My entry for Cross-Culture Challenge by @itchyfeetdonica

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

One of the most amazing Steemians I know, @itchyfeetdonica has been hosting a great challenge called the Cross-Culture Challenge where you are supposed to compare at least two cultures that you have experienced.

I really wanted to contribute to this interesting challenge as I am a huge fan of Donica and her content here on Steemit and since I have already lived in several different countries, I also felt quite qualified for it but unfortunately, I have been too busy lately to come up with some decent, elaborate entry that I would be happy with and that this inspirational challenge would deserve.

However, not miss out on it completely, I decided to prepare this post where I am going to compare some aspects of the cultures of Mexico (where I am currently living) and the Czech Republic (where I come from) through my photos at least. They say a picture is worth a thousand words so hopefully, you will still enjoy it :)

I know it is quite obvious in most cases but to make the comparison really clear, I should add that the left halves of the following images were taken in Mexico and the right ones in the Czech Republic.

FOOD


1.jpg
Tacos X Baked Chicken with Potatoes

2.jpg
Star Fruit X Strawberries

3.jpg
Tostadas X Bramboraky

4.jpg
Coconuts X Hazelnuts

5.jpg
Rambutans X Cherries

6.jpg
Papayas X Blueberries

7.jpg
Habaneros X Red Currant


ARCHITECTURE


8.jpg
Chichen Itza X St. Vitus Cathedral

9.jpg
Traditional Houses in Campeche X Traditional Wine Cellars in Petrov

10.jpg
Campeche Cathedral X Church of Our Lady before Tyn in Prague


SPORT


11.jpg
Fans of Inter Playa del Carmen X Fans of Slezsky FC Opava

12.jpg
Inter Playa del Carmen Football Stadium X Sparta Prague Football Stadium

13.jpg
Outdoor Gym in Campeche X Outdoor Gym in Prague


CHRISTMAS


14.jpg
Christmas Tree in Merida X Christmas Tree in Prague

15.jpg
Advent Candles in Mexico X Advent Candles in Czech Republic

16.jpg
Christmas Decorations in Progreso X Christmas Decorations in Prague


ART


17.jpg
Statue of Mexican Bandit X Statue of Praded

19.jpg
Street Art in Playa del Carmen X John Lennon Wall in Prague

20.jpg
Traditional Porcelain Souvenirs in Mexico X Traditional Porcelain Souvenirs in Czech Republic

18.jpg

Bronze Statue in Playa del Carmen X Bronze Statue in Prague


Thank you so much for hosting this fun challenge Donica, I really enjoyed working on this post (even though it eventually took me more than 3 hours to complete it :D :)



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

That Christmas decoration got me :D It doesn't even look like it in Mexico :)

Great entry! I've seen a few other entries to this contest and I must say that yours is the best by far :)

I was also thinking about doing mine as my husband is Dutch and we live in Switzerland so there is so much to compare but I somehow can't find anything interesting enough that I would consider worth posting.. But I still have one more day..

And I might take yours as an inspiration for me ;)

Enjoy the weekend!

Thank you so much for this nice comment - I haven´t really seen much of the other entries but I thought mine would be one of the shortest :D I knew you live in Switzerland but I didn´t know your husband is Dutch - considering that you are Slovakian, it means you can compare up to 3 different cultures! :)) Go ahead and give it a try ;)

Thanks Petr for your wonderful entry! :) I can see how much time and effort you've put into it despite you're busy recently. Very cool that you compared so many aspects of the 2 cultures!
I find that I know so limited stuff about your country - I've only seen the chicken with potatoes and the last 3 items. There must be lots of hidden gems in the Czech Republic! Would love to explore them in the future.
Have a nice weekend! =)

You are so sweet Donica :) It was a pleasure for me to participate, I just wish I had more time to come up with some solid contribution. But yeah - although the Czech Republic is a small country, is it very rich in history and culture. We have tons of all kinds traditions ranging from funny and interesting to weird and creepy :D I would love to show you around my homeland ;)

WOW! Amazing post bro! I love it! I should do this too, I had no idea this existed.
I love the contrast (and some similarities) between the two cultures. Well done!!

Thanks man! The challenge is still open, I would love to see your entry ;) And I am sure Donica would too :)

Hey Adé, welcome to join this Cross-culture Challenge! You still have Sunday left. I'm a fan of your photography and videos! I'm sure you will enter something great with your skills. And I'm answering "10 Random Questions", will tag you and @phortun too. It's fun! :D

Tak to je megaaa..podobne a zaroven totalne odlisne :) Parada!

Přesně to jsem si říkal taky... Podobné a přitom tak jiné ;)

Zajímavé srovnání. Tíhnu více k pravé straně :-D

Nepřekvapuje mě :D

Amazing! I like nature photos on your post very much.

Thanks Rose.

That is such a cool post!!! Genius to compare with photos! I’m bummed that I missed this challenge and think it’s a great idea!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha thanks! Well I thought doing a photo-comparison would be more effective and less time-consuming than writing but after spending more than three hours on it, writing would have probably been easier :D But I really enjoyed that! It was very good idea from Donica indeed :)

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

It is amazing how cultures that are separated thousands of mile away have so many common elements. I really enjoyed the contrast you made :)

Thanks for sharing, best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 87%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Wow, thank you so much, I feel honored :)

Skvěle zpracováno, to se mi líbí ;)

Děkuji, jsem rád, že si tento článek našel i české čtenáře :)

Není zač, rozhodně zaujal. Občas na nějakém místě v zahraničí taky vidím podobná místa jako u nás doma :-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-entry-for-cross-culture-challenge-by-itchyfeetdonica


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13