Crystal Clear Water And Air! A Stunning Lake in Austria Kept My Breath For A Couple Of Days

in #travel7 years ago

If you ever come to Austria, do yourself a favour and spend some days on a lake and explore the tasteful alpine-adriatic cuisine in various restaurants at the lake side and in the hills. I am still amazed how clean the mineral rich water is and how refreshing to swim with Svans passing by. 

The Lake is located in the heart of Austria’s southernmost state Corinthia and is the perfect destination for all those looking for recreation with its surrounding mountain hills, situated at an altitude of approximately 588 metres, 12 kilometres long, up to 1.5 kilometres wide - which makes it the second-largest lake in Carinthia after Lake Wörthersee, located in the 3-Corners Region of Austria, Italy and Slovenia. It is definitely the most popular one. 

However, since the Millstätter See is up to 141 metres deep, it contains the most water of all lakes in Carinthia. Some nerd calculated the amount to be 1,170 cubic metres and even added this terribly useful piece of information on the respective wikipedia article - Source 

There are a wide range of bathing areas located around Millstätter See

I was lucky to visit my friends gorgeous little house, sleeping at Anneliese's little privat home with her wonderful garden she manages all by herself at age 87. She is a single mother with one son and was never married. What a sweet lady!

The good morning view from her balcony picking delicious kiwi's , apples and grapes for a typical Austrian breakfast.

This was my peaceful sunbathing spot at the pier in Seeboden for the afternoon. 

 

Photos taken with my iPhone7

Here are various restaurants we went to visit

1) Buschenschenke Hoefler 

Waldweg 69872 Millstatt(0043) 4766 3009http://www.buschenschenke-höfler.at

Their famous "Brettl Jausn" 

Views and more views!

2) Cafe Restaurant Lounge Marchetti am See

We also got caught caught in a big storm while sipping on some champagne during lunch. 

Before the Storm

After >>>>

3) Restaurant Pichler in Seeboden and fresh picked mushrooms 

Seepromenade 489871 Seeboden

Those gracious Svan's followed my journey swimming to the middle of the lake and I hope you will experience such beauty as well one day!

PS : I hope that my country as many others will keep our oceans and lakes as clean as I found them for such such smashing weekend in pure nature!

Why We Need More Colour Days! 🌈 Whats Your #PinkISPunk!

Watch out for many more articles about my home country Austria on my personal blog 

Summer In The City! The Magnificent Karlskirche in Black & White, Surrounded With Palmtrees

Follow @mammasitta @massivevibration to Keep on spreading the Massive News!

I support @welovesteemit 



Sort:  

Beautiful country! Magnificent post! Stunning photos! Amazing video ...!!! I admire swans! Thank you very much dear @mammasitta for sharing!

Rainbows, clear water, nice food what more do you need, looks like a great time @mammasitta

Life is beautiful in-between the madness hahha......5kg more since I am back home

Photography is nice

Danke schoen !

Travel is the best

Awesome, Austria's lakes are just marvelous :) Glad you liked it! If you need more tips/accomodations don't hestitate to contact me!

Maybe this is a tiring journey, because I read this post, a photo taken from the beauty of three countries, it is amazing.

Thanks for the great post. I just love the Austrian lakes, although I have never been to this one. My father was brought up in Ebensee in the Salzkammergut, just south of Salzburg. It's just such a beautiful country!

You know more about my home country than me :) I just started to explore Austria again after my return from USA and SE Asia. I am proud of this little paradise in Europe.

Cool photos, this "Brettl Jausn" looks tasty. I bet it goes with a beer.
And what is this think on a knife, is it some sort of meat?

OMG so so so delicious !

@mammasitta - Madam, that's nice photography. I love that rainbow. Therefore, I will RESTEEM & UPVOTE your post Sire.

+W+

That's so kind of you !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43