This is Venice!

in #travel7 years ago

I've been thinking for a long time to write a post about my beloved Venice. I have origins from there, maybe that's why I love everything about it. Also, I had quite weird experiences there since I was 4 years old, all of them nice, so probably that made me love it even more.
Only good memories and places in this city...here are some, considered also travel tips...

It was the first trip I went with my parents, in 1988, where I danced in front of a big audience at the historic Café Florian [Since 1720 https://www.caffeflorian.com/en/] with a live orchestra, in Piazza San Marco...Then the storm came and my Dad ran to the hotel with me in his arms...

Two Carnivals so far...an atmosphere from another time, literally...You feel you woke up in another Era - you'll see some pictures of that later below.

The Biennale, founded in 1895, being the most prestigious and known cultural organizations in the world, with the famous international art exhibition. I was lucky enough to join some of those. Here's the website for more information, total must see:
http://www.labiennale.org/en/Home.html

The islands of Murano, where they make the unique glass art...

The amazing and also famous Café Quadri [Since 1775 https://www.alajmo.it/grancaffe-quadri] and Harry's Bar [http://www.harrysbarvenezia.com/ - The "big brother" of the one in Rome]

Also, Venice's cemetery is interesting to see. It is located on a separate island not far from the city center and contains beautiful art [https://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cimitero_di_San_Michele_(Venezia)]

And then, the museums...My personal favorite is Accademia (Gallerie dell'Accademia), established in 1750, where, as their official website points out [http://www.gallerieaccademia.org/?lang=en] it has a "very rich collection of Venetian paintings from Veneto as well, from the Bizantine and Gothic fourteenth century to the artists of the Renaissance, Bellini, Carpaccio, Giorgione, Veronese, Tintoretto and Tiziano until Gianbattista Tiepolo and the Vedutisti of the eighteenth century, Canaletto, Guardi, Bellotto, Longhi. These artists will influence the whole history of European painting." Enough said -I can't really add anything to that! :)

Last but not least, the gondolas... as Venetian as it gets!

Personally I think it's the most romantic city in the world (yes, beating Paris - not by far, but still...), and I've been around! And how can it not be since it was Don Juan's home :D Also, it is a very particular city, mostly because of its weird architecture and the fact that it lays on many small islands. The sad fact is that it's sinking year by year...It hurts my heart to think that there might be generations in the future who won't be able to see it anymore :( The flooding is a problem but as a Venice lover I wouldn't say it would prevent anyone from visiting!

As I usually say, the beauty of ugliness... Not ugly, not beautiful either, but strangely interesting, amazingly captivating and charmingly bizarre...This is how the city is depicted in de Prada's book 'La Tempestad', talking about the homonym Giorgione's work 'La Tempesta', found in Accademia. It is a highly suggested reading about Venice, as it shows the good sides and the bad sides as well but in beautiful way... [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25622673-the-tempest?rating=3]

That's Venice! Enjoy the Tour and don't forget to smile !

Delicious chocolate dessert and Cosmopolitan cocktail at the luxurious Café Bar of Hotel Danieli[http://www.danielihotelvenice.com/]

Me at one of the Carnivals I've been, dressed as a Domino... ;)

'Ponte del Diavolo' in Italian means 'The bridge of the Devil'!

The super famous Ponte dei Sospiri (Bridge of sighs) was build in 1600 and was leading the prisoners to the dungeons. They would never see the daylight again that's why when they were walking through it they were sighing and that's how this beautiful enclosed bridge got its name ;)

During the Carnival...

Sort:  

Wow! Venice is one place I hope to visit one day, all the photos made Venice look a lot more magical than I envisioned it to be :)

You used the right word: magical ! Indeed, it is! Thank you, glad you liked the post and I really hope you'll get to visit one day! :D

Such an interesting read and photos a place I have always wanted to visit, ohh well maybe one day

I hope you do! It's a fairy tale city :) Thank you!!

Venice is awesome. Too bad Cafe Florian is expensive as hell. 12 euros a pint with an extra 6 if it is your first. Damn thieves! :p
That being said, Venice is a great city to visit!

Yeah... All the places I included in this post are actually super expensive... But, most of the times, you do get what to pay for, quality wise and also maybe service wise so I'm happy with that. But yeah, cappuccino at Florian I think it's around 7-8 euros (if it's still that much and not more...)
Venice in general though yes, definitely to visit.... <3

Yeah, I get that the service is good and Venice is cool, but god damn ... 18 euros for a pint? That's a damn rip-off right there. Still, it's worth going into town to visit those tiny streets and take a tour via gondolas and such :)

Gondolas are more overpriced that beer though...I mean, you pay like 2 euros tops, and you get on a vaporetto (bus boat) at Canal Grande, you do the whole tour and you don't have to barely fit a gondola and having to tip the gondoliere in the end...I don't know...I think I've been once, when I was a kid, I hardly remember... I do remember once I took a (boat) taxi though...it was in 1998, almost 20 years ago and we paid, at the time, 50 pounds from Piazzale Roma (where the train station is) to the port (where our ship to Greece was)...like a 10' ride...not to mention the fog - we almost lost the ship because the vaporettos weren't running and from where the taxi left us we couldn't see anything hahaha!!! Venice -strange as it is, but lovely nevertheless!

I went on the taxi/bus boats around town, but I think I would've liked to bask in the sun in those gondolas... It was quite hot, so the bus boats thingies weren't exactly the most comfy rides. Don't remember how much I paid. I just remember the exorbitant beer prices at that cafe :p

Thank you for the info,Venice has alway's been a place I would love to see!

You're welcome! Glad you liked the post! It is a once-in-a-lifetime-must-see indeed ;)

THANK YOU! Venice is my favorite place for elegance and architectural beauty. I Was lucky enough to stay there a few decades back staying in a friends apartment on the grand canal - and remember it like it was yesterday!! Best coffee too! I am a hopeless romantic too so am following you for more indulgences such as this . Thankyou! ❤️

You're welcome! I'm so glad you liked it that much :D I totally agree about everything, Venice is a Paradise on Earth!

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Wow beautiful and interesting magic place Venice, excellent post @meanmommy33, i love the colors and contrast, I think about you have great content, I follow you, I think that we must support ourselves as a community, I would appreciate it if you would give me a look at my last post and give me your opinion, greetings and success at all! :)

Thank you! It is a magical place indeed! And yes, I do believe in minnow support! :D

I love Venice, I was there in 2011. It's my favourite city... so relaxing and romantic :D

I hear ya! :D I think the next steem fest after Lisbon should totally be in Venice!!! :D

Amazing post! Great Photos! I love Venice. I've been there times and it's always a charming town. Thank you for your post.

Thank you for liking it @ginga! Glad you know what I'm talking about ;)

It was a very good post untill I read the comparison with Paris...😉
Joking of course... never been in Venice but really hope I once get there... before the tourists ruin it all...

Haha don't get me wrong, I LOVE Paris, my mother studied there and she still lives there half a year, I studied there and lived 4 years and I'm always back and forth...I think it's an amazing city, I have awesome memories of it and super-romantic, clearly...but Venice for me wins, just at the ending line...But tourist wise, I'm afraid it's ruined already...You should consider visiting though before it sinks completely... :( Maybe our generation won't see this happening, but still sad :/

That's indeed sad... I saw a doc on TV about the inhabitants that are starting actions against the tourists... and I fully understand them...

me too... But about that Paris isn't any better, only bigger... Then again in Venice they don't have to be afraid of terror attacks... :/

these are so beautiful, so glad I took a look!!

And glad you did @natureofbeing ! Thank you ! I really love Venice and always did since I was a kid and I think that's obvious in my pictures :D

I've never been to Italy at all and really would love to go! Kind of necessary as an artist I'd say.

I'm with you on that! I mean, besides my personal love about Italy and many different cities there, artistically speaking, yes, it is a must visit, I'm sure you'll get even more inspired! :D

fingers crossed that within 18 months I can go, ;-)

Oh, I'm crossing mine too for you then (both hands haha :D ) :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58