Why Would You Want Frozen Tea?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I was wandering around the streets of Ho Chi Minh all feversish and with a sore throat, looking for anything to cool me off. That's when I saw it.

Frozen tea smiling at me from inside a freezer.

Well, with a face like that, I couldn't really resist trying it.

I found this tea at a place called Microwave. Everyone smiles in this place:

Microwave tea is definitely an interesting concept that I haven't seen before, which means I was definitely going to be trying it out.

You know those frozen yogurt places where you add your own topppings and then pay by weight? This kinda reminded me of that, only with tea.

You pay per topping after picking what tea flavor you want. So the actual tea itself is maybe 80 cents, and then if you want more toppings that's what adds to the cost.

Foam cheese?? I'll take it, as long as it's good enough to make me foam at the mouth!

Wait, rabies is what does that to your mouth...

...nevermind.

Tran chau duong nau?!?!! Capu?!?? I'll take that too! No idea what it is, but I want it.

After picking all of my toppings, which ok, I actually only took one thing, I noticed a sign:

I think it was trying to tell me something!!

I think it was telling me how to take the tea from being a block of ice into a magical liquidy potion of throat-soothing goodness, but I'm not sure.

Luckily, an employee microwaved my tea for me so that I didn't have to figure out what the enigmatic sign was trying to say! (It was probably trying to say microwave your tea, dummy!)

I took one peach tea upstairs just to have something cool in my throat.

I snapped some pictures of what it looked like because I was thinking of you guys. Dawww <3

Before leaving, I got another one and left it completely frozen and literally just took it home and put on my forehead. It was the next best thing to having my mom put an ice cold cloth on my head like she used to do when I had fevers as a kid.

Haha, I never thought I'd be laying in bed with frozen tea on my head in Vietnam, but there's a first time for everything!

Sort:  

Thanks for making a comment on the post regarding Cayce and the riverwalk. I checked out your posts and like what I see. Look forward to seeing your travels. :)

Thanks! I just can't believe I found someone from Cayce on here!

I see wish you get better asap. I am imagining the effort you're putting up to update us.

BTW, the tea Looks yummy. I will want different flavours taken differently before I have them all mixed together so that my stomach can speak in tongues

@emjoe you are so awesome. Haha no one ever thinks about things like the effort it takes people to do stuff. It's so refreshing to come across thoughtful people like you!

Lovely smiling teas! Do you have a fever?

And how do you buy stuff in Vietnam, do people usually speak English or do you speak a little Vietnamese?

Here the prices are also ridiculously cheap. You can probably eat a nice meal for 50c to $1.

I noticed a few more people in the south speak English than in the north, but mostly I just do a lot of hand gestures and google translate and pointing to random things and hoping I like it, haha.

There's a Venezuelan restaurant here, I think I will go eat there, even though it will probably be more than $1.

I wonder if Microwave tea would do well in other countries?

I think it may do well here, but there's a saying around that when plastic gets heated up, it throws around poisonous toxins, but many people probably don't know or don't care. Also, people don't drink so much tea here but coffee and other things. I've only seen many tea flavours when I was in Asia. Here it's all mostly black and green tea, and one that is red that is sold with the juices everywhere, Té de Jamaica.

I actually did know about that! The toxins thing. I typically try not to heat plastic. If I ever had a version of that tea shop, I'd probably do it in glass just because I don't like throwing plastic away anyway.

I like tea in Asia, mostly because it's loaded with sugar and sweetened condensed milk so it doesn't taste like tea anymore haha. I have got to quit sugar again

Haha you think like me @jfolkmann!!! I thought the same thing! Lol business minded

I always appreciated the playful marketing like the smiling tea face that can be found in Asian countries. It definitely makes you want to buy! lol

I know, I literally bought a drink in Asia because it looked like a bear with a yellow hat on. The hat was the drink cap! I mean, how do you resist that? Why??

Lol I love that you're kinda nerdy too and think about things from a marketing perspective.

LOL I don't blame you for giving in to the bear with the yellow hat. I lived in Japan for three years and their marketing strategies are polar opposites to the U.S. so I always took notice.

Even their road work signs were cute animals holding sings instead of a big orange cone that you will see in America.

We need to bring the cute animal signs to America! lol

People would steal them. They already steal the orange cones ffs haha

Will you hurry up and stop being sick? Its stressing me out!!

hahaha you make me smile. I'm done! This was from before when I told you I was sick last week or whatever.

Also, can we get a @nomadicsoul Jr???? Think of the adventures she would have?

THAT'S A GENIUS IDEA! P.S. I have some posts coming up just for you soon. :)

CANT WAIT !! Ps i sent you a message on steemit chat :)

Sorry about your sore throat dear...

You are making me longing for tea as well, nothing like that in Nigeria yet, but I think it's a nice idea.

Your mum is such caring woman, I could remember you said lots of thing about her during the Mother's day... lol

OMG! So adorable... I would've bought it as well because of the face on it

I'm really curious about cheese foam...

I was too!! lol curiosity always wins with me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36