Bali Diaries - I ATE BEES (and a lot more weird stuff)

in #travel7 years ago

Hello my dear Steemians and welcome to this episode of my “Bali Diaries”!!!


Yesterday, I went to the Art Festival in Bali’s capital Denpasar. The festival takes place in the middle of the city where westerners very rarely go. Most parts of Denpasar are not worth visiting, they are not anything close to what you imagine when hearing the word “Bali”. I have heard people say “Denpasar is a shit hole”, and even if I can’t agree 100 percent, I cannot disagree completely either. Most of the time, the only reason to go to the city center is the “Kantor Imigrasi” – the immigration office.

However, as I came to realize yesterday, Denpasar does have impressively beautiful areas. The art center is one of them. The festival runs for about two weeks every year. There are traditional dances, plays, comedies, handicraft and – today’s topic – a food market.

A small stream runs through the festival area.
PestaBali-3.jpg

PestaBali-2.jpg

People sell all kinds of stuff from paintings to popcorn.
PestaBali-1.jpg

PestaBali-36.jpg

PestaBali-38.jpg

PestaBali-10.jpg

When I got to the art center with my teachers and friends, we still had to wait for two hours before the next performance would begin. I was hungry and very eager to try all crazy food on the market anyways, so we went to the food court first.

The food court entrance, the gateway to a universe of unknown smells.
PestaBali-14.jpg

PestaBali-19.jpg

PestaBali-20.jpg

PestaBali-22.jpg

PestaBali-23.jpg

I asked my teacher to show me as much food I had never tried as he could, and he took the task more serious than I had expected. I ended up eating four dishes and ice cream, so here is a selection of the unknown food I enjoyed.

Unfortunately, the peanut sauce makes everything look the same, but let me tell you: These three sticks are carrying:

  • Snails
  • Guinea pig meat
  • Lizard meat

Guinea pig was my favorite meat, lizard was nice as well, the snails were a bit tough to eat...
PestaBali-4.jpg

The dark stuff right on top of the rice in this picture is eel, but not any eel as Pewe (my teacher) insisted, eel from Balinese rice patties.
PestaBali-7.jpg

The little things floating in the dark sauce and mixed under the green vegetables are probably the weirdest thing I had: Bees. Not honey, the actual bee bodies. Their texture was a bit strange but they were delicious.
PestaBali-6.jpg

For dessert, me and my friend had a special kind of ice cream. Basically, it is a big portion of crushed ice cubes topped with various sweet syrups. Another word for it: “Diabetes type II to go”.

First, a guy uses a machine to crush a lot of ice cubes.
PestaBali-18.jpg

Then, another one pours syrup after syrup on the ice until it is sweet and colorful.
PestaBali-17.jpg

And this is what it looks like after a while...
boy-36.jpg

Obviously, I also went everywhere on the market and took a lot of pictures of people cooking or selling stuff, kids having fun, families spending time together, and the traditional police taking care of security…

PestaBali-5.jpg

PestaBali-8.jpg

PestaBali-9.jpg

PestaBali-10.jpg

PestaBali-11.jpg

PestaBali-12.jpg

PestaBali-13.jpg

PestaBali-15.jpg

PestaBali-16.jpg

It was a very interesting day at the art festival, especially since it felt like being part of the “real Bali”. There were only a few westerners and even Indonesian people from outside Bali were a rare sight.

In my next post, I will take you to the traditional performances and dances of the festival, so stay tuned and follow me for more adventures!


Till then,
keep wandering and wondering,

Love,

mr.wonderlust

PS: I could tell you about how I felt when I went to the toilet this morning, but you know, I think you can guess yourself…

Sort:  

nice post! Keep eating new things:) and make posts about it haha. followed!

Haha thank you! I will keep doing both!

Interesting read and great pics. I wouldn't have been able to eat the bees though. lol..Thanks for sharing :)

I think you would have because they were not recognizable as bees :-). Thanks for your support!

Great post. It's obvious you worked hard on it. Hopefully it gets more upvotes than this. You deserve it! You have some great captures of the locals here and that first picture makes it look far from a "shithole". Eating bees would be tough but then again I've tried silk larvae here in China. Tasted like shrimp.

Re-steemed and followed. I'm wanting to go to Indonesia at some point before I leave China so hoping you share some more posts of your travels!

hey eitsky, thanks a lot for your kind words. Yes, it was a lot of work. But if they payouts are this small, at least I know my friends and family read the blog :-D. I will keep posting about indonesia and if you have questions, just ask..

Snails?? That is like the equivalent to octopus, but sounds 10 times worse! Really really good pictures, great quality as always!

They were too tough to eat though, a bit annoying... Thank you for your support as always :-) great to know that you read the blog... keeps me motivated

Danke Dir für den schönen Post und die Eindrücke aus dem Leben bei euch.Die Menschen haben vielleicht materiell nicht viel,aber sie sind glücklicher und zufriedener als wir wo wir praktisch alles haben ,nur keine Lebensqualität mehr.Der Post ist schön und deshalb möchte ich ihn zu mir nehmen.resteemed

Da hast du vollkommen recht, einer der Gründe warum ich erstmal nach Bali gezogen bin....
Vielen Dank wie immer für die Unterstützung!

Sehr gerne doch mein Freund

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mrwanderlust from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Really good photos! What lens are you using on your Fuji? :)

thank you, I am using the 23mm 1.4 usually

They say it's a little bit soft wide open - is it true?

I dont think so. I switched from my a7rii to the x-t2, so I knew I would objectively sacrifice image quality. the handling is soooo much more fun, though, I love the camera.If you nail the focus, the 23mm is sharp enough for 24mp I guess...

Excellent, thanks for the information!

WOW, everything is so colorful and your photos are bringing one so close to the sceneries. One can literally smell all this delicious food. Thanks for sharing this with us.

hey @pipurilla, thank you very much for the kind words. keeps me going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16