PAPA TRAVELS – TO BASS PRO SHOPS – SPRINGFIELD, MO - A Photo Journey!!!

in #travel8 years ago

Travelling to a store? What’s the big deal?

Life is exciting and amazing, and travel makes it all the more so. However, driving across the country can be a time-consuming, uncomfortable, and draining experience. Any opportunity to get out of the vehicle and stretch your legs can be a blessing.

I’ve traveled from central Wisconsin to south Texas multiple times before and from Wisconsin to California and back as well. When a trip takes more than a day (24 hours +) of just driving, sometimes a lengthy break can help.

This is where Bass Pro Shops comes in. Since they just bought Cabela’s, I’ll mention that store too, because what they have to offer is similar anyway. As a family, we have stopped at multiple Bass Pro Shops and Cabela’s stores over the years, and here is why.

Basically, these stores are huge, and the Springfield, MO Bass Pro Shops is no exception. They have become more than just a store, and are an entire experience. I’d compare the store to a cross between a store, museum, and zoo. A lot of interesting animals can be observed alive or admired mounted.

Recently, when we were coming home from our trip to Wisconsin, we decided to stop at this store even though it was late and we were only an hour and a half from home. Here are some photos from our time there.

Live alligators are always neat to observe. Where else can you pull over to stretch your legs on a cross country trip and check out some alligators for free? Perhaps in Florida or Louisiana, but this was Missouri.

I'll just share the gifs and pictures and let you enjoy, but there are Bass Pro Shops and Cabela's all over the United States, and people are free to just come in and explore. Notice the amazing decor around the store, all the incredible animals, and the great selection of outdoor gear!


That was just some of what we got to see and experience at the Bass Pro Shops in Springfield, MO. You can see why I consider it to be more than just a store, it's a whole experience!

What is your favorite free spot to stop and enjoy on your trips?

I think that making GIFs with the pictures is a great way share a lot of photos without making the post really long. What do you think?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


proof-of-papa-at-pro-shop



FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


Translation.)

OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow this is a mega post! I love the photos. This is less a shop and more a theme park! I love the little alligators (am I crazy or are they actually cute?)

They had an albino gator there for a while, but I think it got an eye infection and they had to move it out. My wife worked there for a few months about 5 years ago and said that gator used to watch her. lol

I think they are cute too.

Since you don't have to buy anything, it's like the best free theme park around!

I wish we had one here. It reminds me of Florida:)

I LIVE LESS THAN ONE MILE FROM THAT STORE.
You SO shoulda got a hold of me! My kid loves it there!

I grew up two blocks behind there. 😄

Crazy how big SteemIt is in SGF!

Maybe I'll stop in to record that podcast for you!

Thanks for the heads up!

Came to to say I'm looking translating this to Chinese because I think this is a fun trip and interest to share.

I think that Springfield store is Bass Pro's biggest. Cabela's giant show-stopper store is in Sidney, Nebraska and is worth the stop, too. It will be interesting to see how their merger goes. Our local Cabela's folks think it will be a pretty good thing. Whichever one is close, they are all worth a stop!

I agree...

From what I heard, they won't really be changing Cabela's which is good.

I've been to the one in Green Bay, WI and one out in Montana (i think).

Been to a few Bass Pro Shops, but I do think that the Springfield one is the best.

Excellent choice of travel friend, @papa-pepper congratulations
Beautiful photos, to enjoy the days with the family
successes

I agree, it was an excellent time together.

I have been to the Springfield store, too. It truly is an experience to take in. A person could spend a lot of money there on things they really don't need.

Rumor has it the new world record whitetail buck was just killed here in Iowa. I wonder if it will appear at Bass Pro Shop. My father-in-law shot the second-place state record buck in 2002, and Cabela's and Bass Pro made extremely generous offers to buy it, but he declined. Now that buck watches over all of our holiday get-togethers from it's home on the wall.

Yeah, Johnny Morris, who now owns Bass Pro Shops and Cabela's sure buys a lot of neat things, so I'm not surprised about that offer.

In my current line of work, I've worked on some of his projects, and they are amazing.

Did you see the @narrowminded post today?

No, I did not see that post.

Pretty awesome I had no Idea! WOW! And what a great advertising for those guys! You did an awesome job! Steem on! 🎏🐟🎣🐟🎣🐟🎏

Yeah, it's a really sweet store with a lot of amazing things to check out!

The GIF's work really well! Great post, and it certainly is a lot of fun going to the bass pro shop!

Thanks for the feedback!

It is always fun!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31