The Amazing Outdoor Minack Theatre in Porthcurno, Penzance Cornwall UK

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Carved right out of the side of a cliff in Cornwall, the Minack Theatre is an absolute marvel to experience and an even better location to enjoy some amazing shows.

Sadly we came for a visit at a time of year when the location was down for repairs as well as out of season for performances. However, we were still allowed to go out and take several pictures as well as admire the surroundings. The ocean view from the stone bleachers is absolutely gorgeous. Along the coastline are scattered beaches with endless cliffs that have clearly taken a good beating from the waves over the years.

IMG_6012.jpg

Amanda had mentioned this place to me several times over the years but it was kind of hard to picture without actually seeing it. These photos are a few years old from a previous trip to to England to visit her parents. I suppose that I'm writing this post to remind myself that we need to go back and actually watch some shows!

IMG_6044.jpg

On arrival at the theatre location, the first thing that you see is the gates and the Minack house. As you can see, it was very foggy and actually sprinkling when we arrived. I remember being a bit dubious about the whole thing to start with.

IMG_5988.jpg

IMG_5985.jpg

IMG_5989.jpg

There is a great little restaurant with an ocean view where we stopped to eat before going outside. On the upside, while we were eating the fog started to clear up a bit, as well as the rain. In fact, the sun came out and it turned out to be a pretty nice day. I will say though that the air was quite crisp! In fact, the date was today's date exactly but some years back.

IMG_5998.jpg

IMG_5996.jpg

The history of the theatre is quite interesting as well. You should follow the link to learn more about it, as I will probably mess it up if I attempt to recall the details. All I can say is, wow, what an undertaking!

IMG_6004.jpg

IMG_6043.jpg

The garden is actually quite nice as well. The caretakers have obviously put a lot of though into the design as well as the plants that were chosen to decorate the venue.

IMG_6003.jpg

312.jpg

My hope is that this post has inspired you to visit or at least learn more about this awesome spot.

IMG_6028.jpg

Yeah, I know. I look really miserable! I am actually having a good time but I think that I was annoyed about something or another. This was before I began my quest to start seeing the bright side of things, but that is another story.

IMG_6030.jpg

IMG_6027.jpg

IMG_6015.jpg

IMG_6067.jpg

This is the kind of place that I would actually fly to England specifically to see - but make sure it is a warm time of year and that there are some shows going!

IMG_6089.jpg

IMG_6090.jpg

We are hoping to spend some time in the UK next summer and the Minack is certainly on our list of places to go. Please be sure to visit their site in order to check out the performance schedule.

Sort:  

Beautiful. What a place for a theater--I can imagine the Tempest performed there. How do they manage to not have voices carried away by the sea and the wind? Must be something to watch.

I wondered about the wind thing. I really would like to go see a proper show there so that I can see for myself. It's not going to be until next year though! Maybe I'll write an update and comment on it.

Please do...my daughter visited the UK this summer and some of her most impressive pictures (yes, she shared the trip with me as she went!) were of sea coasts--Cardiff and Isle of Wight among them. Your photos reminded me of that trip.

We went to Cardiff and the Isle as well. I believe I blogged about on here as well.

Lovely wonderful southern coast of UK I love it so. I'll hopefully be back to the SouthEast/Kent area soon. I'm putting this place on my list for Cornwall visits!

I would certainly recommend it. Let me know if you do, I'd be interested to hear how the sound is. Another friend on here was wondering how audible the voices are with the noise of the ocean and wind.

What a glorious place. Stunningly beautiful ...performance or no performance.

Thanks for sharing my man :)

Absolutely! Isn't that cool? For such a small country England has a lot of diverse locations and really interesting things to see. Especially for us yanks who don't have all of the ancient structures all over the place.

@nuthman wow! hope u have enjoyed a very nice trip! Thou, you said it was a few years back, u remember all the details perfectly, looks like the place has made a room in your heart! The gates and the Minack house is looking fabulous! I wonder how much old they are! And Amanda is looking very sweet, especially in that yellow raincoat. The caretakers too did a hard working job to make the gardens more pity and colourful! England is great! So clean, so pity! only the weather can make you annoyed sometime, right? I would love to go to England at least once, and if I go! I will definitely visit this place for sure. A nice view of the blue ocean with a touch of art and sculptures coated with silence would be the most preferable place for me to visit.
By the way... how are you now! sorry i still messed up with hf20 as i can not comment freely now! i think it is a loss for plankton and minnows who have very little sp! Hope i ll survive.
Anyways.... stay happy and keep posting mate. waiting for your new post!! Steem on!

Yeah, I am really upset about how the fork has affected so many people. It is a shame, engagement has been really down over the last week. It looks like people are starting to creep back in, though.

Thanks for your comments! Yes, I do remember the place pretty well. I really want to go back and watch a Shakespeare play there. Amanda was making me laugh with her rain coat thing. It was just barely sprinkling!

Haha! But she still looks pretty! Yes i look closely now in the pic and there is no rain at all! Haha! She was just trying to make u laugh i think !
And about the hf, i am upset too... They r literally forcing planktons/ minnows and newcomers to buy sp.... I invested all my steem and sbd into sp sp that i can comment at least. Lol !

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the way the building emerges out of what looks like some sort of amphitheater.

Yeah, it's really cool! The history of how it was all built is interesting as well. You should check it out.

The shots looks great. Am pretty sure you must have stayed oñ top of that hill in the first image to receive some air coming from the sea.

Yeah, I remember the air was crisp and cool that day. It started off pretty nippy, but got warmer as the day progressed. Pretty standard for England! They fresh air from the sea from great.

I thought as much. Such monent requires your wife to be by your side ;-)

Amanda and you are looking beautiful.
Every picture is revealing the beauty. The beach, the flowers, everything you mentioned specially the foggy weather is looking awesome.
I really enjoyed your trip, and looking forward to your next trip, thanks @nuthman

thanks, @coolguy222! Much appreciated.

It's amazing how it was carved out of those stone cliffs, maybe took ages to complete it @nuthman you should have also visited the sandy beach too, it seems os pristine and no one goes there.

The beach is pretty but a bit too cold that day for my liking. We did go to another beach while we were on that trip. I think it was very windy that day.

Great photos! Thank you for sharing!

Hi @nuthman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.460 which ranks you at #16291 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #114.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31