PAPA TRAVELS- THE OSCEOLA CHEESE COMPANY

in #travel7 years ago

Originally being from Wisconsin, @papa-pepper knows a thing or two about cheese.


In Osceola, MO is the Osceola Cheese Company. All across Wisconsin are some excellent cheese stores and factories, but you can find them elsewhere too, like this one in Missouri. Interestingly enough, this one looks quite similar to one in Wisconsin.

Even from the outside of the building, @papa-pepper knew that we was going to like this place. Inside, my expectations were met and exceeded!

THE SAMPLES


Though I have certainly seen free samples available at cheese factories and stores before, I had never seen it done quite like this. It seems that near every different variety of cheese was a small container full of samples of that variety.

This allows any and every potential buyer a chance to sample that particular variety prior to purchasing. Or… maybe it just allows weary travelers a chance to enjoy a free snack. I do believe that I saw some of this occurring.

A few of the varieties that I especially enjoyed were the Horseradish and Chive Cheddar and the Ghost Pepper Cheddar.

THE VARIETIES


It amazes me how many different flavors and kinds of cheese people can come up with. I certainly do not mind trying new or interesting things, so I’m always down to at least give it a go. I suppose if I had the opportunity to sample all the varieties, I would probably do so.

Personally, I am partial to varieties that contain peppers, and the Osceola Cheese Company certainly had a good selection of those. Here are some images of some of the kinds that I encountered.

Among the types that I tried was the Ghost Pepper cheese. I’ve tried it before as well, but it was certainly tasty!

CLOSER

Despite the fact that a vehicle breaking down was the reason that I was in Osceola, I still had a good time. The Osceola Cheese Company certainly played a part in that.

It was good to see cheese curds once again, and @bluerthangreen picked up a few varieties to take back home. Though this cheese is not produced at the store, they have a wonderful selection. Interestingly enough, the lady told us that the majority of the cheese at the store actually was produced in Wisconsin.

Besides the cheese, there is plenty else available at the store. I was especially impressed by the sample idea and the selection, and I would definitely stop in again.

If you are ever in the area, I’d recommend checking it out.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cheese-store


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

:)

Fun times and delicious cheese!

I don't know if they have Braums where you are, but their cheese is pretty good (natural) They have their own farms and their milk contains no BGO's. Thanks a lot... Now I want Culvers!!!

I used to work at the place in Plover, WI that made all the cheese curds and onion rings for Culver's. Actually ate at the one in Branson on Saturday.

I've never tried the cheese as Braums though. Thanks, I'll check it out.

I love Culver burgers! I'm pretty sure that they're not very good for you though (I call them stroke burgers) There's enough grease in one to lubricate a semi!

Stroke burgers!?!?!? Oh no!!!!!

These look so yummy!!! :D :D

They sure were! Thanks!

Yummy, I love variety of cheeses. I think that stop over was worth it. Thanks for sharing! @papa-pepper

I'd prefer not to be around Papa Pepper when he cuts the Cheese. Even if it is from Wisconsin.

Hey! It smells like peppers...

Ghost pepper cheese? That's right up your ally :D

upvoted
@shayne

It was excellent!

Wish we had this store, sounds like my heaven :)

Maybe I could ship you some one day.

Oh wow I love cheese :)

Wonder how much shipping would cost?

Refrigeration was my concern...

Yeah I was just thinking about that too

I love cheese. But what do Sriracha, Ghost and Scorpion peppers have to do with the imminent zombie apocalypse? Are these possibly anti-zombie weapons?

They should help!

Yes, it is better to buy cheese if it was tried ...

That way you know what you're getting! I agree!

Hmmm, cheese!
But what does Wisconsin have to do with cheese, asked the Dutchman?

In the USA, it's the best we can do!

I was only half being tongue-in-cheek, I didn't know Wisconsin was your cheese state! All pastures and cows, then?

Yes, a lot of that up there. A lot.

I thought it was all Tulips and puddles over there.

Windmills! Wooden shoes! Cows! Pigs! Traffic jams!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.43
ETH 3781.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55