Taxi trip in Mauritius; Waterfall & 7 color sand!!

in #travel6 years ago

Taxi trip in Mauritius; Waterfall & 7 color sand!!

As you know if you read my previous two posts

Taxi trip to various destinations in Mauritius and
Taxi trip to Ganga Talao statues and temples

my wife and I were gallivanting in the South of Mauritius in a taxi. Our next stop was at the beautiful Chamarel waterfall. This is the highest waterfall in Mauritius and is over 100m high!!
IMG-0099.jpg
After the waterfall we proceeded to our next stop, which was the 7 colored sand, which is an interesting natural phenomena.
IMG-0110-3.jpg
The next two photos shows the colored sand, which is quite interesting!! (I don't know who counted 7 colors, according to me there are quite a few more colors.)
IMG-0129.jpg
IMG-0126.jpg
At the same sight as the 7 colored sand they have these giant Aldabra tortoises!! These tortoises almost became extinct as they were hunted for food.
IMG-0117.jpg
Look at those ancient looking legs and claws!!
IMG-0122.jpg

IMG-0123.jpg
These tortoises were kept in a rather dry and barren enclosure, with only some leaves given to them for food, I think they can at least give them a nicer place to stay!!
IMG-0125.jpg
This photo shows the lush vegetation surrounding the 7 colored sands, it is quite beautiful.
IMG-0134.jpg

IMG-0141.jpg

This taxi trip was quite amazing and we still did not reach the end, there is still more to follow.

I hope you liked my post as much as I enjoyed writing it!!

The photos, were taken with my iPhone, at various places in Mauritius.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

I really like the waterfall and the close up pics for the tortoises. It's really a rare sight!

Yes, this place is amazing.

The trip is remarkable with waterfall and color sand, poor tortoise are barried in small place with low food.

Tranquility stays here🕊

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome Water fall!!

Amazing water falls and oldest tortoises indeed there. Nice captures @rynow.

Wow. What an amazing taxi trip.
I loved it. Thank you for sharing.
You guys saw so many amazing things on this trip. I don't know which one I like the most.
Love the waterfall and the seven colored sand

Yes, we saw a lot on this trip, we really enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85