Dazzling Amsterdam : de Waag

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians and welcome to another post on Dazzling Amsterdam. This is part eight in a series I'm doing, so feel free to read any of my earlier posts on Dazzling Amsterdam
20170626_122413.jpg
Here's my girl Eefje in front of the Waag, which is located on the Nieuwmarkt in Amsterdam, just on the edge of the Red Light District. It was originally built in the 15th century as a gate to the city, which was part of the City Wall. It's one of two city gates that still stand today.


After the city expanded beyond the walls in the 17th century, the Waag got the function it got its name from. Waag (Waeghe in old Dutch) is the dutch word for scales. Merchants came here to weigh all sorts of goods and the upper-levels of the building housed several guilds. Ornaments on the outside of the building still remind us of these days.
20170626_122710.jpg

20170626_122621.jpg


20170626_122118.jpg

In the 19th century the Waag had several functions: as fencing hall, furniture factory, firehouse and city archives. After that, in the 20th century it was the birthplace of the Amsterdam Historic Museum and the Jewish Historic Museum, which were both relocated to a different place in Amsterdam.In the final decade of the 20th century the building was empty and needed a thorough renovation.


20170626_122801.jpg

20170626_122532.jpg

Today the Waag houses a Cafe/Restaurant on the ground floor. The top levels hold the Waag Society, an institute that busies itself with a mixture of art, technology and electronic media.
The building is also on the list of National Monuments.


I hope you all enjoyed the read. If you want to read my other posts on Dazzling Amsterdam, click here

Peace and Love!

Sort:  

Hello, ​@marcovanhassel ! I'm glad to welcome you on SteemIt!
I followed you and UpVoted to you!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt! Nice pics!

I bet you say that to everybody @igor-steem.

Oh wait.....YOU DO SAY THAT TO EVERYBODY.
Please stop your copy-pasting bullshit.
You didn't even read my post, did you?

No problem, sir. Good luck!

Love Amsterdam thanks for sharing

No problem Bob👍

If it's not too silly, my favorite part of Amsterdam is the falafel places with lots of toppings... :) Love that city! tip!

Nothing is silly over here😜. Thanks for the tip.

Beep beep. Hi @marcovanhassel!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

No I didn't. Stupid bot😂😂😂

be careful not to bite the bot who feeds you! :)

All in good fun of course 😁

is this at Nieumarkt right before central station?
cool shot!

It's a three-minute-walk from Central Station, yes. When were you there @kevbot?

i was standing in the same spot as u last december:)

Thanks again dude! Can't get enough of those bellyrubs😁

enjoyable

What is?

Welcome to steemit @marcovanhassel. Nice introducing.
Can we be a follower friends? I UpVoted and followed you. I also new in this channel and I collect friends. Can you also follow me and you will get a good contents from me. As you know: if you have a lot of friends you are rich (this is true mainly here ;-)
Enjoy the steemit community!

Only if you stop copy-pasting this bullshit-comment @chebee:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44