myday #36 - Landscape + Travel Photography

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemit Followers!


I'm a huge fan of landscape photography as it provides a way for me to connect with the earth. I'm able to travel to new locations and experience the many natural wonders, that many of us take for granted.

Nature is spellbinding when you think about it, the waves, clouds and rocks all form interesting subject matter to point a camera at. I feel very blessed to have a beautiful girlfriend @photooftheday who also enjoys traveling to distant places just for one photo. The landscape is there for us to enjoy and we thoroughly feel privileged to photograph it's beauty.


When I went to the 12 Apostles I ventured down the cliffs to the explore the long beaches. The smell of salt was strong as it was carried from the waves crashing on the shoreline.

image

I looked behind me and spotted my fading footprints. They provided an interesting foreground, so zooming out accordingly I lined up my shot.

I think the black and white depiction of the scene works much better then the colour thanks to the strong shadow and highlight contrast. What do you think?

image

The vista that surrounded me was spectacular and I knew I was in a special place so taking my time to capture some images became a priority.

image

I waited on the beach for some unsuspecting tourists to walk into the frame so I could portray the scale of the raging sea and breathtaking cliffs. Fortunately, the people were just as blown away with the beauty of the site, which allowed me to take my time to capture images as they stood in amazement.

image

image

image

Using my zoom lens I gained a tight composition to reflect the raw beauty I witnessed in the distance. Capturing the peak of the wave as the cliffs oversaw their motion was my goal for this next shot.

image

I thought about what the interesting parts of the scene were? I closed my eyes and listened to the sounds, a technique I commonly use as sometimes my eyes deceive me into photographing the wrong thing.

I heard the water rushing up the shoreline then retreating as the ocean swell breathed. The wind rushed past my ears. It halted behind me as it hit the stubborn cliffs. I wanted to capture to images that reflected the sound I had heard.

image

image

I looked out across the ocean and my eyes caught the interesting shapes of the remaining apostles. Isolating one of them against the sky I hit the shutter to create yet another abstract.

image

As I walked back to the car I felt like I had a few more images left in me. By now the ocean current was bringing the high tide in. Waves bigger than the last came in, landing every so close to my feet. It was a perfect moment to time the rythum of the water with my shutter speed.

image

Eventually getting back up to the top of the cliffs I was presented with a stunning view. Framing the natural foliage in the foreground, I ramped my aperture to create the best hyperfocal distance, allowing me to have the entire scene in focus.

image

My afternoon out was complete, with shots 'in the bag' I felt like the trip was certainly worth it.


Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.


If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!


Recommended Reading


Sort:  

Brilliant story @myday) Upvote)

Thank you @mxzn! I always appreciate your comments!

I always enjoy your pictures and your writing! Thank you for sharing both with all of us here on steemit.

Awww that's such a nice comment @fanstaf. Thank you for stopping by to take the time to read and view my stories. Much appreciated!

The best, great shoot

Thank you @brigen. I appreciate your comment :)

wow really beautiful landscape pictures ;)

Why thank you @recommectnature (great name by the way). Thanks for checking out the post :)

he pictures are beautiful. Every corner looks detailed. Thanks you for sharing @myday.

Thank you for commenting @ayijufridar and for saying nice things about my photos :)

You Wellcome...

Stunning photos! Really enjoyed them, thanks for sharing!

I'm glad you enjoyed then @sol0mon! Thanks for stopping by

Beautiful photography!

Superb light myday!!! cool and good job!!!

Why thank you @panknil. Victorian weather can be very unpredictable so I consider myself lucky to have some sun in the shots! Thanks for commenting.

the second picture is incredible, love the composition...

Thank you @mrwanderlust! That's my fav

great pics - I love the b&w - especially the first one
and yes the trip was worth it ; )

Appreciate your feedback @yllime :) Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69194.08
ETH 3757.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67