Road Trip!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I had a few days off, market was tanking so, road trip! A few days away from crypto!

I'm writing this to you from Delta, Utah, one of my favorite places to take a trip. It's kinda in the middle of nowhere for most people, but it's a gem & mineral collector's paradise. You can collect topaz, red beryl(one of the rarest gems on earth), tiffany stone, sunstones, garnets, obsidian, agates, geodes, fossils, and I just found out, bacon opal!! I'll be loading up on the bacon opal on the way home.


I arrived yesterday after about a 9 hour drive. One the way here I stopped to collect sunstones about 25 miles south of Delta. I had never been collecting there before so I made sure to include it on this trip.

Sunstones are a gem variety of feldspar. The best sunstones have a copper inclusion in them giving them a very interesting appearance. I was lucky to find a few of those, as well as some still in the matrix.

Source
Woke up today and spent the day hunting for topaz and red beryl at Topaz mountain. I am exhausted. Not only do you have to swing a sledge hammer and rock hammer all day, but you also have to hike up a mountain to get to the good collecting spots. It was worth it though. I got a ton of topaz as well as some great specimens.

I'm not sure what I will be collecting tomorrow. Probably more topaz, some gannets and obsidian. I'm just so tired I'm not sure I can swing my rock hammer anymore...

I'll leave you with a view from up on the mountain looking out over the desert and a Topaz mountain sunset!. Wish me luck tomorrow! Thanks for reading!

I am part of the @Steemit-jp Japan & @SoCalSteemit communities. Please consider supporting them with delegations and upvotes for unique & interesting content!

Sort:  

Nice trip for you bro 😀

Thanks @zulfan88. It has been great so far. As long as I don't get sunburned, stung by a scorpion or fall down the mountain it will be great!

it's really hot from the picture and the level of the slope is quite tiring to climb, but you look very happy to enjoy it, I'm glad to see it, and I hope you find the rock you are looking for, this is a very pleasant trip @rt395

It is pretty hot here @mrday, but no humidity so I can work and play in it. Humidity is so difficult to work in.

The slope is tiring to climb, but once you get to where you are going and see the topaz crystals in the rocks you get a shot of energy that screams "DIG!".

Hope all is well with you. Coffee time!

it sounds good @rt395, i'm sure you get a big topaz stone this time and it's time to party with @so cal steemit, ha ha ha, i'm glad to hear that.
all in good condition good buddy, and I hope the same thing there. now it's time to fish for me guy.

it sounds good @rt395, i'm sure you get a big topaz stone this time and it's time to party with @so cal steemit, ha ha ha, i'm glad to hear that.
all in good condition good buddy, and I hope the same thing there. now it's time to fish for me guy.

Nice photo.

Thank you @shizuka. I have a ton more, but I was so exhausted last night I had to keep the post short.

I am taking a buch of landscape photos too. I will post them this weekend.

Wow! That's a great gems reward from the trip. I wish I had a mountain here where I can collect such rare gems too. 😆

Very cool Trip :)

I was so long time away . I have really too much privat projects now no really time for steem, but i put you in steemdunk to suport you how much i can :)
Wish you a nice day :)

Thank you @koto-art. I will have an update today. Have to show everyone the amazing specimens I get!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16