The Lost Gardens of Heligan: Cornwall, UK

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The mysterious and romantic estates of the prestigious Tremayne family in England included a garden that was genuinely lost until 25 years ago. Don't ask me how 200 acres of land was misplaced in such a small country, but this is how the story goes.

Apparently there was so much overgrowth that no one saw the entrance. I guess this makes sense, I mean we are talking about plants here. Check out the full story in the above link.

We ended up visiting the gardens because Amanda's parents were avid gardeners and we already happened to be in Cornwall at the time. (See my previous post about the Minack Theatre)

092.jpg
Lounging on a tree branch on the garden path

The gardens are essentially on a very long path that twists and turns in a seemingly endless labyrinth. If you are going to go, be prepared for a nice long walk! We actually brought along a wheelchair for my father-in-law which he refused to use, so we all took turns riding in it. I felt a bit like a jackass sitting in it, but it got really annoying carrying it and pushing it around with no one in it.

111.jpg

The best part about the whole thing to me, being someone who really isn't that big on gardens, was the awesome walk through the forest. Basically this whole thing feels like a giant well groomed forest with some really well composed plant-life.

003.jpg
The entrance to the gardens

There are a lot of really gorgeous flowers and plants along the way.

012.jpg

016.jpg

019.jpg

My favorite thing is the insane vines that grow all over everything. Some of the shapes these things make are really cool.

027.jpg

They also grow some food crops. I am not sure what they do with them. I think I remember there being a restaurant where they make food using the garden fruits and veggies, but my memory is not the best. I would definitely check out the Heligan website if you want to learn more about the extras.

032.jpg

035.jpg

042.jpg

049.jpg

052.jpg

070.jpg

I loved this creepy structure that is full of old farm tools. Check me out posing with a saw. I don't know what expression it is that I am trying to go with here.

081.jpg

There is also a lovely pond with lots of ducks swimming around. The wildlife around here don't seem much bothered by the people and they come pretty close to you.

106.jpg

118.jpg

121.jpg

143.jpg

I even learned something while there. Did you know that a Great Tit is precisely 14cm?

182.jpg
who knew?

127.jpg
I almost stepped on this little guy

The following are some more interesting flowers that I photographed. I especially like the unique color combinations on the first one.

139.jpg

156.jpg

160.jpg

161.jpg

Oh, and this may be my favorite thing that I saw along the path. Check out this amazing tree!

147.jpg

That seriously looks like a man to me. It is crazy how nature works.

150.jpg

This next tree was pretty neat as well. Look at the size of it next to Amanda. Granted, she is tiny, but it one fat, gnarly tree.

IMG_6314.jpg

IMG_6339.jpg

Check out the size of those leaves. It feels like being miniaturized.

IMG_6338.jpg

Another cool feature we came across on our walk was this massive hedge maze.

IMG_6340.jpg
Amanda's parents posing in front of the maze

We had a lot of fun walking through the maze trying to get to the structure in the center. Below, we are taking a picture of Amanda's mum trying to get to us. It was pretty funny. Her dad stayed on the outside, but eventually came in to rescue his wife, but that didn't go well.

IMG_6331.jpg

168.jpg
I guess that's one way to make use of an old log!

178.jpg

188.jpg

So it turned out to be a pretty great outing. As I said, it's a long walk and great exercise. If you enjoy the outdoors as I do, this is a really great place to visit. Especially if you aren't great with uneven terrain since it's possible to walk the entire way on a paved path.

If ever in Cornwall, give it a visit!

Sort:  

Hi @nuthman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.480 which ranks you at #15984 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 307 places in the last three days (old rank 16291).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 407 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It's just me and my 424 closest friends here on Steem.

Those flowers are looking awesome and attractive,then the ducks in pond are very cute.
The trees are giving strange and different look. This is all called beauty of nature. You enjoyed a lot in the garden and i enjoyed by reading your visit to garden.
Thanks @nuthman for making my day

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it. It was a long walk, but the scenery was fantastic. I would go again if I were in town.

Wow mate! What a cool place to rest a little bit and CHILL with family! A 200 ACRES GARDEN! Omg! That is a pretty big place to walk around. You and Amanda must have enjoyed the walk together very much right? I like the vibrant colours of the flowers very much and a bit astonished by looking that tree stucked in wall! Did it grow like that way? Awesome! Nature has its own artistic skills right? What are you doing on that wheelchair mate? Lol ! 😂😂 You captured the photos very well mate, I like every single picture of your blog.. The swans, the incredible and unique structure of the trees, the cruits and vegetables, the tool romm! Haha! You look like horror movie character with that rusty saw dear! Hope you and amanda have enjoyed a great outing over there! Stay well mate and keep posting ...
One more thing, I have written a blog on how hf20 update is making it difficult for us, the planktons and newcomers to survive on steemit. I would be very happy if you post your opinion on that. Thank u mate. Keeo it going! Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it was a lot of fun. I look like a crazy killer with the saw, don't I? Haha. It is a very large garden and took a long time to get around, but it was worth the views and the exercise. I would go again!

As for the wheelchair, I mentioned why in the post:

We actually brought along a wheelchair for my father-in-law which he refused to use, so we all took turns riding in it.

Gran paseo y hermosas fotos salieron ;)

Upvoted.

cheers to You.

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 5.84% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

nice! I used postpromoter on this post specifically to raise my SPP points. I think I'll work on getting it up some more.

You got a 6.45% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @nuthman!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thanks, me!

Okay, I got here way late, but I love this article! It really takes me back to when I got to visit this amazing place. 100+ year old rhododendrons, palms, amazing things at every turn. Crazy that it was lost, but there are lots of plants that will just take over - especially in a place that rains as much as England!

I've got pictures of that kind of caterpillar, btw. He was at a park where my kids were playing... I don't know what it is though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70