Austria - Yoga on the Mountain

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for joining me in my adventures. This blog is dedicated to travels off the beaten path. You won't find my review of Disney World here, but you might just discover a new way to explore your world. If you're a fan of the road less traveled, I think you'll like what we have in store today.

20180808_032715.jpg

Yoga on the Mountain

Some people collect postcards of the places they've been, others collect shot glasses. I'm not much of a knick-knacks kind of person, so I collect experiences - specifically yoga experiences. I've done yoga all over the US, the Caribbean, and now in Austria as well. If you travel often, consider collecting something non-tangible; it's neat to compare experiences from one place to another.

20180808_031305.jpg

This experience started with the Gamskogelbahn which is known as a ski lift to the English speakers here. The lift itself is quite the experience. It never stops moving, so for a first time user it was a bit daunting. It goes something like this:

  • Wait for the previous lift to leave the platform
  • Line up your feet on footprints painted on the ground
  • Look over your shoulder for the approaching lift
  • Sit down as it bumps the back of your legs

What if you do it wrong? I really don't know. I can only assume you will be dragged in an awkward and uncomfortable position all the way up the mountain. Don't do it wrong.

text11.png

20180808_031628.jpg

The Journey

The lift was so quiet it could barely be heard - just a whisper soft whirring in the background. As we began the ascent the mountain opened up on either side of us. Cows grazed in the wild fields and the soft tinkling of their bells could be heard clearly in the still morning.

20180808_031903.jpg

The fields rolled out before us, a well-maintained mountainside designed for tourists and locals alike. Hikers walked the ridges in the background while children played on the playground and tourists posed with the giant cartoon statue placed just for their benefit.

text11.png

20180808_054851.jpg

The Yoga

We reached the top of the mountain, slid quickly off the lift and ducked to the side so it wouldn't hit us as it continued its journey. A red tractor hauling a wagon waited to take us even higher, up a dusty trail and to a lovely little lake (pictured at the top of this post).

Once the yoga began, I didn't pause to take pictures. I was intent on following the nonverbal cues of the people around me as they listened to the instructor's prompts in German. As everyone seemed to be doing each move in a different way, it was difficult to tell what the prompt had been. Fortunately, this variety of yoga included a great deal of laying on the mat and simply breathing.

That I can handle.

Inhaling deeply through my nostrils I listened to the mountain around me. Bees buzzed, lazy in the sunshine, and the cowbells could still be heard faintly. After a while, the sound of children playing entered my awareness then drifted off again. Everyone around me stood, and I followed their lead. We did many rounds of sun salutations in the thin air before returning to our mats to breathe once again.

text11.png

Afterward

When yoga was finished, our instructor invited us to the restaurant on the mountain for a complimentary brunch. The meal included the most delicious yogurt, filled with fresh blueberries and topped with currents, cantelope, and mint. In true European fashion there was a bread tray to share along with a variety of spreads and jams. Vegetable sticks rounded out the vegetarian feast and were accompanied by a variety of dressings to suit your taste. Juice and water infused with fruits were also available.

20180808_055327.jpg

We made our way back to the lift, seasoned professionals this time around, and took the long ride down the mountain with a newfound lightness and satisfaction. The town approached, picturesque and so very Austrian, and we looked forward to our adventures ahead.

Thanks for joining me in yoga on the mountain. What do you collect from the places you visit? Let me know in the comments. Find me at Travel Life Services to get started on building your next collection.

TLS_Logo_transparent-background-256x130.png

Happy Travels!

Jennifer

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

text14.png

10 million thanks to #steemitbloggers for the awesome community and great text dividers!

Sort:  

Oh I love that! Collecting experiences - especially through something like yoga, in a mountain no less- must be truly magical! I like to, where I can, and can afford, collect art from the places I’ve been- something that is relevant and will braai no that place back to me.. when I cannot afford a nice piece of art, I try to create it with a creative landscape photograph or even sometimes a family or still life photograph.. thanks for the awesome post!
#steemitbloggers

Collecting art is an excellent idea. I bet you have some truly unique pieces. I try to pick up artwork by local artists when I can, even if I just end up using it as a gift later. I try to support the starving artist, even if it's just a small purchase. Thanks for dropping by!

Wow, loved this very well written post. I could easily visualize your adventure, and love doing yoga too. I am a closet yogi, though. I have never once done group yoga or anywhere outside the safety of my own home lol. But this makes me want to give it a try. Again great post!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, please try yoga in a group! It's quite different than when you do it at home by yourself. It's as if there is a collective energy that gathers when several people come together for their practice. Some men are uncomfortable doing yoga in a class typically composed of women, but I promise the women don't mind having men join in.

And thank you for your kind words! It's nice to 'see' you again. 😀

The mountains are magnificent!

I agree! Thanks for stopping by!

Wonderfull adventure..
And for the last pic..

yumi yumi yumi I got love in my tummy

Oh yeah! Love is the best ingredient!

Beautiful way of life.. Wow

Thanks for stopping by! 😀

Those mountains are gorgeous! I'm not that into yoga, but I'd love to go up there and just hike around for days!

I agree! They looked soft and lush. I wanted to roll back down the mountain. 😀😀

Congratulations @mattifer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Many thanks for your support!

Wow what a beautiful post! Looks like a lovely place to visit, though not sure about that lift haha! I've often thought about yoga, it does sound appealing, and a great thing to do for yourself. Those drinks look so delicious, I love fresh fruits and berries, really refreshing :) I like to collect photos, probably too many.. lol! but in years to come I will be able to look back at them and remember things that may have slipped my mind, so I feel (for myself) that this is important and a great way to collect memories! Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks for reading and commenting! I highly recommend yoga to pretty much everyone. It's ok to start small if you've never done it before, and it's ok if you aren't a yoga type. It's worth trying at least once. :-)

Thanks for dropping by!

oo nice place am not on the yoga but on my bike..:)

I'd love to ride a bike around there too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82