TRAVEL: 5 DOWNSIDES OF HITCHHIKING

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello mighty readers! I know you'd love to hitchhike, but how about the downsides? Check this out!


HITCHHIKING PATAGONIA
Click image to enlarge!

Hitchhiking, ahhhhhh hitchhiking. All those cool photos and stories, right? For those who see, it's all perfect and beautiful. And it is. Sometimes.

To be honest I like to hitchhike for the funny challenge (and because I'm a miserable broken backpacker Hah!)

I think "Will I be able to hitchhike this place? How long will it take?". Usually it works just fine, however, when it doesn't...

I believe you've read my post on all the cool things that happens when you hitchhike AND you've though:

- Hmmmmm that sounds like a good idea!


But how do I do that? You are thinking. I also have that answear.

If you haven't checked all that yet... GO THERE AND READ YOU MONSTER! Just kidding! Links down below if you'd like to check.

 TRAVEL: 5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD HITCHHIKE

 TRAVEL: HOW TO HITCHHIKE LIKE A BOSS

Now I know that you are fully motivated to go out there to hitchhike around the world and beyond, it'll be great I assure you. That way I'll kindly bring some of the downsides of the adventure, so you can be prepared when they happen, sparing a lot of frustration further on the road - I've learned the hard way, dang it!

Enjoy!

     1. YOU'LL EVENTUALLY GET WET


Yes! It not a matter of 'if it happens', it's a matter of 'when will it happen'. And it happens quite a lot to be honest. And yes, it'll pretty much ruin your chances of gettingt a ride if you indeed get wet. It's so terrible that I don't even have pictures of myself in such situation.

The funny thing is that rain usually comes when you are in the middle of nowhere and there's no cover nearby. My best advises here are:

  • Find cover as fast as possible, you can try a ride again later when rain stops. (i.e. sometimes rain was so intense that I gave up, I set my tent by the side of the road and went to sleep.)
  • Use an umbrella, I know that backpackers don't carry an umbrella, but it may work.
  • Give up on life and walk on the rain. Even though I've done this method, I don't advise doing so.
  • Hide below shelter and try to hitchhike from there. (i.e. bus stops, creepy tunnels below the road, outdoors... anything, use your creativity).

     2. YOU'LL GET STUCK SOMEWHERE


This is the worst of them all if you are traveling without money to spend on transportation. You'll be by the side of the road, below a hot sun, seeing all those beautiful buses passing by. You'll dream about the air conditioning.

But no! You had to be like me, a broken traveler, therefore your only hope is for a miraculous savior to stop. But sometimes the angel won't come. Sun starts to set, your hope is vanished and you'll realise you are stuck.

My personal waiting time is 4+2 hours. Until hour 4 I'm still in the positivism zone; the next 2 hours I start thinking about something to do (either walk a little or look for another place); after 6 hours waiting I'll start looking for a place to set my tent.

So remember:

  • ALL the elements will be fighting you, you'll be standing there for hours below sun, rain, snow, wind. 
  • Sometimes it just doesn't work! And you'll have to sleep by the road.
  • Don't panic! Find funny things to do or simply walk. 

     3. YOU'LL FIND CREEPY DRIVERS


This is also a matter of time to happen, remember you are hitchhiking, that itself puts you against many risks. If your guts sense something, they are probably right. It's not because the car has stopped that you'll have to accept the ride. Be prepared for ANYTHING.

I've never refused a ride however, some of them were pretty strange. Like the one where the driver had all the attributes and stereotype of a drug dealer. He wasn't. But when he stopped I've had to think 2-3 times if I would accept. Why did I? Because he had two kids with him.

  • Don't accept a ride if you sense something, invent some excuse and refuse it.
  • Be defensive if a driver starts being creepy.
  • Carry a pepper spray, just in case.

     4. YOU'LL RIDE WITH MANIACS ON THE WHEEL


Sometimes this is really cool, you'll get faster to where you need to be. Other times you'll call Jesus and ask for mercy.

You'll never know how the person drivers until you are inside the car in movement. And dude! It's the worst feeling, ever, to be in a car with a bad driver or a driver that drives as fast as the speed of light. You'll feel so defenceless.

I've taken a ride once with a guy, where his average speed was around 160 km/h in a sinuous road. Another time me and friends took a ride in a pickup's rear box, and the maniac was speeding like The Flash... one accident there would send us all to the moon.

  • If you are not comfortable, ask to get off.
  • Call Jesus and ask for mercy.

     5. IT MAY TAKE FOREVER TO GET TO WHERE YOU WANT


You are a traveler, you have all the time to enjoy life! If you are still concerned about time, be warned. It'll take a lot to move in most of the cases.

At some places you'll find only short rides further on the road, accept them if you feel you'll benefit from it.

My personal waiting record was 2 nights. In total it took me 3-4 days to move a handful of kilometers.

  • Be patient, enjoy life!

This were the cons of hitchhiking. Now that you've read about the benefits of hitchhiking, you've learned some tips on how to do it the best and most effective way, and you also learned some of the downsides of it. What are you waiting for!

All you need now is a backpack full of essential items, your thumb and courage. It's not difficult, it's actually pretty fun.

After many kilometers you'll be so prepared and full of stories that, even the downsides, won't be negative anymore. You'll be able to see positivity in everything.

Would you ever hitchhike? Have you ever hitchhiked? Comment down below your bad and sketchy moments, I love hearing from you.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.

The gifs here presented were collected on the web and showed different sources when trying to give credits. If you spot any irregularity, please, inform me and I shall remove.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Live Outdoors: 10 REASONS TO TRY STAND UP PADDLE

Live Outdoors: 3 ESSENTIAL ITEMS TO GO CAMPING

Live Outdoors: HOW TO CHOOSE A TENT FOR CAMPING

Live Outdoors: 3 TIPS TO BUY A SLEEPING BAG

TRAVEL: 5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD HITCHHIKE

TRAVEL: PROS AND CONS OF BICYCLE TOURING

TRAVEL: HEALTHY NUTRITION ON THE ROAD | BACKPACKERS - BIKE TOURING - WILDERNESS

TRAVEL: HOW TO HITCHHIKE LIKE A BOSS

A proud member of:

Sort:  

Haha, couldn't agree more :)
The upside of the "creepy drivers" is that the people who take hitchhikers are often very interesting people. With all the creepy drivers that I hitchhiked with, I never had any bad experiences.. The worst that happened to me is that I got spoilered for game of thrones!

You manage to stay positive for 4 hours? Wow! I am usually getting quite frustrated after two hours with nobody stopping :D But somehow it always works out in the end, that's what I love about hitchhiking!

Noooooooooo! Spoil for game of thrones, If a driver does that then I'd become the creepy passenger hahaha

what if I tell you that once it took me 2 nights, 3 days to cross back from Chile to Argentina, it was only 150 km. I just accepted my fate and walked the most part of it, camping by the side of the road. One day I'll write about that.

So until 4 hours I'm pretty much ok with it ahhaahaha

Wow, 2 days for 150 kms? That's insane! And I thought 2.5 days for 350km crossing Denmark was bad :D

2 nights! 3 days hahahahaha it was so terrible that I've had to walk most of it, but the after was just priceless! Man I gotta write what story!

If you are not comfortable, ask to get off.
Call Jesus and ask for mercy.

Ahahaha - a great article as per usual and very entertaining. I am worried I have created a gif fiend though - but it's so fun! Great choices - especially number 1.

HAHAHHA yes! I'm afraid I've became a victim of the gifs thanks to you Kylie. The ones you've posted were freakin funny.

Ah!, btw the resizing site you've showed me is a gem! check it out later, perfect for resizing things. Thank you so much for finding it for me.

Pleasure! oh - and TA-DA!!! Happy birthday : https://www.mylivesignature.com/create-signature-step1#

No way!! Kylie, I have bad news, you'll have to inform Jaimie... that I need to steel you from him HAHAAHAH
you are the absolute best.

This is a great counterpoint to your last hitch-hiking article. I have never hitch-hiked myself, though many of the people I grew up with did in their teens and early twenties. Some still do.

I started getting very ill as a teenager and my health has not been stable for a lot of my adult life. This has kept me from doing a lot of the activities that you do. However, in my mid-twenties, my health rebounded for a couple of years. During that time I joined a touring metal band. Our longest stretch on the road was 28 days straight. No hitch-hiking. But there are a couple of paralells to some of your travel adventures.

We regularly slept on the side of the road. Sometimes we would sleep outside at rest stops or church yards (churches were nice because they usually would not call the cops on you). Sometimes we would find people at shows that would let us stay at their house and use their shower.

Once, we stayed with this guy who was a manager for a band we played with in LA. He offered to find us heroin and prostitutes. We were like, "Uhh, no thanks man. We are fine with the shower and the Ramen noodles." Haha

We had our share of adventures. I plan on writing about some of them in the future. I'll let you know when I do.

Thanks for another great post!

Wow thanks for the awesome comment @vecknon! Incredible that, with a few words, you made me curious to hear more!

Once, we stayed with this guy who was a manager for a band we played with in LA. He offered to find us heroin and prostitutes. We were like, "Uhh, no thanks man. We are fine with the shower and the Ramen noodles." Haha

HAHAHAHAH you absolutely have to write about this! I guess the whole 28 days trip would give a great story.
Isn't it great to sleep by the road? We are so tired that we just don't care "I'll sleep here...f** it"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63