Exploring Japan - Tadao Ando's Garden of Fine Arts in Kyoto

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

ando2.jpg

I'm a massive architecture fan and have always admired the works of Japanese architect Tadao Ando. There's something about his monolithic concrete buildings that really play with my senses and intrigue me. For many his style might be seen as a little flat and boring, but I think the way in which he uses angles to create shadows and different layers is quite incredible. It's only recently that I've noticed he uses sound as a tool, creating these large open spaces that echo in a spiritual manner.

When in Kyoto I visited the Garden of Fine Arts that's adjacent to the Botanical Garden and was built with the intention of being able to appreciate paintings outdoors. There are eight masterpieces exhibited that have been reproduced by craftsmen on porcelain panels. The size of the artworks was really impressive and it's a nice space to photograph, it was also extremely cheap to visit and peaceful to walk around. The water rushing past your ears and down the walls also adds to the sensation of it being a spiritual place.

I have plenty more Tadao Ando buildings to show off in a new series that I'm making for a book releasing in the summer, so you should see some of them crop up here when I get time to edit them. Let me know what you think of this architecture in the comments section. Do the angles, shapes and shadows also interest you? It would be nice to hear your thoughts and speak to some of my followers. I look forward to discussing it below!

ando4.jpg

ando48.jpg

ando47.jpg

ando6.jpg

ando12.jpg

ando19.jpg

ando20.jpg

ando27.jpg

ando28.jpg

ando30.jpg

ando34.jpg

ando39.jpg

ando41.jpg

ando50.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kyoto Botanical Gardens
Exploring Japan - Yuzuruha Shrine in Kobe
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kosetsu Museum of Art Garden
Exploring Darwin - A Trip to Crocodylus Park
Exploring the UK - Tate Modern Details
Exploring Finland - Walking Around Helsinki


All photos captured by Mark Robinson.

Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

wonder ful place in japan.though the architecture there is always great but this one is even better. really liked it

Glad you like it. Yeah, I agree. The architecture is always great. Thanks for your comment.

Great pictures. Thanks for the tips. The geometry seems indeed very attractive. Definitely a place I would be willing to visit during my next visit to Kyoto. Sounds like a nice way to break the monotony of visiting traditional temples/shrines/gardens.

Definitely. There's some interesting architecture off the beaten track. Kobe/Osaka is home of Tadao Ando so you can find gems nearby in the Kansai area. I guess Naoshima is a little far but it's a pretty nice island to explore :) Good luck on your next visit!

I just looked at some more pictures of Tadao Ando's creations, and I must say that his style is impressive. I especially liked his church of light :)

This type of architecture is quite popular in Japan, isn't it? We have a massive concrete hotel in Sofia that was designed by another Japanese architect - Kisho Kurokawa.

Thanks for sharing this @oen!

Yeah, it's quite popular I think. It's funny how this concrete style has become the style of Japan in recent years. I wonder why. Interesting isn't it. Thanks for your comment :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-30T08:34:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 246.80/200.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 65
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Hi oen,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-japan-tadao-ando-s-garden-of-fine-arts-in-kyoto


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I'm probably a little old-fashioned)) This style of architecture is interesting, but, as I observe from photographs, this style has its drawbacks. He, according to my modest estimate - is short-lived. I see the walls covered with mold. I build my house from natural stone and pay attention to small details. Architects today are trying to come up with something new, but everything good was invented even before they were born. And no one can repeat it today. I do not want to talk about the acropolis, or the pyramids)) Versailles, is not it better to save the paintings in dry rooms, in a gilded framework ..... I understand that the new generation wants progress in everything, but if you look closely, this is a regress, and very strong. Well, I can not fit into my head the black square of Malevich next to the works of Rembrandt, or Raphael ..... so I see it ..... I apologize for the bad English.

Thanks for your opinion. Interesting to see what others have to say about this architecture. The style has its drawbacks but I think this is a public space in the outdoors so it was a creative way of showcasing some art for people to see and enjoy. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90