You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is Venice!

in #travel7 years ago

Venice is awesome. Too bad Cafe Florian is expensive as hell. 12 euros a pint with an extra 6 if it is your first. Damn thieves! :p
That being said, Venice is a great city to visit!

Sort:  

Yeah... All the places I included in this post are actually super expensive... But, most of the times, you do get what to pay for, quality wise and also maybe service wise so I'm happy with that. But yeah, cappuccino at Florian I think it's around 7-8 euros (if it's still that much and not more...)
Venice in general though yes, definitely to visit.... <3

Yeah, I get that the service is good and Venice is cool, but god damn ... 18 euros for a pint? That's a damn rip-off right there. Still, it's worth going into town to visit those tiny streets and take a tour via gondolas and such :)

Gondolas are more overpriced that beer though...I mean, you pay like 2 euros tops, and you get on a vaporetto (bus boat) at Canal Grande, you do the whole tour and you don't have to barely fit a gondola and having to tip the gondoliere in the end...I don't know...I think I've been once, when I was a kid, I hardly remember... I do remember once I took a (boat) taxi though...it was in 1998, almost 20 years ago and we paid, at the time, 50 pounds from Piazzale Roma (where the train station is) to the port (where our ship to Greece was)...like a 10' ride...not to mention the fog - we almost lost the ship because the vaporettos weren't running and from where the taxi left us we couldn't see anything hahaha!!! Venice -strange as it is, but lovely nevertheless!

I went on the taxi/bus boats around town, but I think I would've liked to bask in the sun in those gondolas... It was quite hot, so the bus boats thingies weren't exactly the most comfy rides. Don't remember how much I paid. I just remember the exorbitant beer prices at that cafe :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56