Scuba Scribe - Diving Elephant Rock and the Shimmering Night - Part 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

awesome experience!! I never tried scuba diving, even though I live in scuba paradise lol. I'm too scared to breathe through a tube, i guess I feel claustrophobic. I really want to try it some day, because the under water world fascinates me! Great post Raj!

Thanks evecab. Yeah, maybe you should give a freedving course a go. I seem to remember seeing a yoga post from you once. Freediving employs yoga breath techniques and relaxation to empower people to hold there breath for longer. I can only manage about a 50 seconds at best but this is because I'm wildly unhealthy at the moment. Freediving is the most wonderful feeling, quiet and tranquil... well until your mind starts screaming at you for air lol. Really good freedivers get to the point beyond where everyone else would just give in to the physiological need to surface. I have managed it once, to just ignore the bodies urging to surface, and what all the books say is true. Once you get past that point, you have another 30 seconds or more of capacity without breath. Thanks for checking out my post :-)

Yoga wasn't me =) I don't like yoga...it's too slow for me. Although I know it's very good...
Freediving is awesome! That I would love to try actually.

Sorry about that. I have a really bad memory Eve. I don't know who the yoga post was from then but it is duly noted. Definitely give freediving a try, but do a course as it is more complicated than it looks :-)

oh nah.... full refund bitches, i may be hungover...but i aint getting rinsed. haha... glad you got ornery. sounds a great adventure thus far!!

Yes, I got my moneys worth in the end the next part of this trip is where I really got my money's worth. I'm not sure if they were just making it all up at the time to make me pay the 1000 bht for the deep specialty dive ;-)

I can relate. I took my open water, advanced and nitrox in 6 days on Malapascua - Philippines, took a domestic flight to Coron and went wreckdiving.

Was a -35 in the machine room of a Japanese freighter sunk in WW 2 only 1 week after my first dives :-D. Talking about an adrenaline kick :-).

Looking back now when more experienced it was reckless and I wasn't ready in case of an issue but still it was a great memory and a good way to learn diving fast.

Wow @pieter87, that is crazy man. Lol, it's pretty scary to be honest. Just shows that money rules the roost and I'm guessing cause the Philippines is quite poor the dive guides were more inclined to bend the rules, should we say ;-) As you say though, it was a quick learning gradient but I think the fact that there was wreck penetration, at such an early stage of dive training was reckless of the dive operation. Same with me in Thailand tho, there were drift dives involved in this trip that were way above my level at the time.

Yep, the money has a lot more power over there then in EU dive centers. And you can abuse the system, if you have an advanced certificate you are good while they should put more attention to the number and type of dives.

When diving in Indonesia a couple months ago I heard from my (German) buddy who's and instructor on the Philippines that a guy died just that week in the same wreck. Someone hit the dust and sand while paddling and the viability went almost to zero. He panicked and didn't find the exit.

If something like that would happen to me now, it still would be risky and dangerous but at least I got used to diving with very bad viability here in Belgium and I wouldn't panic.
If the same happened when I was in there it would have been a disaster. The dive center only allowed small groups and there was always a dive master in front and behind the group but still....

And indeed that's why I'm relating to your story. Drift dives can be very tricky, done lots of them now with a couple of heavy ones on the Maldives but last December in Egypt on my 99'th dive it went wrong when swimming from the reef to the boat. I missed the boat by 50 meters and in a matter of minutes I drifted into open sea and the zodiac had tome come pick me up. It was a good reality check that every dive needs your full attention and concentration.

Finally finished the concluding part. Lol, only 5 days late. Check it out if you're up for more diving tales @pieter87 :-)

https://steemit.com/travel/@raj808/scuba-scribe-diving-the-similian-islands-concluding-part

Great post bro!!!
Now I want to go to south east asia to do something similar!!! :)
Next month in mexico Im gonna take my girlfriend to get her open water and I'll refresh my diving skills... havent done any diving in about 2 years...

Mexico diving is awesome @lavidaesunviaje. I dived Cozumel my last dive trip about 2 years ago now. It is weighing on me quite heavily that I haven't got out more recently than that. This is why I'm writing these dive posts, it's a way to re-live it all. Thanks for stopping by, I'm glad you enjoyed the post m8 :-)

Reading this has genuinely made me want to try diving when before I never thought to. Belize next year perhaps.

That is really gratifying to hear @hami. A big part of why I write these scuba scribe posts is to inspire people to try diving. Glad to hear it's working ;-) Thanks for checking out this post. Glad you enjoyed it m8

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Excellent tale! I Can only imagine the beauty. I hope to learn to dive this year. I enjoyed your wonderful episode.

Thanks @wandrnrose. You should definitely learn to dive, as soon as possible. Lol, if I got paid on commission from the scuba industry I'd be rich by now ;-) I have just finished the concluding part of this trip if you fancy another dive tale ;-)

https://steemit.com/travel/@raj808/scuba-scribe-diving-the-similian-islands-concluding-part

As much as I can't even swim... You took my mind on a very engaging journey. I am sure I will never dive my entire life (aquaphobia)but this to me is as close as one can get. Great post!

Glad to have taken you on the journey @tezmel. It is part of why I write these diving trip travel posts. I want them to be as close to being there as possible for people who may never dive. Cheers for checking out my post :-)

This is beautiful! I've never been scuba diving... I finally managed to work up to snorkeling in shallow water after NINE months of living on a boat in the Bahamas! I'm fairly terrified of water, but it is SO gorgeous. I love your story and the photos!

wow, take a dive off the steep end did you ever! what a cool journey! i'm glad the angel instructor was there to smooth things out for you. maybe you mentioned it, but how long were you on this boat? reminds me of mountaineering trips where you are literally relying on one another for your life. definitely creates a very strong glue holding everyone together. :D

Yes, I was lucky both to have a good instructor as a buddy & to have a natural affinity/knack for the procedural nature a of scuba.

This liveaboard was a 4 day trip with 3 full days diving and two night dives 🙂 part 2 in this series has a description of one of the most amazing things I've seen diving to date. Small hint, it happened on a night dive.

ok i'm off to read pt 2!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73