My holiday near Black sea in the South of Ukraine. Enjoy with me a walk on the walls of an ancient fortress! Part 3.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello my friends! I continue my story about my exciting trip around the Black Sea! Start reading in part 1 and part 2. Today I went for a walk near the famous fortress  Akkerman, the city of Belgorod - Dnistrovsky, which stands on the banks of the mouth of the Dniester.

The fortress was built on the remnants of the Greek city of Thira.  As soon as you approach the fortress, you immediately feel the greatness of this place! There were different kingdoms in battle for possession of it!


Desperate tourists love to walk on the walls and make a photo for on memory!

The territory fell under the control of the Moldavian principality. Moldovans called Belgorod - Chetyataya Alba (White City). In the 15th century the city was a real metropolis. There lived 20 thousand inhabitants. Among them were Moldovans, Greeks, Genoese, Armenians, Jews, Tatars. It was the beginning of the city's greatest prosperity.

The foundation of the city was the fortress, which at that time has considerably expanded. Its main elements were completed by the 1440s. In the fortress there were 34 towers. The height of some of them reached 20 meters. From outside the fortress was covered with a deep moat, the walls of which laid stone. They built a fortress of white limestone, the solution of which served eggs, smelted marble, coal and silicon.

The nature of the steppe of Ukraine is an exotic for me!

Belgorod-Dniester fortress is one of the largest medieval fortresses in Ukraine. The perimeter of its walls is 2.5 km, and the total area is over 9 hectares. The thickness of the walls varies from 1.5 to 5 meters, and the height of the walls and towers - from 5 to 15 meters. From the north, the fortress walls close to the Dniester estuary almost intact. On the other three sides the fortress is surrounded by a ditch, whose modern depth reaches 13-14 meters. The interior wall of the moat is several meters higher than the outside.

My husband is excited! He is very fond of visiting ancient places!


On this photo you can see the elements of the defensive ability of this majestic fortress!

 In modern times, it's a exciting place for unforgettable impression  for tourists!

Look in the middle of this fortress and feel the spirit of antiquity in  the post:

Modern interior and attributes of the harem tower of the old fortress.

I will continue the story about my  walk around the medieval fortress next time ... Thank you for your time!


Sort:  

Really good post, photos are great! :)

Thank you for your feedback!

Nice shots...awesome place to spend your holidays...

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

wah your road way is amazing. You look like someone who loves about history. The one who cares about history is the one who cares about his people and his country, this is so beautiful, you are wonderful @olga.maslievich

Thank you! Your comment is very nice to me! I really like to visit ancient places!

What a fascinating place. I'd love to explore it one of these days.

I am glad that you like my trip! Thank you for your feedback!

Very good post @olga.maslievich. . Thankyou for sharing

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

Very good holiday ...in the sea at south of ukraine..good post

Thank you for your feedback!

You are welcome.... If you have more time come to my blog and put your comment..have a nice day

wow, so beautiful fortress!! In these days I visited (again) the fortress in my city, similar to this ^^ I love ancient fortress ^^

I am glad that you like my trip! Thank you @silviabeneforti!

Очень интересно, красочно и познавательно)

Спасибо! Желаю успехов!

Awesome dear friend :)

I am glad that you like my trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62