Dazzling Amsterdam : the Red Light District

in #travel7 years ago

The Red Light District (or "de Wallen" in Dutch) is the most famous sex-area in the Western world. It is situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam, only a stone's throw away from the Dam Square (to find out more about Dam Square check out my
previous blog: https://steemit.com/travel/@marcovanhassel/dazzling-amsterdam-dam-square)
20170626_120710.jpg
The actual area originated in the 13th century with a small settlement and prostitution has been there from the beginning. They don't call it the oldest profession in the world for nothing ;). It started out with a few brothels, and the area has had many different forms of prostitution ever since.
Nowadays de Wallen is home to sexclubs, cinema's, sexshops, coffeeshops, smartshops, liveshows and of course window-prostitution.
But did you know that it also holds several museums? If you're a fan of culture you could visit one of the following:
20170630_213827.jpg

20170626_121658.jpg

20170626_121812.jpg


There's art to be found in the area as well:
20170626_120752.jpg

20170626_123252.jpg


20170626_124542.jpg
20170626_124554_002.jpg
This statue was erected (pun intended) as a hommage to sex-workers all around the world. It stands firm, right next to the Old Church, the oldest still standing building in Amsterdam. I will tell you more about the Old Church in my next post on Dazzling Amsterdam.


The Red Light District really comes to life after sundown, when the lights go on:
20170630_214323.jpg
Group of tourists checking out the goods

20170630_214650.jpg
Big Mama's corner

20170630_215232.jpg
Narrow alleys offer more discretion


If you don't mind the smell of burning cannabis and the occasional tourist asking you for cocaine, the Red Light District is a must-visit if you're in Amsterdam.
And before you all go on the rant in the comments: I didn't take any pictures of the ladies up close out of respect. Besides that, you WILL get beaten up by pimps if you do.

I hope you have been enjoying my posts on Dazzling Amsterdam so far. Let me know in the comment section.

Peace and love!

Sort:  

Wow, that's a long time ago I've been there! .......... Uhhhhhhhh, I was lost; that damn GPS!! hahaha

I hope you had a good time, even though you got lost😀.

Yeah a very friendly, good looking and scantily dressed women sitting behind a window showed me the way, hahaha

Nice Blog with full of Information......Good one.....Keep eyeing on your post....I just followed you.....I am also a Travel & Photography Blogger...I am here new in this esteemed steemit platform.....Here i wanna be sharing some of my own experience with you...I think u loved it.....
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bluec/hello-steemitians-my-name-is-atin-and-i-m-excited-to-join-the-community-with-my-travel-kit
https://steemit.com/travel/@bluec/my-second-steemit-travel-to-explore-some-unexplored-world

Thanks @bluec! I'll check out your blogs for sure👍. Glad you enjoyed mine: I'm reasonably noobish myself😅.
Followed you back!

Thank you....

Leuk voor toeristen, maar als geboren Amsterdammer vind ik het niet zo bijzonder. Wel leuk artikeltje!

Had je mn andere posts over Amsterdam ook gezien?

Haha :) I've been there, I have a photo of "Belle". It's so nice to see those places again. Keep posting, I love Amsterdam!
I might post some of my photos :)

Thanks for the love😀

I only got to see a small section of your city when I was there, due to missed flights and am early departing flight, but this was a part that I had to visit. We don't have anything like it over here. To be honest, the city is so amazing and in some ways, I am bothered that the Red Light District gets so much attention. It really is an experience for new visitors, though. Thanks for the post!

Thanks again Mort. It's truethat the RLD gets a lot of attention. But, like you've seen in my other posts, there is a lot more to do in Amsterdam. You'll have to come visit again sometime😉.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44