jessica had made plans to see our new friend Jen, who we had met on Niel Island. She was staying at a fancy hotel with a swimming pool. The air was hot and sticky in Port Blair, so you can imagine how luxurious it seemed to relax on a lounge chair by a cool swimming pool, sipping on cocktails! On top of it we are used to going cheap when we travel.

My lovely wife wanted to stay and take care of me, but since I wasn't going to do very much but lay around in bed in our cool concrete room there was no sense both of us should suffer. So I rested a few hours and woke up to Jess giving me lemon rice which seems to be the go to meal for aching bellies around here. I started some antibiotics I had from the U.S. and sort of stayed in bed for the next two days.

By the time I was feeling better, Jen had gone back to Canada and we went to the jetty to find a boat back to Niel island for the Holi Festival which is an ancient Hindu ritual and play of colours and another ritual that involves men walking on fire, pulling carriages with meat hook pierced through their backs with arrows pushed through their cheeks!

IMG_0603.JPG

IMG_0604 (2).JPG

IMG_0605.JPG

Unfortunately all boats for Niel island were full and I really didn't want to spend any more time in Port Blair so we got tickets for Havelock again.

We were leaving the next day so we walked a round a little while, I was happy to be out and about again!

IMG_0633 (2).JPG

IMG_0634 (2).JPG

IMG_0636 (2).JPG

IMG_0637 (2).JPG

IMG_0638.JPG

IMG_0639.JPG

We also went through the Zonal Anthropological Museum. This is a good place to get a glimpse of life on some of the island we are not allowed in as tourists... they say it's for our own safety, on one of the island Cannibalism is practiced!!!!

IMG_0618.JPGThis rice de-husking tool is something you can see across Asia, we have used one in Thailand and it works wonders

IMG_0620.JPG

IMG_0626.JPG

IMG_0628.JPG

Just amazing to see some of the people living on these islands clearly don't originate from the Asian continent!

Until next time!


Previous Episodes:


Next Week

IMG_0655.JPGCelebrating Color!

steem line.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my #HumansOfSteemit entry HERE.

~ QUOTE OF THE MONTH (@Olawalium) ~
I want love to be the trend and laziness to be a thing of the past.

~~~

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are always welcome! Don't forget...#DreamsComeTrue!!!

Sort:  

Ah, MAN! Getting sick while traveling... We've all been there. I've been there at the same time with my loved one. It's a great test of tolerance. Who can use the toilet first? And no time to let it air before the next one needs it! :')

That's all I'm going to say about it, I really hate toilet talk :')

Thanks for the mental image!!!! Lol no time to let it air out, oooh that is a test of tolerance too!!!

Sorry! I can't believe I've put this comment on a blockchain! Forever embedded in the digital world!

Lol and everyone can see who wrote that!

When you come to India next time, do remember to ping me, I'll take care of everything you won't ever get sick here 😉😜
Also in couple of days the festival of Holi is about to start :)

Excellent Shivam this is excellent news! I will for sure ping you. You know my very first time in India was I don't know maybe 20 years ago. I staid for 6 months and did not get sick once! funny.

I know it's coming up and I find it so funny that my writing coincides with Holi...it's crazy! My first Holi was in Varanasi and that was also really really amazing

Oh that lemon rice is a cure for sure, and even though I live in India, I haven't visited port Blaire or Andaman islands 🤣
But you're pictures took me on a trip, thanks for sharing your experience

Thank you for that, it makes me happy that you liked it and felt like you went on a trip.

It's very true about that lemon rice it works wonders!!!

Very interesting to say the least. Post caught my eye because - I hate to admit this - we will be there just for a day off a cruise (good meals, aircon, hopefully no bugs...). When they take us to the highlights I will be remembering your adventure - oh that I were young again. Following. Safe travels.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful reply @brightongreg (greg's my name too). Well enjoy your stay. When you get off the boat all you have to remember when it comes to "bugs" is don't eat anything that could have been washed with tap water (lettuce, tomatoes, ice cubes...).

Where will is your cruise taking you besides Port Blair?

Thanks for the follow, following you too Traveller!

Singapore to Cape Town, with lots of stops in between. We are old and in bucket list asset distribution mode - we told our kids we want to SKI again - SKI stands for Spend Kids' Inheritance - they are happy with that lol! Probably our last big trip. Hopefully we can make it work. Cheers!

What a fantastic way to honeymoon.

Holi is a fun holiday to be in India for. I Love the pic of the two of you at the end.

Makes me miss India. These islands you speak of have me brushing up on my Geography.

lol, these islands are super close to Thailand actually, you'll see on the map...
Thank you for taking the time to read it @borrowedearth. This was my second time in India and again there were times when I hated it and times when I loved it more than anywhere else on this earth!!!!

Definitely a challenging place to travel (mentally)

Dude Im sorry you got sick man, but the travel stories are really good apart from this! And....(what did you expect going to india hehehheh)

Thank you @karinxxl there is another belly story coming up and that one involved a massive hallucination caused by the strongest fever I've ever experienced...

It's more of a travel log really I guess versus a guide like I see a lot of. But that is how I write when I'm on the road!

I like that kind of style. More experience based versus 'where to go'

Im curious about the hallucinations story dude! That was one hell of a trip there! Well atleast you know you married the right one if she is taking good care of you hehe

Yea she is for sure the right one! Shortly afterbwe met I asked her if she wanted to go to Thailand with me... she did and she passed the 3 or 4 months "travel test" with flying colors.
We've been together now for almost 10 years!!!

Im gonna say it again

AWWWWWW :)

Im going to blush now....

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=senorcoconut
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelers-honeymoon-episode-07-delhi-belly-in-port-blair


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Interesting place for honeymoon. Did you know that all toilets were clean before you went?

Haha yes yes you're right.... I never thought of it that way but it's true

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

What... Yes, thank you @steemitworldmap!!!

Wow! Cannibalism is still practiced? Like currently? WOW! I had no idea!!

Lol maybe maybe...or it is their way of keeping tourists out of there!!!

nice post! love the pictures and the time you put in, keep up the hard work. looking forward to the next one

Thank you @lovenews, yea these posts still take me for ever to put together...but I am learning loads about computers and editing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44