You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #86 : A visit to the ancient Town of Hiera - Hierapolis!

in #travel7 years ago

It is not often that one stumbles on posts that are so educational and aesthetically pleasing. Yours on the other hand always seem to deliver in quality and substance, things I can only dream of, @sweetsssj.

That you were able to sum up such a long history in such a short time is one of the remarkable things of this piece, and if might say so myself I thoroughly enjoyed the history lesson and the sightseeing.

This approach brought balance to this piece. Presentations of historical sites can be quite overwhelming because of the sheer scale of what is presented. That, however, you infused yourself in this piece speaks served to mitigate against that; insofar that it brought youth and beauty to kilometers of artefacts.

One was hoping for more though, which in my case doesn’t happen often. I guess I am so impressed and was salivating for more. I'm glad you zoned in on the main structures, such as the wonderful arches and entrances that seemed so well preserved. By the way, the public latrine part gave me some laughs; just saying. I was just trying to imagine what it must have been like hundreds of years ago.

The short video close to the end also complemented the post. To see the moving images gave me this vicarious thrill and hence, I have placed this historical site on my bucket list; which is a wonderful segue into your description of the tombs and sarcophagi. For me it was not only about the magnificence of the architecture, but I got a brief view of the social strata of the society. So often we see a place with its great ruins and we gloat about its former glory without realizing that it was once peopled and that these people had their stories. You reminded me of that in this post.

You also reminded me of how ephemeral this thing called life is, one day you are here the next you are not, and I wonder if the people who inhabited this great city when it was at its apex thought that in 2017 it would be lying in ruin. Food for thought.

Thanks for sharing this post about this magnificent and ancient place. A stitch and a wrinkle in time. A place whose monuments and corpses continue to speak to us so many years after its glory days. Another wonderful post, @sweetsssj

Sort:  

nicholas, I have to say I must say the same about your comment.

You are right in your assessment of this post being on the shorter side and it's true that there is much much more to look out for should anyone visit. I have tried to condense it to the main things which I felt more attached to, but at the same time, I do feel a little sad that I couldn't make the post as complete as it could be, especially as I frequently peruse back through my posts to remind myself of the places and their finer details.

I hope that I can in my other travels I can gradually start adding more detail and leave you more satisfied and not hoping for more, although the scope I think you're looking for might be a little too much for the casual reader. I will have to explore different ways of balancing the details as you say.

I'm also glad that you found some value in the video. Sometimes the extra effort of making video along side taking many photos becomes overwhelming whilst trying to really appreciate the area, but I do make a conscious effort to try capture as much of the atmosphere as possible so if some video clips are able to supplement the pictures, then I think it will be always worth it to me!

Thanks for such a lovely comment, i've followed you and look forward to some of your own writings :)

Very good Pictures!What a Nice places..Very interesting post and beautiful pictures
Upvoted. Do Follow me and Upvote my Posts if you like Dear @rajrea007

@sweetsssj : i got a poem for you kindly check it out..i know you will love it..and i resteem your post..@dontryme2 https://steemit.com/philippines/@dontryme2/i-had-crush-on-you-poem-hope-you-guys-like-it

tooo long <3 thats your love you typed that whole comment <3 great <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60627.10
ETH 2662.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44