The Olamona Hike (Three peak hike) - Hawaii

in #travel7 years ago

PSX_20171118_121209.jpg

The Olomana Hike, famously known as the Three Peak Hike, is one of the most
thrilling and beautiful hike in Hawaii Islands. If you are an adrenaline junkie, this is
the hike for you! Ever since I started trekking in Hawaii, this one was on my
bucket list. In my initial years of trekking I did attempt this hike but I came back
from the second peak. The route leading up to the third peak was not my cup of
tea at that time. In this blog, I will take you guys through my experience of
climbing all the three peaks.

I am very lucky to have made a group of like-minded people who enjoy outdoors
and hiking just as much as I do. Most of my hikes are with them. One fine morning
I put across in our WhatsApp group, my desire of doing the Olomana trek and
within no time, we decided to go for it the coming weekend.

The trail head starts from Auloa Rd. in Oahu. One must reach early here to find
parking spot. From here, the hike up to the first peak is pretty straight forward.
The trail passes through beautiful forest and towards the summit, there is a small
rock climbing section. Ropes are pre-installed. After the rock climb, you are
standing on the first peak.

images (9)_1510987564670.jpg

Most people turn around from here. But this time we
wanted to get to the top of the third peak so we carried on.

IMG_20171118_105226.jpg

After the first peak, the real fun begins. A steep descent from the top begins to
get to peak two. There are several fixed ropes in sketchy sections. The ropes are
fixed to roots of trees so initially one finds it difficult to put faith in them. You
have to hang on these ropes over steep edges; drop-off’s and overhangs. It is
tricky and quite frightening at first but you get used to the motion. The rocks also
are not very stable and they give away pretty easy.

images (8)_1510987676665.jpg

You make it down few cliffs
and then steep uphill ascent begins towards the summit.

images (8)_1510987564580.jpg

With the help of fixed
old ropes, we made it to the top of the second peak. We were overjoyed and
pumped about this. We took a quick break and started our journey to the most
awaited third peak.

IMG_20171118_105019.jpg

The route hereon becomes crazy! The cliffs start getting narrower and the drop-
off’s become deadlier. There are a few sections which require good footwork and
scrambling skills. One wrong hold or a step could send you over the edge, killing
you instantly. Once you near the top of the peak, it looks like a small version of
Matterhorn.

IMG_20171118_105144.jpg

From here it is a 30 feet straight climb up the pinnacle. With the support of the
rope, we made it up the third peak. It felt unreal.

The views were astounding. We
took a few pictures, had a good look at the view and started descending.

IMG_20171118_105100.jpg

Here is a picture I love which we took while descending before sunset

IMG_20171118_105124.jpg

I really hope all of you enjoyed reading my blog.
Follow on for more adventure. Cheers!

Sort:  

Wow, writing done for next trip heh :)

Amazing

I have heard so much about this trek. Definitely on my bucket list!

Absolutely. It's one of the most awesome treks around!

All the photos taken by you or your friends ? I wonder, how you would have taken the first photo ?

That looks like a challenge not everybody can do however its worth the try if the view is that marvelous. awesome that your brought the scenery to the community. I really liked it! Thanks!

It's more about the journey than the destination, but yes, the views are astonishing too

Awesome shots @nicole.jay! I love Hawaii but I never did this hike. I remember seeing it though driving past. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

very nice post, amazing place, try adding more photos in future posts (:

@nicole.jay so beautiful 😍 Pics and a great article! A pleasure to me to upvote, resteem and follow! Steem on

THe pictures are amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66