SeanyTravels (Finland) #11 Planning a Day Trip to Estonia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I should be heading off to Estonia for a day trip next weekend!

It seems that unless you book pretty far in advance, everything seems to be about the same above-average price.

To be able to get to Estonia from where I am now, I first have to travel from Mikkeli to Helsinki.
In my previous trips that I have written about, you would have seen that I traveled to Helsinki via Train. This time I am trying something different! I will be taking the bus there!

I have heard good things about the bus, that it is more affordable, more comfortable (?) and the duration is roughly the same as well. So barring any time delays with stops in between, I should be able to reach Helsinki in 3 hours from Mikkeli.

I plan to stay 2-3 nights in the capital, and one of the days will be dedicated to about 6-7 hours in Tallinn, Estonia!

So, how do I plan to reach Tallinn?

It will be by.... Ferry!

across the waters
Capture.PNG

Back in Singapore, the last time I took a ferry was to Batam, and before that, it was to an Island for Army training (mandatory conscription in Singapore), so I do not really have alot of experience with ferries. This should be fun!
However, since I am booking rather late, it seems that I am getting the standard price of about 54 euros for 2 persons.

I have still yet to search what is there to do in Tallinn, but I do not have alot of time there actually, so I need to find out what is near to the Ferry terminal so that I could make full use of my time there.

I believe that things are also getting a little more expensive here, as it is quite close to Mayday. It is a public holiday, and I heard that there might be some festivities going on, but I am still not sure about this yet... I do not think I will be staying in the capital until that day, and I hope to get back before peak period!

Other than this being planned, I do have another issue to settle here.

What is it about...?
I think I will briefly write about it tomorrow! :D

Check out the previous post in this Series!
SeanyTravels (Finland) #10 Setting off! 2 degrees C, it's hot today!

DQmQM7UHDZ8pQ6ZS7k1fRiyocziTHD6D3kDDJ145mCSCTTE.jpg



Thanks for Subscribing!.png


For my introduction post please check here!
Where else have I travelled to?
Check Seanytan's SteemitWorldMap!

Sort:  

Have a safe trip!

thanks! i hope i will be fun!

I think I lived in Singapore for too long. Going anywhere that requires more than an hour and a half's journey - whether by bus or train is too far for me. I am already tired thinking of the trip. :-)
Anyway... enjoy your travels.

ahahha yea travel really not for everyone. honestly my fav place to travel is still Japan, i wouldnt even label it as travel, its just enjoying~ in sg i always travel from jurong to simei, so the 1 hour journey is normal for me alr ><

Hello seanytan!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=seanytan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=seanytravels-finland-11-planning-a-day-trip-to-estonia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seanytan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

your one post is more than the entirety of my account value.. haha

@leetahsar aiyo, you should see the pros here, they earn my entire account in 1 post hahaha.
anw, sorry haven't seen you around the teamsg posts!! welcome! have you joined the discord also?

The last time I took a ferry was to Sentosa before they closed down. Haha! Upvoted!

ahahha eh now no more ferry to sentosa already ah? is it because too near haha

Tallinn has two ""L""s in it! ;)
The Old Town is quite near the port so you could have a quick walk over there! Maybe even stop at the pancake restaraunt Kompressor (Rataskaevu street in the Old Town if I remember correctly) if you're lucky enough to visit it when it's not full. There are also some awesome sculptures called "Black monks" near Toompea in the Old Town, don't hesitate to ask people about them if you can't find 'em.

ohmy oops! thank you for letting me know. Edited!
i will take note of these place and check em out!
thank you so much for recommending!

A fairy tale quaint town!

A tips for you, please arrive at the port terminal 30minutes early for boarding. Otherwise you'll be like me, missed the ferry as the gate closed sharp 10minutes before departure. haha

omg yes! One of my friends here said that she thought sure okay, reach on time, but then when she got there the ferry gate close already! So she also reminded me to get there 30 minutes earlier ahaha. Thanks for the headsup! I must remember this..

Yea once you missed the ferry the ticket's burned unless you bought a changeable ticket time which is a cost damage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47